We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!!!”
Review of Le Schaeferhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Schaeferhof
Ranked #1 of 1 Murbach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

If we were to own a Bed & Breakfast...it would be this way! Sylvie & Robert are as delightfully charming as their B&B is! We stayed for several days during our first visit to Alsace with our cousins. While Alsace is an adorable region to visit....this B&B made it ever so memorable! The gourmet breakfasts were beautifully presented and exceptional! The furnishings, decor, the wonderful small touches...and the gardens! And Sylvie...we never did find the seventh charm in our lovely room...but we'll be back to look for it!!! Keep doing what you are doing...it's perfect!
Kathy & Mike

Room Tip: We stayed in the Petite Suite Camille. Very romantic and beautifully decorated. It faces the parking...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie R, Propriétaire at Le Schaeferhof, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear guests of America
We also keep the memory of delicious moments and shared with you and your dear cousins. We wholeheartedly thank the latter, it is they who have trusted us, and chose our house to make you discover our beautiful Alsace.
I'm looking forward to seeing you again.
Sylvie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Le Schaeferhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 77 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

We are a family with two children of 5 and 14. We stayed in Schaeferhof from 9-12 of August 2012. We have been given a "suite" with two bedrooms and a common bathroom .

This is not a hotel, it is rather a bed and brakfast style of establishment. However, the facilities of the room, the decoration and the devotion to the detail is better than of any five star hotel we have stayed. And the real big bonus you get is the very charming personalities of Sylvie and and Robert who make whatever is possible to make you feel comfortable and give you all information of the area, and the attractions.

Breakfast is excellent served in a very elegantly decorated room, and includes home made jams, and the surpise of the day (one day was fois gras with local wine, another day home made pastries etc).

Each and every detail in the rooms reveal the charm and the artistic character of Sylvie. Secret lighting in the capboards, beautiful porcelain mugs for tea and coffe, quality bedding and towelling, shower with jugguzzi taps, etc etc. Everything is beeen taken care of with love.

The garden is also charming. Nice flowers, vegetables, even a few ships behind the fence that the kids can feed. We picked up rasberries and just missed the strawberries.

The surrounding area is very beautiful. We took a walk to Murbach, visited a beautiful garden opened to the public, admired the impressive church and then took a walk in the forest for about an hour that led us back to the hotel.

The establishment does not have other facilities (swimming pool, games, common areas etc) to spend hours and relax, but it i an excellent choice for people who wish to explore the area and return to a lovely place where hospitality is overwhelming.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie R, Propriétaire at Le Schaeferhof, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

We are very touched by your comments .. so nice
For your information, in spring 2013 we will be pleased to discover novelty in Schaeferhof: the SPA / JACUZZI.
Thank you wholeheartedly and
to seeing you

Sylvie and Robert Rothenflug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

My wife and I stayed three nights at this small inn which is also a highly rated four star chambre d'hote. It was not inexpensive at 130 euros per night and they required a one-third cash deposit. Ordinarily this would not have been a problem but they innkeepers did not accept cred cards. It cost almost $50 in fees to wire transfer the deposit. The inn is located in a quiet gated area on the outskirts of Murbach. The innkeepers were somewhat rigid over how and where you parked your car. The main reason for staying at this place was its closeness to the Alsace Wine Trail and for the gourmet dining that was offered. When we finally found the place we were advised that no dinner would be available on the first of the two dinners that we had reserved but that they would be able to provide dinner on the second evening's reservation. It turned out they cancelled that one as well. The room itself was nice and reasonably well appointed but perhaps overrated. The canceling of the gourmet meal opportunity was unconscionable. The reason was they didn't have enough other reservations. Amazing. The breakfasts were ok but nothing spectacular given the marketing buildup.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank amortizor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DrHimmelrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Toutes sont au calme
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie R, Propriétaire at Le Schaeferhof, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maria Luise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank umbi1380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murbach
0.4 mi away
Le St Barnabe Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Domaine de Beaupre
Domaine de Beaupre
#1 of 4 in Guebwiller
139 reviews
3.3 mi away
Les Violettes Hotel & Spa Alsace, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant A l'Aigle d'Or
Hotel Restaurant A l'Aigle d'Or
#1 of 1 in Rimbach-pres-Guebwiller
123 reviews
6.7 mi away
Chateau d'Isenbourg
Chateau d'Isenbourg
#1 of 4 in Rouffach
654 reviews
8.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Du Parc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Schaeferhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Schaeferhof

Address: 6 rue de Guebwiller, 68530 Murbach, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Murbach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Murbach
Price Range: $173 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First guest house in Alsace have obtained the Label 5 Epis Gites de France.The "Schaeferhof" is the old Metairie des Princes Abbes Murbach. The 18th century building, carefully renovated, is listed on the Registry of Historical Monuments. It is surrounded by a large park with an orchard, vegetable garden and paddocks for sheep.Elegance, sophistication and comfort for a romantic, tourism, culinary, cultural, sports or simply lazy, couples, families or friends you are welcome to Schaeferhof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Schaeferhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing