We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a great place”
Review of Hotel des Berges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel des Berges
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illhaeusern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My standard for a nice hotel is a Four Seasons or a Ritz-Carlton. When I arrived at Hotel des Berges, I was impressed. What a wonderful boutique hotel! The rooms are fabulous, the common areas are very high-end but comfortable, and the grounds are immaculate. The breakfast experience is over-the-top good – freshly baked breads of a variety of types, freshly squeezed OJ, the works. All served overlooking the small river that runs behind the hotel. The owner is always present overseeing the entire experience. The service level matches the rest of the experience. The best reason to return to Alsace is to return to Hotel des Berges. That’s how good this place was. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gab4_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 173 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2010

My husband and I spent the weekend at the Hotel des Berges in the middle of a long business trip. The Romeo and Juliette suite was fantastic and extremely comfortable. Off the entry hallway was a closet with mini-fridge, a walk-in closet, toilet, and bathroom. The suite also contained a large sitting room, bedroom, and a room between within a cozy couch. The service was excellent, breakfast in the room was delicious, and we enjoyed several glasses of wine in the bar. Internet access is free and worked well throughout the hotel. There is a roomy parking garage below the hotel.

It was a rainy weekend, but the hotel and restaurant grounds are beautiful, especially at night. One morning we awoke to see a stork perched on a chimney outside our window!

Dinner at the Auberge d'Ill was certainly delicious, but not quite up to our expectations.

No question that this was a very expensive weekend, but if you are looking for a very special treat I would recommend Hotel des Berges.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank octeckels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

Hotel des Berges is more than a hotel, its a magical experience. Marco and his team are so friendly and nice they treated us like we were family. The decor is tasteful, elegant and had lots of special touches. The grounds are amazing. Planning, hard work and lots of love has gone into creating this beautiful place. For us it was a magical experience and we will treasurer those precious memories forever. Incredibly Romantic!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelersofOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Christophe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 436jeanmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdBAUMANN, Gérant at Hotel des Berges, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank remonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Illhaeusern
3.9 mi away
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
#1 of 11 in Ribeauville
1,186 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hostellerie La Cheneaudiere - Relais & Chateaux
16.5 mi away
Chateau d'Isenbourg
Chateau d'Isenbourg
#1 of 4 in Rouffach
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Chambard
Chambard
#1 of 5 in Kaysersberg
559 reviews
18.9 mi away
Hostellerie des Chateaux & Spa
6.8 mi away
Le Clos des Sources
Le Clos des Sources
#1 of 2 in Thannenkirch
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Berges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Berges

Address: 3 rue de Collonges au Mont D Or, 68970 Illhaeusern, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Illhaeusern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illhaeusern
Price Range: $351 - $585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel des Berges 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel des Berges is situated in the heart of the small village of Illhausern, in Alsace, between Colmar and Strasbourg, in the garden of the Auberge de l'Ill. Marco Baumann and Danielle, his wife, have created the spirit of an Alsatian farm with its tobacco shed, particular to this area of the Ried. Eight bedrooms, four suites and the Fisherman's Cottage will immerse you in a country ambience of Havana scents. Staying at the edge of the Ill river to find again authenticity mixed with the real pleasure of a family's tradition...this you find at the 5 star hotel, where each bedroom has its own decor, its own ambience. And once looking outside...you feel like at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel des Berges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing