We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunshine and crystal blue water along with fabulous food and accommodations make this trip a one-of-a-kind experience.”
Review of WearActive

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Island of Vis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
WearActive
Ranked #2 of 10 Island of Vis B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sunshine and crystal blue water along with fabulous food and accommodations make this trip a one-of-a-kind experience.”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Xania and Craig were first class hosts and guides on the island of Vis. They know the meaning of customer service. Great hiking and biking trails and beautiful crystal clear water for kayaking and swimming. Oh yeah, and the food was great as well. We would recommend WearActive to anyone wanting a relaxing, but active vacation away from the hustle and bustle. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MM52458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
30
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Craig and Xania have created the perfect holiday hideaway on Vis. Their experience is evident in the well put together programme of activities and they catered to the fitness needs of everyone brilliantly - from those who were experience mountain bikers to me who lagged behind the whole way then got the landrover back! The rooms are clean and simple, finished off to a high standard and the village is off the beaten track so lovely and quiet with the stunning pebble beach 5 minutes walk down the lane. We went to the beach mostly in the mornings or before/after tea and there were never more than 20 local people there - this for me was one of the best things about the holiday, you do have a reasonably long day of travelling to get to the island but it's quietness and landscape is well worth it. Don't be put off! Xania's food is amazing and even if you're not a veggie you won't miss eating meat. There are a handful of great places to eat in the village and plenty more in the marina. The best bits of this holiday for me were the non-touristy location, the beautiful scenery and beaches, kayaking through clear waters into empty coves and getting to know some great people over great food (&wine!). The bad bits: None!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acooke389401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2010

My wife and I stayed with Wearactive on our honeymoon. We had never been to the Adriatic or Croatia previously. On our holidays we like to be adventurous, occasionally pamper ourselves and eat and drink well. We are also partial to an afternoon siesta.
Vis is my idyll of a sleepy Mediteranean island. From the first approach on the ferry seeing the ancient stone terraces and the stone buildings in Vis town with mountains rising behind it was a postcard picture. This is not the place to come for partying and nightclubs.
Craig picked us up in his Land Rover and drove us out of the old town (there is no "new" town) past olive groves and vineyards to their renovated stone cottage in a small village on the south west side of the island. Our first afternoon was spent swimming at the nearby beach.
My wife and I are not seasoned kayakers but kayaking sections of the coastline was beautiful - a great way to see the island. All activities are included in the nightly rate. We took a double kayak and were escorted by Craig and Xania. I would highly recommend paddling the short distance out to the green grotto and kayaking the cliffs between Komiza and Rukavac. We also spent two days cycling (both on and off road). The island roads are quiet and well maintained (a legacy of the island being a former Yugoslav army base) and the mountain biking is extremely scenic. I would also recommend taking a day trip to Bisevo to see the blue grotto and walk the island. Afternoons were usually the time for napping in the cool of the stone cottage.
Diners were alternately at the cottage or eating out. Xania is an excellent cook and eating on the cottage balcony in the evening was very romantic. Craig and Xania were able to point us in the right direction when eating out - the grilled fish and service at restaurant Calliope and the fish Peka at Roki's vineyard were outstanding.
Craig and Xania were excellent hosts who know the island and its people well. Having them show us around and give us pointers really made our stay special.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutcho78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We came to Vis as part of our honeymoon and stayed at the WearActive stone cottage for 5 nights. Craig and Xania made us feel immediately at home and were able to give us all the local knowledge on best places to eat/swim/snorkle and more.
They took us kayaking around the island, snorkling and cycling. This allowed us to truly experience the island. Craig even taught us some yoga, which we did on a sea cliff with the waves lapping and the sun rising.
Xania is a wonderful cook, and nights in were a lovely relaxing time to sit on the balcony and watch the sunset with a glass of local wine in hand. On nights out you are given a selection of restaurants to choose from in various locations over the island.
The only thing we regret is not being able to stay the full week !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_and_Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Island of Vis
2.4 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
2.9 mi away
Hotel Tamaris
Hotel Tamaris
#5 of 5 in Island of Vis
28 reviews
15.3 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Issa
Hotel Issa
#3 of 3 in Vis
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sea House Apartments
6.3 mi away
Villa Kamenica
Villa Kamenica
#1 of 4 in Komiza
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WearActive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WearActive

Property: WearActive
Address: Rukavac, Island of Vis, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Island of Vis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Island of Vis
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WearActive is a catered chalet hotel set on the stunning Croatian Island of Vis. We specialize in multi activity based holidays, exploring the Island under your steam by sea kayak, mountain bike and on foot. We also offer a range of tailor made holidays for groups. The property, a traditional Croatian stone built house has been renovated to a high standard. We offer comfortable accommodation with excellent cuisine. Our maximum number of guests is ten so you can be assured of attentive, personal service. Our aim is simply - to get the most out of each day! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing