We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go there!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Posada Dona Blanca

Posada Dona Blanca
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Dona Blanca
Ranked #20 of 34 Leon B&B and Inns
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't go there!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel. The room is not bad and the location is okay, BUT..............When we arrived, they said the room price was 42 dollars. Suddenly they charged us 54 dollar for a night. Of course we didn't. And then they locked the gate of the hotel!!! We felt like prisoners. But the worst part: she refused to let us out, so we asked to call the police and we had to go to the police office. Unbelievable! The police officer let us go without paying more.... We are travelling for a long time....we never had a problem like this. So, don't go to this hotel. You can't trust these people. After all....we found a really nice brand new hotel: Hotel Flor de Sarta. The best choice in León!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerPetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
33
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

"Bring the keys they´re not here". That´s what we heard while *IN* the room during the afternoon. They tried to open the room while we were in it!!! There´s no mistake of what they said, I´m a native Spanish speaker. When I opened the door they only said "oops, we thought you were out" and left.
Before that, we thought there was something different in the room when we returned the first time ( I had closed the bathroom door. When we returned, the bathrooom door was opened and there was a smell of incense in the room.). We decided not to leave any valuables in the room. After that, the "bring the key" incident happened. Thankfully we only had reservations for one night. Would I stay again there? NO!
Plus the wifi didn´t work on our room and I was afraid of going near the "lobby" to use my phone because they might go in the room looking for it...

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere with a safe box.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed in Posada Dona Blanca for a couple of nights. It is a couple of blocks from the Cathedral of Leon, so conveniently located. However, it is right on the main thoroughfare, so the noise level is quite high. The rooms are bland. There was no staff to greet us when we got to the place in early afternoon, only a young caretaker who did not speak a single word of English (fortunately my wife speaks reasonable Spanish). The breakfast was very good, and served with a smile. Other than that, we were not impressed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeshiMusafeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for five nights and consider Posada Dona Blanca an excellent value in Leon. We stayed in room #4 which has three beds in it and is still very spacious. The bathroom was the largest of any we have ever experienced. The inn has a wonderful retro charm from the 1960’s but everything is in pristine condition and very clean. They serve a simple breakfast that includes a wonderful variety of fruit, eggs, bread and a large pot of very good coffee. The tables are placed on the patio around the courtyard, and guest can admire the flowers and birds while eating.

Posada Dona Blanca is well located, only a few blocks away from the main plaza and cathedral, and there a several nice restaurants and local places to eat in the surrounding neighborhood.
Tierra Tours is located right next door and we used them to arrange a 10 PM private car ($70.00 at the time) from the Managua airport to Leon so that we would not have to stay the night in Managua. It worked out very well and we also used them for Volcano boarding on Cerro Negro, a day trip to Matagalpa, and a shuttle to San Juan del Sur.

If you are looking for a really affordable inn that has private bathrooms, air-conditioning, and hot water (that is actually hot), Posada Dona Blanca is a very good deal.

Best travels,

Craig & Donna

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaandCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two nights. The location of the hotel is very central and convenient. Accommodations are very roomy, old colonial style, but basic. The rooms need a major uplift and clean up. There was dirt flying from the fan and pain cracking.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelNat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanville, Maine
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Good location in town, spacious, pleasant rooms, kept well, and friendly. Our best selection in Nicaragua. Rooms are very comfortable. Has most everything you'd need. No complaints. Priced well, too. Breakfast is mostly fruit, but large portions.

Room Tip: Room 6 is upstairs with a small balcony on the front. Room 4 is huge. All rooms that our group was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macinmaine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
105 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed two nights at this hotel. It was very basic but great considering the price. We rented a car and was able to drive it inside at night. The staff doesn't speak English but we got by. Walking distance to everything you need. The room and bathroom were huge but sparse. The includes breakfast was decent and you could pay for additional options. The staff made a phone call for us to our car rental company which was very nice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gijadenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.1 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.0 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#6 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 15 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Dona Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Dona Blanca

Property: Posada Dona Blanca
Address: De la Iglesia La Merced 1 cuadra al norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the experience of staying in a typical colonial Leon home, surrounded by lush landscaping and long terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Posada Dona Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing