We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Hotel El Convento in Leon is a unique place to stay. Located close to the center of the historic city of Leon, the converted convent has a gorgeous central courtyard surrounded by the rooms of the hotel. The rooms are very spacious and clean and well presented.I would definitely recommend choosing this location when you travel to Leon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Convento
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 348 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2011

its a pity I stay in this hotel for only one night,when we arrived there,we already arrived late due to a problem at immigration.but all the staff still serving us our dinner and preparing our dinner with alot of smile..
its a pity at night time they turn off all the lights in the corridor,so its abit dark at night time...
but if youre planning to visit beautiful Leon then you should try to book here..its anice place to stay..

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Beautiful, relaxing ambiance-local color-good food-good service
individually controlled A/C-modern amenities with old world charm

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forevertraveljunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Spent one night here on a quick trip to discover Nicaragua. Another beautiful property in the heart of Leon. Upon entry, a very impressive courtyard and lobby/altar area. Corridors are decorated with original pieces from the previous life as a convent. All rooms are on one floor. Room was clean, ample size and had many amenities, even a shoe shine kit. Tv had every station to choose from so we were able to stay current with the news on the weather back home and the situation in Egypt. Free wifi worked fine. Beds move away from the wall, so don't lean back on the wall sitting up in bed or you will roll away. Water rationing was in effect in Leon, the hotel informed all the guests that hot water may not be available between 10:00 and 19:00. There is no bar area but drinks are available from the restaurant 24 hours. Complimentary breakfast buffet was a zoo. We met at 07:30, but since most of the tours leave at the same time in the morning, all 31 rooms are scrambling to get breakfast at the same time. Ours was inundated by a group of French who gobbled up everything in sight and used their fingers as serving utensils . Food quickly ran out, no more eggs, no yogurt, no butter. Did not have time to wait for more, so not impressed that the hotel did not plan better. Staff was not as quick to speak or interact with the guests as La Perla, but pleasant nonetheless. I was looking for ice, having ice bucket in hand. Security guard noticed and within minutes, a chef and a maid were both looking for me to ensure ice would be delivered. Allow extra time to check out, everything is at a much slower pace here. A very nice stay in a beautiful property.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aerobik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

When I visit Leon, I always stay at El Convento. I was there again the past weekend, while the city of Leon was having problems with the water supply, fortunately the Hotel had a backup water tank and they informed us of the rationing schedule so we were able to adjust to it just fine.

Every time I've stayed there, the service has been consistent: friendly staff, clean rooms, great food and beautiful and well kept grounds. One important thing to mention if you are a fan of sustainability: the owners, who are also nicaraguan and from Leon; have invested so much in culture, education and health through their foundation (Fundacion Ortiz Gurdian - they have a museum in Leon with free entrance to Nicaraguan students, donate computers regularly to public schools in the area and contribute to a program to fight breast cancer in Nicaragua).

I usually travel on a budget, but when in Leon I allow myself to splurge a little and stay at this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerenciaHPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

When we walked in a waiter arrived rather promptly with some freshly squeezed juices to welcome us. Rooms were very comfortable. Dark with one small window. The shower was hopeless! It dribbled out. That was the only negative about our stay. Very charming and pleasant hotel on the whole.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hbockweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

I'd recommend El Convento to others. I had a great experience at this hotel. This was my first time in Nicaragua. My husbands family is from Leon so we decided to visit so that I could meet them and our 3 year old would get to know his family. The staff at El Convento were extremely helpful and pleasant. The pictures that are posted for this hotel do not show the true beauty of this place. Being there i got the feeling that i was elsewhere. The atmosphere didn't feel like it was a hotel. El Convento is walking distance to basically all your needs. We walked everywhere in the city and the people are friendly. I can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jramos14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.3 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.2 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#8 of 15 in Leon
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: Two Blocks West From Parque Central | Next to San Francisco`S Church, Leon, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: $121 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Convento is located at the heart of the city of Leon, Nicaragua, on the site of the former San Francisco Convent. Its colonial buildings and lush gardens offer a unique atmosphere which will make your stay a very pleasant experience.The hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, conference and banqueting facilities, a cafeteria and a gourmet restaurant which is considered by many to be one of the best in Nicaragua.Whether you are visiting Leon for business or pleasure, Hotel El Convento should be your first choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento Leon
El Convento Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing