We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”
Review of Hotel des Berges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel des Berges
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illhaeusern
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this delightful place for two nights, framing a dinner at the Auberge de l'Ill. We expected to enjoy the dinner but what we didn't expect was the serenity, beauty, and all-encompassing comfort and luxury of this hotel. When I stepped outside in the morning, after a relaxing night in a beautifully appointed suite, and saw the breakfast table on the grass near the river Ill, it took my breath away. I've never ever enjoyed a breakfast more. It was elegant, rich, and served with style in the beautiful surroundings. The owner and his staff made sure that every minute of our stay was an extraordinary experience. Thank you!

Hans Rutimann (New York)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, Propriétaire at Hotel des Berges, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Rutimann,

a special thanks to you and your wife for this wonderful comment.
We have very much enjoyed welcoming you here in Illhaeusern.

P.S: you should come back as soon as possible....cause since your gone the sun is gone too.

Best regards

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    11
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
114
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noordeloos, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Hotel des Berges is the best place to sleep that I know. Very friendly and personal staff, impeccable service, great comfort, a breakfast that you should not miss with lots of savory and hearty bites..... I'm simply repeating my highly positive review published late 2011!

Room Tip: We're traditionally staying in the Corona room, which is a bit smaller (and a bit lower priced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWG_080353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We felt welcome and respected in this wonderfully appointed and superbly run hotel. The grounds sparkled with Christmas lights that enticed us outside, despite the warmth and comfort of our luxurious room. The resident stork made an appearance and it was impossible to leave without promising ourselves that we will return one day. The owner chatted happily with us, setting a very relaxed and friendly tone, and even recommended a winemaker we hadn't come across in previous visits to the Alsace. We can now testify that the winemaker in question, Leon Bosch, in Westhalten, makes superb Riesling and Gewürztraminer! We ate twice in the restaurant L'Auberge d'Ill, and could not fault it either. Our bank account is depleted but our store of great memories is stocked high.

Room Tip: W had a room with a view of the rear garden, not such a wow factor as those overlooking the river or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, Propriétaire at Hotel des Berges, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your wonderfull comment on Tripadvisor.
We are really pleased to hear that you have spend two wonderfull days here in Illhaeusern.
Welcoming guests like you makes us enjoy our work even more.

With all the best regards from Alsace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is my first review on trip advisor, and it is only fitting that it goes to the BEST hotel I have EVER stayed in! On our honeymoon to France, Italy, and Switzerland, we stayed in an array of four and five star hotels, but this one was by far the best. As a perfect counterpoint to hotels in the city, the Hotel des Berges is so relaxing and peaceful.

The Highlights: when we arrived, the kitchen was closed but they offered to make us some sandwiches because we hadn't eaten all day. We were immediately upgraded from a standard room to the Fisherman's House (which is WORTH the 500 euro asking price and we would pay for it in the future!). They had the outdoor fire-heated bath already warm for us, the amenities in the room were fantastic, and the owner even came by to ask if we were enjoying our stay. We had reservations at L'Auberge de l'Ill that night, and they told us we could come between 7 and 8:30 (a first in 3 michelin star dining, I'm sure). When we arrived they had reserved the best table in a private nook, and had paper hearts and crystals cut out for us. The breakfast the next morning was fantastic, and reasonable.

We could not have asked for a better experience from a hotel, staff, and restaurant if we tried. If I had to rack my brain for a negative, I can't even remember one because the memory of this place is so overwhelmingly positive.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you want a good headquarters for exploring the wineries in the Alsace region. I guess maybe the only negative is it is in the middle of nowhere and we had a driver so it's hard to gauge how easy it would be to get to another town if we needed something immediately...

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fisherman's House so it was separated from the main hotel, I can only speak on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, Directeur général at Hotel des Berges, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guests,

It is such a honor reading your review.
Welcoming people like you is what makes us very happy.
We are flattered that we were able to be a small part of your honeymoon.

Thnak you..thank you..thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We enjoyed very much our recent two night stay here. The idyllic setting beside the Ill River is so relaxing and felt homely yet luxurious. Throughout the garden there are many so many points of interest and it was such a pleasure to wander around. Breakfast outside by the river was perfect and if organised enough in advance, one could have enjoyed breakfast on the gondola along the river. The staff are very friendly and very willing and able to speak in English to us one-language Australians! Katie (Katarina) at the front desk was very helpful with all her suggestions, whether it be where to sit and relax so she could bring us coffee and cake, to where to eat for dinner. We had dinner one evening at the restaurant Auberge de L'Ill which was magnificent, albeit very expensive (400 Euros for degustation menu and one bottle of wine). The next night we had at a nearby restaurant for 40 Euros. A lovely stay particularly because of the very friendly staff and beautiful position.

Room Tip: Room 1 overlooks the river Ill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, Directeur général at Hotel des Berges, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for the time you have invested to write us these wonderful words.
Being able to get in contact with people like you from all around the world is what makes our work very special.

Lots of Love we send you from Illhaeusern to Australia.

p.s. you made Katie's day :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This boutique hotel with 13 rooms is unique in France. It is nicer and better appointed than most hotels we visited. The staff is gracious and helpful (except for one man who gave us a dirty look because we didn't leave the key with the front desk). By the way, I wish someone would explain the European need to control the room keys. I've assumed it was because they all still use old fashioned keys and locks so they need to keep track of the keys. They put these huge fobs on the keys so it is impossible to put it in your pocket. But maybe there is some other reason other than stubbornness? Just switch to modern key cards and forget it.

But I digress. The hotel is quiet (except for the rooster that woke us at sunrise the first day; we didn't notice him the second), and the grounds are both expansive and well manicured. It is truly a serene place. Breakfast was a sumptous feast set out on tables along the river. We saw one couple having breakfast at a table and chairs inside a gondola being paddled around by 2 gondoliers. Now that looked amazing! It has a small bar with limited, but adequate, choices.

Bathrooms were large by European standards. One of our rooms had a skylight in the bathroom. It looks like all rooms have balconies, and the sliding doors out to the balconies have electric louvered shades which block out nearly all the morning light.

Room Tip: Get something up high in the trees if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DemandingGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, Directeur général at Hotel des Berges, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guests,

We thank you for the time you have invested to write about us on Trip Advisor.
Your point of view is very important to us.
We are very much hoping welcoming you once again here in Illhaeusern.

With all the best regards from the sunny Illhaeusern

Marco Baumann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We had a wonderful night at this hotel. The people running this establishment couldn't be nicer. They upgraded us to a large suite because they had availability...what a nice treat it was!
Marco and his family were so warm and welcoming and made us feel so at home there. The 3 star dinner at auberge de l'ill was fabulous. We truly enjoyed being here at a wonderful,relaxing,gourmet getaway.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Illhaeusern
3.9 mi away
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
#1 of 11 in Ribeauville
1,153 reviews
16.5 mi away
Chateau d'Isenbourg
Chateau d'Isenbourg
#1 of 4 in Rouffach
637 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hostellerie La Cheneaudiere - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Chambard
Chambard
#1 of 5 in Kaysersberg
533 reviews
18.9 mi away
Hostellerie des Chateaux & Spa
6.8 mi away
Le Clos des Sources
Le Clos des Sources
#1 of 2 in Thannenkirch
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Berges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Berges

Property: Hotel des Berges
Address: 3 rue de Collonges au Mont D Or, 68970 Illhaeusern, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Illhaeusern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illhaeusern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel des Berges 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel des Berges is situated in the heart of the small village of Illhausern, in Alsace, between Colmar and Strasbourg, in the garden of the Auberge de l'Ill. Marco Baumann and Danielle, his wife, have created the spirit of an Alsatian farm with its tobacco shed, particular to this area of the Ried. Eight bedrooms, four suites and the Fisherman's Cottage will immerse you in a country ambience of Havana scents. Staying at the edge of the Ill river to find again authenticity mixed with the real pleasure of a family's tradition...this you find at the 5 star hotel, where each bedroom has its own decor, its own ambience. And once looking outside...you feel like at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel des Berges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing