We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding. Best meal we had in Croatia!”
Review of Kantun

Kantun
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Vis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $89
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding. Best meal we had in Croatia!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We dined outside on a very pleasant evening. The service was outstanding. The waiter spoke 4 or 5 languages and made excellent recommendations on both food and wine. I was able to choose fresh fish brought out on a tray. Everything was top notch. We enjoyed our dinner very much and would certainly go there again if we return to Vis.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ratkovic70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    44
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Split
2 reviews
“the best chocolate cake in the adriatic coast”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Excellent restaurant.The atmosphere is extremly pleasant.The staff is very friendly.Seafood extraordinary fresh,the pastry chef very pleasant and nice.You must visit this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank majatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Vis!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant on our last night in Vis and it was truly excellent. The service was friendly, the staff gave great advice and the food was some of the best we have eaten all year! We opted for the local beef dish which was incredible, along with squid.The grilled vegetable sides tasted fantastic and the marinated fish starter was beautiful. A lovely restaurant in a great location.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Top Class”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

This was the best and most sophisticated restaurant that we visited on Vis and one of the best I've eaten at anywhere this year.

Great fresh seafood and fish served by very passionate and knowledgeable staff. Each dish was excellent and the wine appropriately matched by waiters.

5 stars from me.

Helpful?
3 Thank Mac1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely sea food”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Food at Kantun is all about traditionally cooked fish and it is delicious. Like many things in Vis the island pace is slow but that allows you great time to enjoy the atmosphere and the wine. It is definitely worth paying attention to the recommendations they are well thought out and they will let you have a look at what fish you will be getting and to try the wine before you commit to the bottle. The Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CurlyHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kantun also viewed

Vis, Island of Vis
Island of Vis, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Vis, Island of Vis
 

Been to Kantun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing