We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect and awesome stay at la perla!”
Review of La Perla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Perla Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in la perla for one night on our panamericana trip and we can't write anything bad about the hotel!!! It's a wonderful old colonial building with nice rooms and a very nice breakfast and this all in the center from leon.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fab4kite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Glad you enjoyed your stayand hope you return as Leon at many attractions and one needs at least three days...the churchs, the best art museum in Central America, the beach, the volcanoes....or simply relaxing.

Thanks again

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 289 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have stayed in Leon many times in the last 6 years. I discovered the La Perla about 4 years ago and would not for any reason stay any where else. The building is beautiful every room furnished with antiques and orginal art.. The staff and owners make this a true home away from home for all who stay. The staff will bend over backwards to make you feel welcomed and important to them as guest. You should take a little time for the resturant or you will be missing some of the best food in Nica... priced right! I travel for a living and never write good or bad about my stays but anyone coming to Nicaragua should experience a real hotel like the La Perla Most of us have stayed in the cookie cutter types of hotels where it's just another room.
THIS IS NOT ONE OF THOSE!

Room Tip: I pefer the small rooms around the pool but only for 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimchang44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your review..It has been a pleasure serving you and your Nicaraguan family on your several visits.
Sincerely,
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Thanks for a very comfortable and clean stay, Jamie! The staff was helpful and personal and went out of their way to be polite. Not to mention fun nights sitting around the "verandah"- The beds were great. The bathroom was clean. The food for b-fast and dinner in the restaurant was awesome!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinandJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Ladies,

Thank for for you kind comments. We greatly appreciate staying with us and hope that you return to Leon and Nicaragua.

Sincerely

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in a junior suite in August and whilst the hotel exterior and lobby lived up to our expectations the service was a complete and utter let down. As a tourist in Leon we would have at least expected the room to have had basic information about Leon and the local area, there was absolutely none. No information about breakfast, dinners, room service as would be expected in even a very basic 1* hotel. In fact it wasn't until we were checking out that we were told that the water in the room was complimentary, never mind a welcome drink that we had received in every other hotel we stayed in during our 3 weeks in Nicaragua. Service was slow and staff were less than welcoming - we waited for 30 minutes for a fruit juice from the bar - and we were the only customers!! The lack of safe in the room was disappointing as was the small barrel lock on the door leading to a communal balcony which we struggled to close and lock as this was open when we arrived. Overall we did not feel it was value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thanks for your review..it appears that you had a great time in Nicaragua and with our friends at Green Pathways tour. I believe I also met you and you were delightful. We have review your comments with our staff as we have a drawer with maps, pamphlets, etc of places to visit in Leon and Nicaragua...we "dropped" the ball " on this one, as we try to give directions, and tour, restaurant recommendations every day. We hope you return to Leon and Nicaragua

Sincerely,

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Overnight stop in Leon, taxi driver recommended this hotel. Great recommendation!
The staff was incredible and the place was beautiful. They were very helpful with directions and dinner reservations.

Breakfast was included and they stored our luggage for the day while we went Volcano Surfing. We will be back and hopefully for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FireflySweetTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

It was great meeting you ..glad you enjoyed the hotel and the surfing in Nicaragua ..Hope you return to Nicaragua and try surfing North of Leon..let us know if we can assist you
Sincerely,
Jim and James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of our travels in Costa Rica & Nicaragua. This is a really nice hotel in a good location in Leon. The reception area and courtyards are very nice and the rooms are a good size with nice ensuites. Breakfast was in the courtyard which was very nice but not the best beakfast we had on our travels and probably the worst coffee we drank in all of Costa Rica or Nicaragua. You are only a short walk to the main square and you will feel very safe walking around here at night but have a map to hand. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Very nice hotel with large rooms but take one at the back with no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nryan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Beautiful, super clean, slept like a baby in our king bed, air conditioning super cold (nice), nice flat screen tv, nice delicious breakfast, friendly helpful staff, owner super friendly, attentive to our needs. No doubt a place that we recommend. Thank you James, I am glad you have made our country your country, see you next time :) Wiston and Mabel

Room Tip: Nice pool, nice bar, quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mabel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.3 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#9 of 15 in Leon
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla Hotel

Address: Iglesia La Merced | 1 Cuadra Al Norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: $83 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Perla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Perla Hotel is situated in a beautiful, colonial building in the city of Leon. Renovated in the original style, this mansion dates back to the middle of the 19th century and it provides a great colonial atmosphere to the visitors. Rooms are fully equipped and come with air conditioning, fans, mini-bar, and cable TV. Wireless Internet is available throughout the building. Guests can relax in the hotel's bar with a cocktail while enjoying all major sporting events on the large plasma TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Perla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Leon
Hotel La Perla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing