We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museum of Legends and Traditions (Museo de Tradiciones y Leyendas)
Ranked #8 of 44 things to do in Leon
Attraction details
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Moderately interesting”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The prison 21 element is some paintings on the wall. I found the guides tales of torture at the prison more interesting than Nicaraguan myths and legends....paper mâché and pretty weird clothing. Not a must see in the city.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    76
    55
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Building, Wrong Theme”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This very modest museum is housed in a former jail that held -- and tortured -- political prisoners. Its a very odd juxtaposition: there are line drawings painted on the walls depicting the sometimes mundane, sometimes terrifying life of the prisoners, but the exhibitions are all about Nicaraguan fables and legends (most of them of the "great-way-to-scare-your-children-into-submission" variety: spirits and ghosts that prowl the streets at night looking for flawed and feckless people to frighten). I would have much preferred a museum more congruent with the building that houses it: one that explores Nicaragua's less-than-flattering treatment of "enemies of the state." In its current incarnation it's a bit of a lark -- a fun place to take children, but fairly insubstantial...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PHDSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A moving experience”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We learned so much about Nicaragua at this museum. It's housed in an old prison that was the site of terrible abuses by previous governments. In addition to presenting Nicaragua's folk stories, the story of past abuses are told so as not to be forgotten. That is is now a folklore museum for the people makes this site very moving. We took our 8-year-old here, and she was fascinated, not only by the folk tales but by the story of political repression also. It was a great learning opportunity for her, giving our family a chance to talk about our individual roles in promoting democracy and good government.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Blakey96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadow Lake, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice mosaics”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

The best part of this museum is the masaics as you enter. There are several rooms of this old jail showing legends and ways people were tortured.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Juanita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Different Approach”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Would have enjoyed it more, if my Spanish was better, other languages would be nice

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Retired_Traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Legends and Traditions (Museo de Tradiciones y Leyendas) also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Legends and Traditions (Museo de Tradiciones y Leyendas)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing