We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (681)
Filter reviews
681 results
Traveler rating
442
141
58
25
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
442
141
58
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star restaurant boutique hotel hot tub venison michelin starred main restaurant beautiful hotel nice stay the hotel staff friendly owner small pool whole experience slow service each morning small glass comfortable bed nice view
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 681 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

To start with Kaysesberg is the cutest village you can think of in Alsace, then in the middle of it you have this wonderful fairytale looking boutique hotel.

Reception was so so welcoming and a real pleasure to converse with..
The rooms were of good standard, we have to accept this has been built in an old building so it shows sometimes. The views of the vineyard at the back were spectacular, it all is so pretty and cute.

But wait until you have your breakfast.
The best ever !! You almost can tell there is a 2 Michelin star restaurant in the hotel.
The juices, fruits, local pastries, yogurt and cured meats were so brilliantly good.
The selected crockery and glassware so quirky and perfectly fitted to the venue.

Such a nice stay we had

Regards

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank mikael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2016

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Le Chambard and dined in their gourmet restaurant one evening. Let me commence with the good.

The 2 Michelin Star restaurant did not disappoint. The food was creative, diverse and contained many local ingredients. The chef is clearly and artist and brilliantly creative. Our room in the hotel was nice and had very nice Bulgari toiletries. The bed was very comfortable and the linens and towels were very nice. Our room was very clean and housekeeping did a very nice job.

So what was the problem. We booked a junior suite with a "spacious and separate sitting room" The sitting room was very small and had two very uncomfortable chairs with no other usable space. The window provided good light for the sitting room, but there was no window in our bedroom and so it was dark. The shower was impossible to keep at a constant temperature as it varied from very hot to very cold while not touching any knobs. Breakfast was minimal and ordering eggs was always a problem. Perhaps it was because we did not speak Alsatian, but we were treated very cooly on the days that we had breakfast. I should also mention that although the meal in the gourmet restaurant was amazing, the service was not. Our waiter spent more time chatting with some other diners that may have been regulars (I'm not sure), but after he took our order we hardly saw him for the rest of the evening that dragged on because of slow service. 15 minutes to wait for a check after a 3+ hour very expensive meal is unreasonable.

On a personal note, I am a member of the Relais & Chateaux 5C. As a member I have always been greeted and treated very nicely and most times made to feel special whenever we stay at one of their properties. My wife and I stay in as many as a dozen or so R & C places every year and we have always loved the people, the serenity and the tranquility of each different property. That was not the case at Le Chambard where we were greeted by a trainee, who was the nicest person on the staff, and everyone else at the hotel appeared to tolerate us at best. The property is certainly eclectic, but it also lacks the charm of their other hotels and inns. This is the first ever complaint that I have written about a Relais & Chateaux. At best, I would give the hotel merely 3 stars.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank ase1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile

We, unfortunately, only stayed here one night but it is a lovely hotel. The room was very comfortable and fully equipped. The staff were also excellent and if we ever have the chance to return. We arrived after walking about 10 miles in the pouring rain and were still allowed in. The decor is interesting, maybe would not be my choice, but makes it a very individual hotel. We ate in the Michelin star restaurant and had a superb meal with impeccable service. Breakfast was typically French, breads croissants, cheese ham and fresh fruit and juice. Lovely hotel.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank CarS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier N, Propriétaire at Chambard, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

Dear guest,

Receive our thanks for this nice comment.

Best regard,

Nathalie - responsable commerciale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2016

Room was well appointed with plenty of storage space. Room was quiet and we slept with the windows open every night. The balcony was very nice with an amazing view of Kayserberg and the hillside vineyards WiFi was excellent with acceptable speed and kept you logged in during the entire stay. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Food and service in both restaurants were best in the area.

Room tip: New mattress needed as the existing one sagged in the middle.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Thank raycocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

Cheating Hotel!



We have booked two suites and arrived quite late in the day. When we arrived they showed a room that was recently refurbished but the paint smell was intense. We asked another room but they were full. If we were in a bigger city with another choice of the same level, we would leave.

We stayed there for the night but even with the windows totally open, it was awful.

After another complain in the next day, finally we went to the correct room (the other was not a suite), therefore they tricked us. I bet that another guest complain about the smell and they gave them “our” room.

However after a few google and reservation search we confronted the reception and they admitted. Never staying here again for sure.

The breakfast is quite poor with only unhealthy solutions, no offer at all of fruit.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Filipe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier N, Propriétaire at Chambard, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank You for your coment. We are sorry for this inconvenience, please, receive our apologies.

Best regards.

Nathalie - responsable commerciale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews