We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kantun

Kantun
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Vis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $86
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Kantun had been recommended as a good restaurant in Vis where the quality of the wine list was particularly remarked upon. This latter point was its selling point because although Vis is beautiful and the quality of the food very good it is also not that easy to find good wine; many of the restaurants focus on the local wine which is pretty basic at best.

To illustrate the focus on wine beer was not available even if you wanted one! Everything about the experience at Kantun was of high quality. The waiting staff are excellent at explaining the food available, they also took us though the wine options and recommended a wine which was not the most expensive but absolutely met all our needs. The fish was very fresh and well presented (Gurnard and Bream) while the mixed roasted vegetables were the perfect accompaniment. Surprisingly we had room for dessert and as a family of four we shared the chocolate cake/dessert which we all agreed was among the best we had ever tasted (and collectively we have tasted a lot!)

It was so good we went back three nights later, our last evening on the island and again we were not disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andybristol12555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    43
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Romantic, seaside dinner”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We enjoyed solid, but not life-changing seafood at this quaint restaurant. Grilled calamari was a little dry, and the fish of the day seemed to have three times as much skin and bones as meat (and you're paying heftily by the kilo).

However, the selection of wines by the glass was fabulous, as was the view and the service. Grilled vegetables were also wonderful. Kantun made for a lovely evening, even if the seafood prep seemed a little sloppy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marybnashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Amazing food and fantastic staff.

The waiters were really friendly and offered excellent advise. The wine is excellent. We went for dinner the first night we arrived in vis and had an excellent meal with lots of fish and an excellent bottle of the local wine, much to my surprise.
The restaurant has a beautiful garden though we choice to sit out the front and watch the world go by. You would defiantly miss out if you did not eat here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonnysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding. Best meal we had in Croatia!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We dined outside on a very pleasant evening. The service was outstanding. The waiter spoke 4 or 5 languages and made excellent recommendations on both food and wine. I was able to choose fresh fish brought out on a tray. Everything was top notch. We enjoyed our dinner very much and would certainly go there again if we return to Vis.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ratkovic70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split
2 reviews
“the best chocolate cake in the adriatic coast”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Excellent restaurant.The atmosphere is extremly pleasant.The staff is very friendly.Seafood extraordinary fresh,the pastry chef very pleasant and nice.You must visit this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank majatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kantun also viewed

 
Vis, Island of Vis
Island of Vis, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Komiza, Island of Vis
 

Been to Kantun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing