We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, traditional guesthouse”
Review of Posada Dona Blanca

Posada Dona Blanca
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Dona Blanca
Ranked #24 of 37 Leon B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Very centrally located, with easy access to restaurants, cafes and the main sights. A small hotel with rooms set around a courtyard garden, with sitting areas around the perimeter.

The room was simple but had shelves, a table, air-con and a ceiling fan. The bathroom was simple but functional. It was all you would expect for the cost of the room. A simple but adequate breakfast was included

The entrance was gated and locked and there was 24 hour supervision. The rooms were cleaned daily and the public areas were cleaned frequently. The only negative was the noise from traffic on the street.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank assheton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Posada Dona Blanca
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 57 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a nice spot in Leon: the patio just outside the dusty Leon is lovely. The hotel is not luxury but it is nice, clean and confortable. The room was spacious and the breakfast was good. Difficult to communicate unless you speak Spanish.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at Posada Dona Blanca during Purisima. We had the "Rosa" room which I think is the biggest - 1 queen bed and 2 twins. Plenty of room for the 3 of us. Huge bathroom and a great location. The place is very clean, no bugs and low key. The a/c worked great!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philips-trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

After paying $30 for a night in a slighty grubby hostal we went searching for better and stumbled across Dona Blanca which, at $32 a night, was real find. Lovely cool rooms, amazing new tiled bathroom complete with fluffy towels and a hairdryer and fantastic bed linen (a treat in nicaragua!). There is a huge shady courtyard to sit when it gets too hot outside and cable tv in the room if you are really bored. It's also very central with good restaurants nearby. We stayed two nights and were stunned to find our room cleaned, beds made etc.....we haven't had this anywhere else. I wouldn't look anywhere else. We looked at several places around $30 a night and nothing compared to this.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adultbackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

While in Leon, I decided to change hotels last minute. I did some research and then walked around to a few different hotels to get some prices. I was offered a room for about $26 for one night since I was solo. I actually had a friend come and stay with me since I got such a big room (with 3 beds) and it ended up being $33 for the night for the two of us. We thought that breakfast was included with this rate, but after waiting about 20 mintues in the morning the girl told us it wasn't included. This was fine since we had really wanted to go back to the restaurant desayuno around the corner. It would have been nice if she had told us right away though.

We found the hotel to be very secure. They have to open the main gate for you and give you the key to your room, so they control everyone who goes in and out. The inside courtyard is very nice and lush with a few seating areas. Our room was further back and had three beds in it and a very large bathroom. It also had cable tv a fan, and air conditioning, which we didn't need to use. I'm pretty sure we were in room number 4, the rose room which was in the back corner. Being so far back, You didn't hear much of the street noise (which is constant.) The hotel is located about two blocks away from the main square so it is convenient to everything.

When we had arrived they said they weren't sure if the room they promised us the day before would actually be avaliable, but we waited a few hours and the person staying there ended up leaving and we got the room we wanted. They offered us a different room in the hotel, but it seemed musty and not as nice. Be advised that none of the ladies speak any english. I am fairly fluent in spanish and found it especially difficult to communicate with the young girl who took care of most things. You can definitely get by without knowing spanish, but it may be a bit of a struggle. Overall, they were all very helpful and nice. I really enjoyed staying here, especially since it was so inexpensive.

Room Tip: The room up the stairs in the front is a bit musty and dated compared to the other rooms. It also i...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivelapuravida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Nice clean place. NO English, so learn some Spanish.
Had to park the car inside lobby (for safety); small car and steep climb from road into lobby meant small scrape on bottom of car but no harm done. Close to the center of the town; walking distance and safe. They charge $10 extra for air conditioning; I suppose electricity is expensive in Nicaragua. Had trouble running credit card through, but it worked eventually.
Overall, nice, reasonably priced, and recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alikarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

The courtyard is beautiful, and we were served a lovely simple breakfast there (fruits and toast with marmalade). It is also well located, and reasonably priced. I have to confess I found our bare, functional room rather depressing though.

We had TV with lots of channels, private bathroom with shower, and a comfortable double bed, aircon and safe. I think it was about $30-40 for the night. Not luxury, but good for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trips1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.1 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.0 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Dona Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Dona Blanca

Address: De la Iglesia La Merced 1 cuadra al norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Leon
Price Range: $44 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the experience of staying in a typical colonial Leon home, surrounded by lush landscaping and long terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Posada Dona Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing