We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's not just a place to sleep, it's an experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Des Deux Clefs
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Turckheim
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“It's not just a place to sleep, it's an experience.”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This place has been a hotel for 500 years or more. It was my second time here. You have to like red. It's everywhere but somehow it works. Lobby has all sorts of interesting antique furniture and cozy spots to sit.
Oh yes, the room. It was large, with a beautiful armoire. We even had our own little patio. We had two large double beds. Beds are comfy with good linen and wool blankets. Although I prefer duvets i slept very well. Until 7:00 am that is, when the church bells start ringing.
The bathroom was spacious with great shower and nice towels.
The breakfast at around €9.50 was stupendous: cold cuts, cheeses, fruits, cereals, croissants, bread, 3 kinds of tarts, an apple cake, juices and a wonderful contraption where you can boil your own farm eggs in the shell to your liking (3mns etc). And the wonderful breakfast room, with great wooden carved ceiling is a gem.
And finally, the hotel has good wi-fi which is kinda hard to get in most small French hotels.
So, step back in history and spend a night there.

Room Tip: Depending on what section you are in you might have to schlep your own suitcases upstairs. The back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eveline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    135
    51
    21
    6
See reviews for
72
157
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Located in a small off the main road court area, Des Deux Clefs is a gem of a hotel. In a building over 600 years old, the entire hotel is an experience in itself. It even has a resident dog, who sits outside the building, ready and willing to accept "scritches" from all.

Our room had a really gorgeous window with glass from wine bottles, 2 soft beds, a desk, cupboard for the clothes and a small alcove from which to view the street below. Our bath was complete with tub/shower and full amenities. Dinner is not served, but restaurants were within 3-4 minutes walking distance.

The downstairs consisted of a warm sitting area in the rear of the area, with a comfy bar/lounge area in the front. The breakfast room was very cozy and we had a great selection from which to choose every morning. Although there was not a lift, the stairs were not bad at all. We were on the 2nd floor in the main building and had no problems. There were also terrace rooms that opened onto the interior courtyard. We stayed 3 nights and were in easy driving distance of most of the interesting Alsacian villages and towns. What a great spot for a hub!

Note, I was unable to erase my marks for swimming pool. There is none.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are a bit more modern. The second floor room with the window alcove is a really cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanesMom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

From the wooden ceilings and flooring in the entrance to the elegant red, fabric padded bedroom walls this hotel is not to be missed. Our room had a beautiful carved cupboard and we slept like babes in the warm, comfortable bed. The breakfast was sumptuous and set in a beautiful area. At the price this hotel is not worth missing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianS992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Spacious bedroom in the top floor, historic building that I had already spotted on a previous visit to Turckheim. Like a castle hotel, next to Colmar, very elegant sitting rooms downstairs and an unbeatable breakfast. Do not expect a lift, as it is an ancien property. I would go back with family or friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANTIALFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

First, I must say that Turckheim is a lovely little village in a good situation from which to visit Alsace. This pretty hotel is historic and central and with a welcoming staff and sleepy dog. Our room was comfortable with a large bathroom. Private of-street parking is available. Turckheim is small and it is easy to walk around from the hotel, especially to do the rounds with the night watchman from the front of the Tourist Office nearby. (Very entertaining). Would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were allowed to see 2 different rooms to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, B.C.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were sent to this hotel but we had booked into Hotel des Vosges. No reason given and this apparently a sister hotel. Well we loved it. We had a room with twin beds and it was very spacious. No view but that was ok as we were only there one evening. A dog in the lobby but it barely lifted it's head so that was no problem. At least at breakfast it was outside. Hard to get used to animals in the restaurants as it is forbidden here in Canada. Loved the oldness of the hotel, even the padded walls. The breakfast was the nicest we had on our entire vacation. $10 Euros and everything available that you could ever want. We'll come back if we are ever in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank champion51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The beds are comfortable, and the breakfast buffet is quite a bit better than average - and if you're not staying long that's about as much as matters. If you're staying longer the efforts of the management to save on electricity by having poor lighting everywhere, and the rather silly absence of shower curtains, would get you down. Reception staff were OK, but no-one really seemed to care whether you were enjoying your stay.
As others have noted, the beds in the top floor rooms are right under the eaves, with very little headroom. Avoid these rooms if possible.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WardenRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turckheim
0.0 mi away
Auberge du Brand
Auberge du Brand
#1 of 3 in Turckheim
138 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chambard
Chambard
#1 of 5 in Kaysersberg
500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Portes de la Vallee
Les Portes de la Vallee
#3 of 3 in Turckheim
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Les Rives de la Fecht
Les Rives de la Fecht
#1 of 1 in Ingersheim
275 reviews
7.2 mi away
Le Relais du Ried Hotel - Restaurant et Spa
4.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Expo Colmar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Deux Clefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Deux Clefs

Property: Hotel Des Deux Clefs
Address: 3 rue du Conseil, 68230 Turckheim, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Turckheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Turckheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Des Deux Clefs 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Des Deux Clefs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Deux Clefs Turckheim
Des Deux Clefs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing