We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Chambard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chambard
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kaysersberg
Certificate of Excellence
East Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed for six nights while cycling around the area. The hotel is in the town and has a free car park to the rear which is really handy and was very close to the cycle path. The room was very comfortable with a huge bed and all mod cons. The bathroom had a terrific shower. We opted for a balcony which looked out onto the castle. The hotel has two restaurants; one very pricey but also the traditional winestub which served excellent meals. The breakfast price appeared very costly but there was a bakery opposite with seating so we ate there each morning. All the staff were very helpful and polite. In summary we would definately stay here again - great location and a very comfortable welcoming hotel.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    108
    49
    15
    13
See reviews for
71
348
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Right in the heart of picturesque Kayserberg this fantastic hotel is highly recommended. We had a spa package and it was great. Free parking with great food in the restuarant. The chef is brilliant and we had a great tour of the kitchen. The only downside was a grumpy middle aged receptionist who stopped us from going to the restuarant until the chef intervened.

Room Tip: Get the deluxe suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongDivemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Our group of 8 spent 4 nights in KBerg at Chambard. It's ideally located in the edge of the old part of Kaysersberg, an easy walk to Albert Schweitzer Museum, and generally a great location. The building is old, a bright red color, with a bistro on the main street, a porte cochere entrance off the street, and a parking area in the rear. Inside, the furnishings are modern, the bath areas sleek and felt Scandinavian, the bed extremely comfy, the A/C nice and cool, and the view of the old castle ruin beautiful in the early morning light. The rooms are large, and are actually suites. Fun places to gather for a drink with friends.
The desk staff varied from extremely helpful (Sandrina) to bored (? name).
The WiFi password changed each night at 2300, and required a visit to the desk to get the new one, but it generally worked well. The house desktop was nonfunctional, so we used our IPads and netbooks to get online.
RE: the food bistro was ok, but not great
the gourmet (Michelin star) restaurant received mixed reviews from our group: some loved it, others, such as this writer, found it to be very average. The service at our table was slow, and the sommelier who was one of the owners, was below average. Dismissive, not too interested in what we wanted, and pretty much in a hurry to move to the next table. In fairness, our friends at the next table had a much better experience, both with the food and with the wine service.
In summary: would recommend it to friends both for the great location in a great town from which to visit Alsace and for the comfortable rooms.
Enjoy.

Room Tip: the Johanna Suite overlooks the main street of Kaysersberg and would be my pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lobsterman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Adding lamps that work from wall switches would be a very good idea. Also checking to see that bulbs aren't burnt out. Only one small pin light over bed for night time reading. Have to get up to turn off floor lamp, desk lamp did not work.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MustRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Kaysersberg is a delightful town in the Alsace on the Wine Route. Chambard is a labor-of-love hotel and restaurant that should not be missed if you are traveling in the Alsace. All of the food is magnificent -- "Best croissant I've ever had," said my wife. Our room was attractively decorated and had a very nice view. Everything was very clean and everything worked. Every staff member was exceptionally hospitable and more than willing to help us fumble through our minimal capabilities with the French language. We would happily go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewSmyrnaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

great staff, wonderful casual restaurant, neat old building, simple but very nice spa facilities, perfect end to our trip. We would have normally stayed at the well reviewed but less pricey Hotel Rampart. Glad we stayed here (no knock on Rampart). Real nice experience. Hotel was not busy and they offered to bump us into a better room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank compassjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel and absolutely loved it! We had a spacious, clean room with an even bigger bathroom with superb shower. Room was big enough for us and a baby cot for our two year old daughter. We took the package with dinner in the Winstub and the other night in the restaurant: both absolute value for money and the restaurant was one of the best we had in France: modern cuisine with divine wines at sharp prices. Both times they changed the menu a bit without any further costs. The spa is not large but very nice and in the same building as hotel/restaurant (only the third restaurant Flamme&Co is just across the street). The only small dissapointment was that you can't get a drink at say 17h; there is no restaurant bar (you would have to wait untill the restaurants opens at 19h).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaysersberg
5.1 mi away
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
#1 of 11 in Ribeauville
1,153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Logis Hotel les Remparts
Logis Hotel les Remparts
#2 of 5 in Kaysersberg
239 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Schoenenbourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Hostellerie des Chateaux & Spa
12.3 mi away
Chateau d'Isenbourg
Chateau d'Isenbourg
#1 of 4 in Rouffach
636 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hostellerie La Cheneaudiere - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambard

Property: Chambard
Address: 9 rue du General de Gaulle, 68240 Kaysersberg, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Kaysersberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kaysersberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chambard 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Chambard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing