We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel is lovely and has a beautiful courtyard. The coffee served was the best we had in all of Nicaragua! The buffet breakfast in the open courtyard is relaxing and the room is lovely, although it is a bit dark. It seemed to me to be the best hotel we saw in Leon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Convento
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 348 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hotel is completely charming. It is well decorated, safe, and the staff is attentive. The courtyard is beautiful. The rooms are large, but could use better lighting (especially at the desk) and a couple of comfortable chairs.

The breakfast buffet is just OK, but the ceviche (go for the fish rather than the shrimp) is phenomenal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QUTravelHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

It is a pleasant surprise to enter a hotel and find something charmingly different. Spacious rooms and good breakfast. We enjoyed sitting in the open area near the restaurant enjoying the garden and the breeze. Very relaxing setting. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtw30606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just went for dinner on our night out in Leon while visiting Nicaragua. The service and the food was amazing. The hotel is beautiful and very romantic. They have a beautiful building Hacienda style with an amazing garden in the middle. Highly recommend it, specially their steaks!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel looks very nice. This is a facility with top end possibilities but with a minimum price of 90 dollars no pool, poor internet and disappointing breakfast there is a long way to go. The hotel is convenient located in the center of the city. There are very good bars and dinner places within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I have only stayed 1 might at El Convento but would have stayed much longer if it was possible. A truly beautiful property at the right location for tourist activities in this gem of a city.

The restaurant is 4or 5 star with 3 star prices and fabulous service. The rooms, whilst small for 2 people - are OK, with a bath in the room I had. Great after a long day on the road.

Make certain you get a room with a window the can be opened if you value fresh air.

The staff here were helpful,the public areas, including the garden, are immaculate; this is a hotel you'll always remember.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hornyhombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel is nice, being in an old convent converted into a hotel with few rooms and ample corridors, but 120 USD in this city where monthly salaries are about 200 USD per month is insane. The owners philosophy is to maintain occupancy at below 20 % but hit extra hard the ocassional customer that will never repeat.

Thanks God now they have competition from an international chain with much more marketing experience that may not offer nice gardens but a good location, clean rooms, cool and silent air contidion and a safety box, . Hope not only BW will come to Leon, but several others as well to provide efficient and reasonably priced acommodations and management will come into their senses and realized that they are not in Mannhathan or the Champs Elysees.

When we checked in I did not ask how many rooms were occupied but the person that took us to our room said that we could chose any room in the hotel but two that were occupied.

So as long as I am concerned I am not cheking in there any tome soosn

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeribertoMeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.3 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.2 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#8 of 15 in Leon
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: Two Blocks West From Parque Central | Next to San Francisco`S Church, Leon, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: $121 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Convento is located at the heart of the city of Leon, Nicaragua, on the site of the former San Francisco Convent. Its colonial buildings and lush gardens offer a unique atmosphere which will make your stay a very pleasant experience.The hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, conference and banqueting facilities, a cafeteria and a gourmet restaurant which is considered by many to be one of the best in Nicaragua.Whether you are visiting Leon for business or pleasure, Hotel El Convento should be your first choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento Leon
El Convento Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing