We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some great bits, some poor bits”
Review of Hotel San Giorgio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Giorgio
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is located in Kut and is good but perhaps a little over priced for what you get. The hotel is around a 25 minute walk from Vis town where the boat arrives. Kut is a nicer part of Vis than the harbour area and has better restaurants nearby.The walk is simple yet a little taxing with suitcases, a cab will cost around £8.

The rooms in the hotel were fine and of 4 star standard, the real highlight of the hotel is a stunning courtyard where local wine tasting can be done for 20 Euros p/p which is excellent and the food is lovely with home made bread.

Many people refer to the lovely breakfasts but I am genuinely baffled by this as there was some fruit and cereals but very few hot options, only a boiled egg and frankfurter. Unfortunately at this time of year flies were in abundance and as the hotel staff made no effort to protect the food at breakfast, the fruit and pastries were often covered with flies.

It should be noted that there is no real beach area to swin in the vicinity so those wanting this would need to hire a car to get around the island.

Vis has limited accomodation so this is a good choice for Vis town, however some improvements could be made.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trigtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 196 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

A charming hotel with a fabulous breakfast buffet. The jams are amazing and varied and all local. The staff was very accomodating. Our room was spacious with a nice bathroom, although some of the stairs can be a bit difficult to navigate. There was a nice open space to sit outside with couches and the area was quiet since it was away from the ferry. The distance is a bit problematic with luggage and kids. We didn't know there was an option to be picked up at the ferry - would definitely have made things easier.

Since we didn't have a car, the staff recommended a fabulous guide named Medo. He was so interesting and knowledgable about the island and took us to more remote places and the most amazing restaurant where the proprietor makes everything from scratch from his garden and land - including the baby goat who we got to feed who will probably be dinner at some point. He was great with kids and adults alike. There was also a great pizza place around the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank designrgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The staff at this hotel are so lovely and accomodating. The rooms may be hard to get to (steep stairs, very hard to navigate with luggage), but you are rewarded with very clean and spacious accomodations. The hotel is a little bit of a walk from the ferry, but the trade-off means being very close to great (and not very crowded) restaurants and a gorgeous beach at the end of the road.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcgoldrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We only had a week in Croatia and decided to get the ferry from Hvar only 3 hours before it departed (there's only one a week). My girlfriend called the hotel, arranged for us to be picked up from the terminal and everything from that point forward (bar a couple of hiccups) went extremely well.

We chose the San Giorgio after reading 2 positive reviews and are so glad that we did! We were treated as if we were the only guests - the rooms were lovely, the receptionist was extremely helpful, the restaurant great and the location superb.

The hotel was also situated in a great spot (called Kut - meant to translate as "Quiet Corner") with a huge mansion on a small peninsula that provided a great route for running. There are also pelnty of great spots for swimming and sunbathing all around - a welcome departure from the hustle and bustle of the port area.

The hotel restuarant is also superb but it's also just a short walk to some of the other great places to eat - Lola, Villa Kaliopa etc.

As mentioned earlier, we had a couple of hiccups - one of which was due to the fact that we paid for our dinner on the 1st night and when we came to check-out we were asked to pay again. This was all sorted out but it's never nice when this happens so maybe they need to update their systems a little to indicate when someone has paid bills as they go along instead of adding items to the room - something I rarely ever do.

The only small downside is that we assumed that wifi would be available in the rooms but we couldn't connect unless we sat in reception.

If you go to Croatia, go to Viz, if you go to Viz, go to the San Giorgio.

Room Tip: We were initially booked into a Junior Suite but found we didn't use the lounge area apart from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A nice place and in the most atmospheric bit of Vis but still a bit of a walk from the ferry stop (about 15 to 20 minutes). Which is why I arranged a car to pick me up upon arrival--however, it was not there when I arrived. Since no taxis where waiting, I lugged my bag to the hotel. When I addressed this with the hotel staff, she claimed to have no idea what I was talking about--despite the fact that I had received an email response in her name telling me that the taxi had been arranged. I felt this was very unprofessional, although she later apologized. Wi-fi is only available in the common areas, which is a bit inconvenient. Overall, a very comfortable place that could do with more professional service. Still, appreciated that they offered to make me a sandwich when I was leaving as I was catching the early ferry out and would miss breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikaruhikaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Vis is such a beautiful island! And Hotel San Giorgio is the perfect place to stay! The hotel is situated in the Kut part of Vis town, so it's a bit of a walk from the ferry but I think you can arrange for the hotel to pick you up or reserve a taxi.
We could see down at the harbour from our room- which was spacious, contemporary decorated and clean.
We went to a great pebble beach a 15min walk from the hotel. But there are plenty of beaches closer as well- but it was worth the walk! =) The breakfast was great- with espresso-style coffee made by order, fresh rolls (I think they were home made) and cold meat and cheese. We can highly recommend the hotel restaurant! We also did a winetasting with the sommelier at the restaurant. It was very interesting to get some information about the local wine. There's plenty of nice restaurants VERY close to the hotel- we recommend both Val and Pojoda! Lola Konoba&bar is a 10min walk back towards the ferry but well worth it! And Karijola is cheap and great pizza! You've got plenty of options! =) Stay for more than a night or two! ;)
The staff was very friendly and helpful, they can arrange trips to the blue cave/Bisevo and lots of other interesting things! And they arranged so that we could hire a scooter and explore the island-it was a perfect day! The scooter was delivered and picked up at the hotel. But get all your bookings confirmed. You can also arrange to get a massage at the hotel, but we were unfortunately unable to try this.
We're definately coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IENF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The place is ok, it has confortable and clean rooms, location is ok, but is does not worth in any way the Euros 180 they charge for each room. There is nothing charming or special that might justify this price, you might find as good places for much less than that.

Note: the rooms do not have internet. The wifi signal is too weak to reach them. You have to navegate from their restaurant area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Continentalhooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vis
0.8 mi away
Hotel Issa
Hotel Issa
#2 of 3 in Vis
53 reviews
14.2 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
14.1 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
hotel Bisevo
hotel Bisevo
#3 of 3 in Vis
58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tamaris
Hotel Tamaris
#5 of 5 in Island of Vis
30 reviews
14.5 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giorgio

Address: Ul. Petra Hektorovica 2, Vis, Island of Vis 21480, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Island of Vis > Vis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vis
Price Range: $145 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Giorgio 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Giorgio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing