We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel El Convento
Nearby Hotels
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$71
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$64
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$45
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveler rating
188
154
27
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
154
27
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsformer conventcentral gardensalmon saladworks of artsmall poolbeautiful oasiswater fountainrooms are spaciousspent two nightsthe air conditioningstreet sidebuffet stylevery nice stayplace to staylounge arearuben dariodecent size
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 387 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our stay at Hotel El Convento was the perfect choice. Leon was one of our favorite stops on our holiday but it was insanely hot and humid, at least for Seattleites. Having El Convento's comfortable room (with ac) and small pool at the end of the day helped refresh us, especially after Cerro Negro. The staff was also attentive and helpful with poolside drinks and arranging transportation.

The breakfast was adequate, basic eggs and gallo pinto along with cereal, fruit, etc. We had dinner at the restaurant once, which was fine. Not a food destination but it worked out well for our last night there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chhayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel with a lovely central patio and old furniture. Rooms are large quiet and comfortable. The bathroom is big,with hot water, tub and hair dryer. There is also iron and board. The location is central, walking distance from the main square and the best restaurants in town. There is a small swimming pool. Breakfast is included and quite rich and it begins at six.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauramtorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

El Convento hotel is located in a lovingly restored convent. There is a lovely interior garden, a small swimming pool, a grand living room full of antiques, comfortable, modern rooms, and a good restaurant. It is ideally located on a quiet street only two blocks from the central square and around the corner from the art museum. The room is spacious, the bed firm, and the bathroom very nice. The hotel was really charming and I was very pleased. I thank my excellent Nicaraguan travel agency, Nicaragua Adventure, for recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I like unique hotels so this fit perfectly. The rooms are not plush at all, but are large, functional and comfy. The breakfast was fair, but the dinner we had at the hotel restaurant was totally inedible. I would highly suggest looking elsewhere for lunch and dinner. I would stay here again, but avoid the restaurant.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Akeemthedream78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Leon. I would have given it five stars but on our last night there I was woken up at 2:00 am by people drunk and loud in a sitting area by my room. There is no way that the security did not hear it. This went on for at least 30 min.... When I told the desk the next morning they were apologetic but it seemed as though they weren't interested in finding out the cause. For the money we paid, I would expect better. And it seemed to me that they were locals and how did they get in???!
Breakfast was great and the grounds were lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews