We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at La Perla”
Review of La Perla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Perla Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I had one night at La Perla last week. It was a very nice room, a quiet hotel with wonderful staff. I would recommend staying here if you want a quiet, clean and beautiful atmosphere with a great location. Leon is filled with culture and I wish I had 2 nights instead of 1, Leon needs more than 2 days to really see everything

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 296 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

A lovely corner of Leon when you need to get away from . . . you know, Leon. Outside it's dusty, hot, vibrant and exciting - inside La Perla it's tranquil and shady and cool. The staff is attentive and our pick up at the Managua airport was as smooth as could be. Aside from the what appears to be Leon's morning air-raid siren every day at 7am we didn't hear a peep out of the city. The shower wasn't exactly hot, but in the 100 degree heat the air conditioner worked like a charm. The casino is in a matching building across the street, not attached - and we had no contact with it - which was, for us, perfect.

Room Tip: We opted for the cheaper room - and we did not get the four poster bed of the hotel photos FYI - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynx74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My wife and were wandering around and decided to stop here for dinner. Looked like a nice spot,
quiet and with nice breeze. Ordered a pasta dish and a corvina both were inedible.Overcooked
pasta and a piece of corvina that was so well done I could have used it for a weapon. The bill,
after not eating, totaled the bill up with the waiter and came to $28.00 but he kept on insisting that it was $ 38.00 with no tip included. Left $500 ($40) cords just out of frustration. We live in Nicaragua and are very aware of tax and propenia but Never had a situation like this.Stay clear of this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

We can not find any employee who has any knowledge of this event.
We have not received any phone calls, faxes, or emails from this reviewer.
We have served thousands of meals including events with 350 customers and have not received any comments of this nature.

The only "fact" I can cite is that the reviewer states that they left " $C500 ( local currency is Cords) and that was equivalent to $40. It should be pointed out that the exchange rate is $C25.6 per US$ ; therefore, the reviewer left less then $20 and not the $40 stated in the review.

Sincerely,
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I have just stayed a couple of nights at La Perla, in one of their Junior Suites. A totally wonderful restored old building, made even more special by the most attentive and engaging staff. The included breakfast is a treat. We highly recommend it as a base for a stay in Leon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moulinie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments.
As a family owned business we really appreciate your review. We continue to try to improve our operations as even small items count. As an example, our General Manager, George, made a decision that he would use the reception area as his office.... " Close to the customer!"
Sincerely,
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Hi i'm just writting this because i actually want to go to this hotel and i tried booking it in there website i couldn't it says there is no day available just wondering how much is it per day ?, and if you go with a second person would it be more i mean i only want one room nothing big. I heard this is an amazing hotel i read some of the reviews for this place so please give me a hand

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Gustavo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

We are sorry you had an issue with our online reservation system. There was a short problem with our third party provider...It is all fixed.
Thank you
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel is a tad rundown but in a charming way, the spaces are great, the staff friendly and helpful, and the location is great. We rented two rooms for each of two non-consecutive nights so we saw 4 different rooms, all towards the front of the hotel--facing street and courtyard--and all were good. Courtyard is great for breakfast and food was fine.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. On a continuous basis, we paint everyday and refinish door that are exposed to the tropical sun...I remember restoring 50 doors when we did the restoration of this historic 150 year old building. We hope you return to Leon
Sincerely
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

During my visit in Leon, I stayed at both the Convento as well as the Perla. Both places are great and can be recommended. For the younger crowd the Perla may be a bit more exciting because it has a very nice bar, restaurant and patio cocktail area smack in the middle of town. The décor throughout the hotel is very tasteful. You can tell that someone with a very good eye for stunning effects has been at work here.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room by the pool. If there's people on the pool patio at night, you will hear e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BHSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review. We added 8 more rooms in the hotel annex which were designed for a very restful sleeping environment.

We hope you return to this special country and the beautiful city of Leon and after a busy day of visiting the churches and museums, have a refreshing beverage at our hotel.

Sincerely,
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla Hotel

Address: Iglesia La Merced | 1 Cuadra Al Norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: $153 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Perla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Perla Hotel is situated in a beautiful, colonial building in the city of Leon. Renovated in the original style, this mansion dates back to the middle of the 19th century and it provides a great colonial atmosphere to the visitors. Rooms are fully equipped and come with air conditioning, fans, mini-bar, and cable TV. Wireless Internet is available throughout the building. Guests can relax in the hotel's bar with a cocktail while enjoying all major sporting events on the large plasma TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your La Perla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Leon
Hotel La Perla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing