We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Lovely hotel, friendly staff”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We spent our first few nights on our honeymoon in Nicaragua in this hotel, very jetlagged and exhausted from the wedding it was a great place to recuperate. The staff were very friendly (once you get over the shock of the armed guard!), beautiful cloister gardens, huge very comfy beds and a great restaurant that served lovely breakfasts (fill up on the delicious fresh juices and fabulous nicaraguan coffee). Great location, though Leon is pretty small, but you might feel a bit intimidated walking around after dark. Free Wifi, very clean, we would highly recommend. Try and get a room that overlooks the gardens/courtyard rather than the otherside of the corridor. Don't be alarmed by the alarm that sounds at 7am and midday in the town which is not warning you about an imminent earthquake. We don't know what it was warning you about, but possibly the start and end of the first part of the school day, as the kids either attend in the morning or afternoon because of a shortage of teachers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belsky C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
We are glad to know we gave you the calmness you needed. We wish you all happiness at the new stage of your life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    136
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
53
145
23
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

El Convento was originally a convent, built in the mid 1600s. It is beautifully restored, with rooms arranged around a fine formal garden and a large fountain. Everywhere you look there are antiques, paintings, and other quality arts and crafts. The reception staff are gracious and helpful, and the restaurant is very good. The rooms are much larger than one might expect for a former convent, and are done in appropriate style, with polished tile floors, plastered walls, and antique furnishings -- all very atmospheric. El Convento is well located and in easy walking distance of Leon's sights. Definitely the place to stay if you if you want to experience authentic local color, and a welcome break from predictable modern hotels.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This is the fourth time I have stayed at the Hotel El Convento. It is a museum in and of itself. Every time I have stayed here I have noted improvements in the facility and in cleanliness and charm of the place. Its location is also well worth mentioning. It is within walking distance to all the historical destinations of Leon, and is in the heart of the city. I will continue to recommend it as the best place to visit and stay in Leon. Quiet, charming, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel near the parking and dining area are more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marytravelirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Platte, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Great location. Within walking distance of the center of the city and Ortiz-Gurdian Art Foundation. Courteous and helpful staff. Good food and service. Spacious clean room with a wonderful window view of the beautifully landscaped courtyard. Amazing collection of antiques and art work. Authentically decorated - impressive open area sitting areas. Although warned in advance, the wedding group that stayed in our wing made things pretty noisy the first night- should have accepted their gracious offer to join the fun! The hotel is truly unique. A must stay when visiting Leon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Impressive,interesting location,architecturally a jewel,however,the entrance driveway needs more thorough cleaning, the reception on 02/01 was outright impolite. The room super clean but puritanically furnished, the large courtyard well maintained,lunch ok service willing,polite but untrained for a hotel of that caliber.When in Leon this hotel is an unforgettable must.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westjens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

The garden of this place was exquisite (and quiet); the staff helpful and the food (we had dinner one night and lunch the next day) really good, with staff responsive to requests for something slightly different from the menu, and great service. It was no more expensive than more modest places, and our table was readily moved to a really quiet location overlooking the garden. No muzak.
We had tried to book rooms there but while La Perla replied to our emails, el Convento didn't (so if you fancy it it might be worth phoning),

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traintravelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adminconvento, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Thanks for visiting our property.

We hope we can attend you in your next visit to the city.
We appreciate your comment and in order to check our reservation procedures, I´ll be ver thanful if you can confirm the date when you wrote and the email address tha you used.

Our reservation address is reservas@elconventonicaragua.com and my personal address is marketing@elconventonicaragua.com

Best reagrds,

Belsky Castillo Navas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I've travelled to over 40 countries and stayed in hotels that are deemed the best, but El Convento is my favorite hotel in the world. It's a refuge of calmness. It's authentic Leon, offering some of the best amenities one can expect from a hotel but careful not to fall into the homogeneizing trap of a five star chain hotel. One feels that one is in Leon at every turn--the shoe shining box, the rustic details that are clearly there by design, the windows on the doors, the rocking chairs, the welcoming drink as soon as you walk in, and the genuine hospitality of Leon. The art and antiques are outstanding, and not surprising given that the owner is one of Nicaragua's best art collectors. The owner is also the sponsor of the best art gallery in Nicaragua, which is down the block from the hotel.

Room Tip: The only down side to the hotel is that it does not offer a swimming pool, and that would be a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaPA8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adminconvento, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
we appreciate your comments. We hope we can attend you in your next visit. Is a pleasure to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.2 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#9 of 15 in Leon
68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Property: Hotel El Convento
Address: Two Blocks West From Parque Central | Next to San Francisco`S Church, Leon, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Convento is located at the heart of the city of Leon, Nicaragua, on the site of the former San Francisco Convent. Its colonial buildings and lush gardens offer a unique atmosphere which will make your stay a very pleasant experience.The hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, conference and banqueting facilities, a cafeteria and a gourmet restaurant which is considered by many to be one of the best in Nicaragua.Whether you are visiting Leon for business or pleasure, Hotel El Convento should be your first choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento Leon
El Convento Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing