We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay when visiting Leon, Nicaragua.”
Review of La Perla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Perla Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Overnight stop in Leon, taxi driver recommended this hotel. Great recommendation!
The staff was incredible and the place was beautiful. They were very helpful with directions and dinner reservations.

Breakfast was included and they stored our luggage for the day while we went Volcano Surfing. We will be back and hopefully for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FireflySweetTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lou1944, Owner at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

It was great meeting you ..glad you enjoyed the hotel and the surfing in Nicaragua ..Hope you return to Nicaragua and try surfing North of Leon..let us know if we can assist you
Sincerely,
Jim and James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 292 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of our travels in Costa Rica & Nicaragua. This is a really nice hotel in a good location in Leon. The reception area and courtyards are very nice and the rooms are a good size with nice ensuites. Breakfast was in the courtyard which was very nice but not the best beakfast we had on our travels and probably the worst coffee we drank in all of Costa Rica or Nicaragua. You are only a short walk to the main square and you will feel very safe walking around here at night but have a map to hand. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Very nice hotel with large rooms but take one at the back with no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nryan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Beautiful, super clean, slept like a baby in our king bed, air conditioning super cold (nice), nice flat screen tv, nice delicious breakfast, friendly helpful staff, owner super friendly, attentive to our needs. No doubt a place that we recommend. Thank you James, I am glad you have made our country your country, see you next time :) Wiston and Mabel

Room Tip: Nice pool, nice bar, quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mabel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

You must experience this phenomenal hotel to believe it. Perfectly restored to colonial beauty and grandeur, this is a reak of a hotel. Gigantic rooms, a wonderful restaurant (if slow service), great pool, phenomenally engaged and hospitable owner I James-did everything they could to make us comfortable, including an escort to a fantastic volcano surf trip with my kids. The furniture is period antique, the upstairs porch simply lovely. Hope to stay a week next time!

Room Tip: Go for the presidential suite-it's a throw back to a differ era
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My company uses this hotel for our travels to Leon. Every stay has been great! The hotel itself is beautiful! The rooms and staff are great! There are some great restaurants within walking distance or you can eat at La Perla great food overall.
Great job Jim and James!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jc4816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, with a lovely courtyard and balconies. Our room was nice (although no windows, what can you do?). The bathroom was clean and well appointed, but the carpet a bit dirty. The staff were not very forthcoming or helpful. For example, when we checked in, we were taken to our room, but told nothing about breakfast, wifi, where to go for questions, etc. It took us 2 days to get a functioning safe in our room. The staff seemed not too informed about sights of the city, seemd to be going through motions only. Every morning at breakfast, I ordered the fruit and toast. I would be brought the toast, but no fruit. I had to ask for the fruit every morning. Unsure why this was.
Overall we enjoyed our stay, but this experience shows to me how much the personal touch with the staff can cloud your experience in a city.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank 60878Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel has been the best part of my trip to Leon. The building is nothing short of opulent and the rooms are immaculately clean. La Perla offers ornate archways, marble statues, and an imposing façade that preserve the elegance of a bygone era paired with modern amenities. Unlike most hotels in Nicaragua the standard room is equipped with 13ft tall ceilings, a fridgerator, shampoo, and there is always complimentary coffee in the lobby. The staff here is also very gracious, accomodating, and efficient. My laundry was cleaned, ironed, and brought to my room within an hour and a half. Another surprise was access to the kitchen today to cook a steak I bought at the supermarket. It was a first for me to wind up in the kitchen of a four star hotel taking seasoning tips from the head chef an hour after the restaurant closed. La Perla is as professional as a four star hotel should be, but as flexible as home. If I find myself in Leon again, I wouldnt consider another hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.3 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#8 of 15 in Leon
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla Hotel

Address: Iglesia La Merced | 1 Cuadra Al Norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: $84 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Perla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Perla Hotel is situated in a beautiful, colonial building in the city of Leon. Renovated in the original style, this mansion dates back to the middle of the 19th century and it provides a great colonial atmosphere to the visitors. Rooms are fully equipped and come with air conditioning, fans, mini-bar, and cable TV. Wireless Internet is available throughout the building. Guests can relax in the hotel's bar with a cocktail while enjoying all major sporting events on the large plasma TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Perla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Leon
Hotel La Perla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing