We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class”
Review of Kantun

Kantun
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Vis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $93
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Top Class”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

This was the best and most sophisticated restaurant that we visited on Vis and one of the best I've eaten at anywhere this year.

Great fresh seafood and fish served by very passionate and knowledgeable staff. Each dish was excellent and the wine appropriately matched by waiters.

5 stars from me.

Helpful?
3 Thank Mac1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    48
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely sea food”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Food at Kantun is all about traditionally cooked fish and it is delicious. Like many things in Vis the island pace is slow but that allows you great time to enjoy the atmosphere and the wine. It is definitely worth paying attention to the recommendations they are well thought out and they will let you have a look at what fish you will be getting and to try the wine before you commit to the bottle. The Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CurlyHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome food and experience”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We loved our meal at Kantun - incredible seafood, awesome ambiance and delicious wine, based on an owner recommendation. We tried to order the house white and he recommended a different bottle. It was more expensive, so we assumed it was just an upsell, but he brought us a taste of the house white, which we agreed was not very good. We went with his recommendation (a Posip from the island of Korcula) and it ended up being one of our very favorite bottles of the trip - and we had a LOT! Definitely recommend the squid, but from experience, you can't go wrong with that menu.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank srd418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent seafood feast in a friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Our last meal on Vis and we saved the best 'til last. A quieter Friday night between the midweek charter yacht peaks was a good choice and we we're looked after admirably.

There was a choice of red snapper, monkfish and lobster for the main. We went for a monkfish and snapper combination and it was the best seafood we can remember having... ever; carefully BBQ'd on the fire in the restaurant and still moist and succulent, as were the grilled vegetables.

A surprise pre starter of fish and caper pate and fire toast got things off to a great start, and the local white wine was ideal with the smoked tuna and marinated anchovies.

Finally the chocolate and carob cake combination with lemoncello was a perfect ending.

Thanks Kantun for a meal to remember. The price? 760 kuna, which for the quality, service and atmosphere, was worth every penny.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zalgiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Arrived late off the ferry, found our apartment, went out the door and this was the first of the local travel agents' recommendations. At 10pm we weren't expecting much, but we were welcomed inside where there was a lovely smell from the open fire grill. Got a table by the window for a great view.
We kept it simple, fish of the day, steak both cooked in front of us. Bottle of red. Haven't a clue what any of them were, the fish, the cut, the vinyard, but none of that mattered. All were tasty, well presented. Service was good.
Only downside was price. Vis Town isn't cheap; seems to cater for the dozens of yachties that moor for the night on their cruises.
However this is worth the price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grs3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kantun also viewed

Vis, Island of Vis
Vis, Island of Vis
 
Island of Vis, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Kantun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing