We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely pension in Vis city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pansion Dionis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pansion Dionis
Ranked #1 of 5 Vis B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely pension in Vis city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed 2 days at Pansion Dionis on Vis Island and we warmly recommend it. Our room was spacefull, confortable and quiet. It offered a very nice terasse looking at the Adriatic sea. The owners are nice and helpfull and the location is perfect (5 min from the ferry arrival and really central considering the nicest city areas). Breakfast included was also excellent. A great place to stay in Vis !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

First, the upside. The location is close to the port, and the room is a good size. AC and TV worked well. They accept card payment as they are associated with the pizzaria, which is a plus as many Sobes in Croatia only accept cash. By and large, I'd I agree with the other reviews of the Pansion. One downside is that the WiFi doesn't work up in the rooms, only down at the restaurant. The major downside is that I got all sorts of insect bites while staying here. To be fair, we couldn't determine if the source of all my bites was bed bugs in the room or something that had crawled into my hat/clothes at some other point while we were on Vis. The extent of the bug biting, however, was severe and while the pattern of the bites is similar to bed bugs, we could not confirm. We stayed here three nights, and biting started the first night and got worse the second night. By the third night, I put on deet and washed my clothes out. I didn't get any further bites after we left Vis so whatever it was, it was on Vis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roundtheworld131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidAtlantic
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent three nights at Pansion Dionis in early September. The location is great, being within easy walking distance from the ferry one street back from the main Riva. The apartments are located above a pizza restaurant and you should speak to one of the waiters when first arriving and they will help you check in.

From the outside the building is pretty and constructed of the typical local stone, while the interiors have been relatively recently renovated. Our room was very clean and enjoyed a private balcony than looked inland rather than out over the harbour. Other rooms have shared balconies that overlook the harbor if that is more to your taste. The beds were above average when compared to many B&Bs that we have stayed in and we enjoyed a good night's sleep every night. The rooms have modern A/C units, but on cooler nights we elected to sleep with the windows open as it was not very noisy outside. The rooms are accessed by an outside staircase and there is no lift, but the staff is more than happy to help carry your luggage if you need them to (but you should bear this in mind if you have difficulty negotiation stairs/steps).

Breakfast is included in the price and served every morning. Normally this comprises of omelets or bread and cheese/ham. Despite being a vibrant restaurant the location of the apartments above the restaurant does not have any negative impact on your sleep etc and means that there is often a member of staff available to help you if there is something you need (the staff were always very helpful, but don't expect too many smiles). I think there is free wifi in the restaurant, but we opted to purchase internet service from Gazo-Hotspot for approximately $10 for 3 days - you can purchase credit from many of the local tourist agencies. Also, on the day we left they allowed us to store our luggage until we caught the ferry, which was really very helpful.

Overall this is a really great spot for first time visitors to Vis and I would not hesitate to recommend it to any type of traveler.

Room Tip: Some rooms have private balconies, but they all face inland. If you want a sea view then you will h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scurvyemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Pansion Dionis was an amazing find.....even at the last minute. We both had never been to Vis yet; and wanted a 3 night romantic getaway to relax. We were able to get a very clean, updated apartment with balcony overlooking the harbour. It is located right in the middle of the Riva too. The family owners and staff really went out of their way to accommodate us and made sure we were happy and comfortable each day. The breakfast is included and was great; so is the rest of the menu and bar. It was a great value, highly recommend anyone going to Vis to stay there.............and we will be back soon! Thanks again for everything Nikola. Tatjana and Jim.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcocose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spent two nights at the Pansion Dionis in Vis. It's a handful of apartments above a family-owned pizzeria. While we didn't eat at the pizzeria the apartment was great. Very small and simple, but we really only slept there so that was fine. The room was extremely clean with a modern bathroom. The biggest plus was a really nice balcony outside the room that had a great view of the harbour. There's a daily farmer's market just below the Pansion so we bought cheese and wine and had a relaxing lunch on our balcony, overlooking the water. The owners were extremely nice, carrying our luggage up for us and helping us with some other questions we had. The only downside to this apartment is it doesn't have free wi-fi, but since most of the restaurants in Vis Town do, we were able to access it fairly easily. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CapeHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights recently. Very easy to book and confirm via website/email, however paying deposit is via bank which to a foreign bank account can be expensive. Great location just off the front, most rooms seemed to have a sea view or access to a balcony. Pizzas were good downstairs and you had the choice of anything for breakfast. They even did me a packed breakfast as I was getting an early ferry the day I left. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southernsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We initially were booked to stay here for 2 nights but liked it so much we ended up staying for 4!
Lovely room - clean, fantastic hot shower, great views and a big fridge. Great location - right on the waterfront. Breakfast was basic but their was a good range of options. The staff were really accommodating and let us keep our luggage there on the last day as we waited for the ferry back to Split. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotsMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vis
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
0.5 mi away
Hotel Issa
Hotel Issa
#3 of 3 in Vis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tamaris
Hotel Tamaris
#5 of 5 in Island of Vis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.6 mi away
hotel Bisevo
hotel Bisevo
#2 of 3 in Vis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Vis Croatia
Villa Vis Croatia
#1 of 16 in Vis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pansion Dionis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pansion Dionis

Property: Pansion Dionis
Address: Matije Gupca 1, Vis, Island of Vis 21480, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Island of Vis > Vis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Vis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pansion Dionis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing