We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sk ple and clean”
Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Austria
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Panama City, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sk ple and clean”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very simple and clean rooms. The staff are very nice and accommodating. The hotel is centrally located right off the main square. My husband and I felt very safe in this area after dark. If you are looking for just a basic place to park yourselves, this is the place!! Room 27 is very quiet!

Room Tip: 27 is quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panama2011_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    41
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
26
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We wanted to stay here but we are traveling with our dog and sadly, the hotel does not accept pets. That said, the staff here--unprompted--called four hotels asking for us, stopping only when they found one that was both dog-friendly and with on-site parking. When we ended up finding another pet-friendly place a few blocks away, Hotel Austria was generous enough to allow us to park in their secure parking, even though we weren't staying there! They were so helpful and made us feel really supported during a difficult afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steph3280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you're looking for basic, clean accommodations with A/C in a central location, then Hotel Austria is the spot for you. I was there in December 2012 w/my husband and were quite content with the hotel. From what we saw, the average guests at the hotel were 40+, some with children - -definitely not a place for 20 somethings.

Pros:
- Breakfast was included in the nightly rate
- Security guard at front entrance
- Courteous staff
- Quaint little courtyard

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thedoodlegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I just can’t thank the hotel staff enough! Everybody at the reception desk were so endlessly patient, friendly and helpful. I asked numerous questions and always received the response I was looking for, whether it was recommendation for a restaurant, drawing directions on a map, suggestion on how to arrange volcano boarding tour, or money exchange. Indeed it was an exceptional customer service experience.

My room was pretty and spotless. Breakfast included – more than sufficient (there are several types of breakfast offered, including Nicaraguan, with delicious rice and beans), restaurant service has been always impeccable. Wi-Fi was almost uninterrupted everywhere in the hotel, including a room itself.

The hotel is very close to the gorgeous Cathedral, many restaurants and bars, little artisanal street market and Kaman art gallery. Everything is quite close in Leon, but if you get tired or get lost exploring its pretty streets, you can be sure that within 30 sec. you will see a taxi that will get you anywhere in the city for 20 cordobas (less than one dollar).

I can definitely and responsibly recommend this hotel to anybody who is looking for nice safe stay in Leon.

Room Tip: If i knew, i would ask for a room on a second level as there was a pretty bench outside where i coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYAnatolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time in Leon. Lots to see and do in the area. The hotel itself is basic but has everything you need (air cond, hot water, wifi) and is very secure. The staff were helpful in organizing a tour to cerro negro and getting transport for a day trip to penitas. The breakfast here was the least inspiring of all the places we stayed in Nicaragua, but included. $65 per night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey_A_Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Hotel Austria was the first place I stayed when visiting Leon, Nicaragua. That was 12 years ago. Now I own a place on the beach, but I still return because of the fond memories of the first visit. The rooms are very nice and clean. The restaurant in the hotel is exceptionally good and fairly priced. Peter the owner will help you with all your needs. I still come back to have breakfast,lunch, an Dinner when in Leon.

Room Tip: I checked swimming pool by mistake. When I stayed there was no pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I recently traveled here with my family and stayed a couple of nights. The hotel is very clean and very well maintained. The rooms are cleaned daily and the staff was very helpful when needed. The food in the restaurant is excellent, especially the Nicaraguan breakfast, and the there is never a long wait to receive your order. I highly recommend this Hotel when visiting Leon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HugoMJUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.3 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 15 in Leon
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#9 of 15 in Leon
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Property: Hotel Austria
Address: De la catedral 1 cuadra al sur | From the Cathedral 1 block south, Leon 21000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austria 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a block from the center and from the beautiful cathedral of the colonial city of Leon is located the Hotel Austria. This hotel with 35 rooms opened its doors in May of 1998, for its location is ideal for tourists who visit Leon to admire its churches and colonial buildings or who like to visit Poneloya, the beach of Leon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing