We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely surprise”

Lola Konoba & Bar Garden
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Vis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $59
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Croatia and especially the island of Vis is not known for imaginative and innovative food but this restaurant is an exception. We have just had a delicious dinner here and at a reasonable price. The setting is really beautiful too and tg staff provided excellent service. Highly recommended

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank macgregorkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    65
    17
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San francisco
1 review
“Outstanding food and beautiful setting. Perfect way to enjoy Vis”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We came as a family and stumbled upon this garden restaurant. Thankfully we took a random right off the main drag because this is something you don't want to miss. The food is fresh, local and decadent. Flavors are complimented by beautiful wine from the island. The owner and chef welcomed us. This is a must dine place while on the Island

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lboogs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Overrated -- innovative but inconsistent”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The courtyard and ambiance are spectacular, and we were relieved to encounter Lola Konoba's creative menu that adapted local favorites with refreshing twists. The actual plates, however, were disappointing and bizarrely pricey.

Octopus salad was slathered in a cloying, over-sweet honey mustard sauce. Sardine salad had chunks of cheese that clashed with the fish. The fish-of-the-day was elegantly presented, but portions were small and the flavors were poorly integrated. (Cumin-y couscous salad accompanying a dill-based fish?) Maybe we ordered poorly, but all 4 dishes seemed more bizarre than good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank marybnashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in a month in Croatia”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

This is a terrific restaurant. The menu features modern, seasonal, stylish dishes which are beautifully presented. The courtyard garden is gorgeous, staff are friendly and knowledgable and the attention to detail here is superb. We especially loved the octopus tartare, the amuse bouche of tomato bread with marinated local anchovies and sardines, served in a tin and the shrimps with rock samphire. They also do great cocktails and there's a really good wine list. We met the chef, and he explained the ethos of the place, which exactly mirrored the food and service we enjoyed. Cool but relaxed, this is a must-visit in Vis, and the best meal we had in a month of island-hopping in Croatia.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bettymahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

A great meal in fantastic a setting. The food is modern in presentation but still remains true to the Vis roots. Service is friendly without being intrusive. I'd recommend this for small groups or couples interested in good food in a romantic atmosphere

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j9-jem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola Konoba & Bar Garden also viewed

Vis, Island of Vis
Vis, Island of Vis
 
Vis, Island of Vis
Vis, Island of Vis
 
Island of Vis, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Lola Konoba & Bar Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing