We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Austria
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I stayed here for a little over a week this past March. The hotel is very clean, comfortable and ideally located just about a one block away from the Central Park. The staff is very helpful and caring. I had injured my eye prior to arrival and they located an excellent ophthalmologist, got me in to see him right away and even drove me to his office. The restaurant has very good food. Especially the fried chicken! My room (bottom floor facing the garden) had air conditioning, small refrigerator, cable tv and hot water. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomthetraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 86 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2011

Over all great place to stay, Staff is out this world, kind and will work to make you confortable great while you stay

Room Tip: Hot water, Air Condition, promt response, Internet access, cold drink at all time, food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

A group of friends and I stayed at the Hotel Austria for three days on charity trip to Nicaragua in February. The location near Leon's main square was very convenient and the helpfulness of the staff was appreciated. The cleanliness of the rooms and grounds, particularly the indoor courtyard was admirable. Internet access was best near the lobby, but was always reliable. The breakfast was very good with the fresh fruits being the highlight. All in all it was a very comfortable stay and I would stay there again in a minute.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwsarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Stayed here for four nights with my girlfriend, very nice and clean little hotel. Hated the AC, very loud and would not let me sleep, TV was too far away from the bed, and the reception sucked really bad on most channals. Also there was no alarm clock ( no big deal but i like to look at the time sometimes). Beds are not very comfortable and very small (only two pillows) When i checked in i got a double bed and a single bed, i had originally asked for a one bedroom for a couple so one would assume a king size bed. So i had to put the single and double bed together so my girl friend and i could sleep somewhat comfy. One thing i did not understand that you have to leave the key at reception everytime you leave the hotel ( never heard of that at any hotel) I'm not saying it was a bad experience or bad service.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CA1714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

We stayed at this hotel in Leon after we could not get into La Perla. This was a great value. It was $57 for a night stay with breakfast included. The room was small but clean. Beds not very comfy but did the job. Staff was friendly and helpful, it was VERY clean. All in all... I'd recomend it if all you are doing is sleeping and don't expect a hotel with a pool and gym. It does the job and allows you a chance to relax and cool down after walking the HOT streets of Leon. The A/C was welcomed for this reason.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ras59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

spent a week at this hotel and it was great! The facilities are fairly basic but the rooms were spotless! The meals (breakfast was included in the $43 a night rate for a single room) were good. The staff was very helpful. The owner was very helpful in everything we needed and the location was perfect. we were distributing 230 wheelchairs for the wheelchair foundation and represented Rotary International district 7670 in western north carolina. we could walk to the main cathedral (one block away), to many great restaurants, and the location was central to the cities where we distributed the wheelchairs. each room has a window air conditioner and my room had a double bed and a single bed. we had 7 Rotarians on our team and another team was also at the hotel doing work with the local hospital which is next door. the price is reasonable, the location is great, the facilities are spotless, and the staff are extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billparker105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

Originally planned as a 6-night stay, we cut it to 4 after not being impressed with Leon and surroundings. Hotel Austria is impeccably clean, inside rooms and outdoor areas. Not as much is made of the beautiful courtyard gardens as could be. It would be nice if there were some loungers to sit in the sun, but the yards are only for show. There is a sitting area outside in a roofed area though, which was nice. Rooms are large, both beds and pillows were uncomfortably hard, air conditioner (window unit) was loud, but generally effective, plenty of hot water with good water pressure. All rooms are nonsmoking, but they have a designated outdoor area to smoke. All staff were extremely helpful and we used them as resources frequently from getting us taxis, directions, referral to pharmacy, telling us prices, restaurant recommendations, even where to buy honey. There is a security guard at the entrance 24 hours and rooms are very safe. We, as well as at least 5 other guests left laptops in rooms (locked in bag) with no issues. They have 2 routers, so wireless internet is available in all rooms and outdoor areas. Contrary to last poster, when we stayed, only continental breakfast was included – juice, toast and coffee. Additional items were available for an additional cost of $2-3.50 USD. Restaurant is open all day. Our breakfasts and 1 dinner was good, especially the apple strudel! They have refrigerators in the lobby and charge a minimal fee for water, beer and soda, which we found very convenient. We had requested a quiet room in advance and we had no problems with noise. Another guest had to change rooms after being given a room on the street, so beware noise can be a factor. Overall we found it an extremely good value. Although it is centrally located, the only concern we had was the choice of 2 dark streets to walk the 1 block to the center, one of which had a stench of raw sewage. We did feel uncomfortable walking down them at night, but not during the day. Taxis were never more than 20 cordobas, so it shouldn’t deter people from staying there.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank theworldexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.3 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.3 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Address: De la catedral 1 cuadra al sur | From the Cathedral 1 block south, Leon 21000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: $73 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austria 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a block from the center and from the beautiful cathedral of the colonial city of Leon is located the Hotel Austria. This hotel with 35 rooms opened its doors in May of 1998, for its location is ideal for tourists who visit Leon to admire its churches and colonial buildings or who like to visit Poneloya, the beach of Leon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing