We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Posada Dona Blanca

Posada Dona Blanca
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Dona Blanca
Ranked #17 of 34 Leon B&B and Inns
Cross Junction, Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfortable”
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We stayed at Posada Dona Blanca for 4 nights during Christmas. Since we arrived on Christmas Eve, the hotel was quiet. We had a four wheel Toyota Land Cruiser that we were directed to pull into the lobby at night. It was a first to park a vehicle in the lobby of a hotel! The city of Leon was in a celebratory mood for the the entire four days, but our room was quiet, comfortable and very clean. There was abundant hot water and air conditioning; it was 85 - 90 F during our stay. The room also had cable TV in English and Spanish. It is an aged house that served as a family home before becoming a hotel. There is a beautiful courtyard in the center with tropical flowers and trees. A breakfast of fruit and toast was served every morning and included in the cost of the room. You could sit as long as you wanted at breakfast with endless cups of Nicaraguan coffee. We were directed to good restaurants in Leon for lunch and dinner. The gates of the hotel are locked 24 hours a day, and staff is always there to let you in when you ring the bell. You can walk to the plaza, the catedral, shopping at the street market and tiendas. The Posada is also within walking distance of the Leones baseball stadium.
The staff at Posada Dona Blanca were most helpful when we went to the beach at Poneleya for Christmas Day and our truck was broken into and our backpack was stolen. They directed us to the Policia Nacional and called a locksmith to open the glove box that the thieves had demolished. The incident was a small one that could have happened anywhere. Eight vehicles parked near us were also broken into. The important part was that the Nicas were helpful and the Posada Dona Blanca staff went out of their way for us during the holiday.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone who likes a simple and quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donquixote218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
33
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Great location, wonderful staff, fine value. The staff was friendly and more than willing to correct my Spanish. We all had a good laugh. Our room was spotless. Though nothing fancy, it was quiet and welcoming after a long bus ride. Breakfast was fine, set in a pretty courtyard.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kalaloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2010

A real nice paradise in the midst of the city. Walking distance to many sights and markets. Great neighborhood. Less than $2 taxi ride from main bus terminal. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was great and the staff was very attentive. The owner goes out of her way to make sure that your stay in wonderful. Tour company right next door. Took a city tour and was very impressed with the guides knowledge and compassion.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islasenorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Good location, nice courtyard, beautiful old furniture, good breakfast. We were able to deal for a multi-night stay so the price was certainly reasonable. VERY clean.

The woman who runs it reminds me of an old Italian aunt I had. The place is kept immaculately clean and orderly, and it is run in a no-nonsense manner. The gate to the street is kept locked, but I have a feeling 'La Dona' could handle any little punks that came her way. I can picture her hauling them down to the police station by their ear - haha. As mentioned, she speaks no english, so be prepared to speak some spanish.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank almal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drea05
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

My boyfriend and I spent our first five nights in Nicaragua and it was a great start to our trip! The staff at Posada Dona Blanca was second to none. While the housekeepers (who must unlock the door for you - safety first!) spoke little English, we were able to Spanglish our way with them. They were very helpful and tried their best to communicate (as did we!)

Continental breakfast each morning (toast and extremely FRESH fruit and coffee) included in the price. We had room No. 4 and it was very large, satellite TV and a large bathroom. Hot water was there if you were the first of the day to hop in. Rooms were serviced each day.

We truly enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drea05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

This is a six-room B&B in a family house which is spotlessly kept, by a very friendly host family (though little English is spoken, so brush up on your Spanish). My room (no 1) was very clean with everything I needed - hot shower, fresh towels and soap, comfortable bed, with the plus of cable TV and continental breakfast included in the price (breakfast is taken in the pretty central courtyard). The room was a touch spartan but the price (fan cooled) was $30 a night; add $10 to have the A/C turned on. It felt very secure as the front door must always be unlocked by staff. There's a travel agent (Tierra Tours) out front too, which is handy, plus the hotel is just five minutes' walk from the Parque Central. I found it a very relaxing, comfortable place and stayed here three nights.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

This mid-range hotel was a really good find. It has a beautiful courtyard with hammocks and a seating area. Our room was large with A/C, cable TV and fast wifi. The rooms are old-fashioned but they were clean, had hot water and were serviced each day. Breakfast was small like in much of central America but it was tasty and also possible to pay for more – although we did not do this as we just ate an early lunch!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotspur91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.1 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.0 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#6 of 15 in Leon
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 15 in Leon
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Dona Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Dona Blanca

Property: Posada Dona Blanca
Address: De la Iglesia La Merced 1 cuadra al norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the experience of staying in a typical colonial Leon home, surrounded by lush landscaping and long terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Posada Dona Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing