We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not open during advertised hours”
Review of Le Turon - CLOSED

Le Turon
Cuisines: French, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: More informations in Facebook : restauranteleturon
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This interview is a little nasty but I walked a long way here one night and it was closed although its sign had said it would be open for more than another hour. I have no comment on the food.

Thank smk47807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteLeTuron, Propietario at Le Turon, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear smk,

Sure it´s a little nasty like review, it´s difficult for me to have an appropriated response ¡
Opening hours are in TripAdvisor, Facebook and in front of our restaurant.

I tried to contact you to apologize the inconvenient but you don´t respond me, so for a next visit this is our opening hours :

Closed Wednesday
Monday to Friday : 4 Pm - 10:30 Pm
Saturday & Sunday : 11 Am - 10:30 Pm

Best regards.
Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 109 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

The chicken cordon bleu was huge and so was the steak. Service was average. Ingredients were fresh but the fish soup (broth) for a starter was ok.

Thank 399alicec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteLeTuron, Propietario at Le Turon, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Alice,

Thanks for your review in tripadvisor ¡¡
We offer a free little starter at each client, this time was a fish soup and its good you liked it.
In France it´s named : "Mise en bouche".

Best regards,
Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is one of the few restaurants in Nicaragua where the staff realizes that when you come in the door, you want a drink quickly and food to follow not too far behind. Our waiter on both occasions was quick to bring ice water (yes, you can drink the water in Leon, who needs bottled water) and kept it coming through our meal. An excellent menu with choices that combine local ingredients with european style and tastes (think herbs like sage and rosemary). A real mix of vegetables that were grilled just right as opposed to steamed or boiled to mush were served with our entrees. We sampled beef and pork. With the beef dishes you have a choice of "local" or "export" level beef - think grass fed and "finished". Frankly, I prefer the local as it has more flavor though it is a bit tougher. A variety of decently priced drinks including an excellent "fruit punch" - essentially a fruit smoothie the consistency of a pina colada, good mojitos, and a very fresh tasting pina colada were part of our dinner. One of my companions added a shot of tequila to his smoothie. Check out some of the weekend or daily specials as well that include appetizer, main dishes, and desserts - I had an excellent chicken liver pate, the portion size being sufficient for 2 or 3 people. There is no automatic 10% tip here and listed prices include the 15% IVA. And one can easily justify giving more than 10% for the excellent service provided.

The location is easy to find once you realize that most of the cathedrals face west...the town orientation is such that you think of east as "up" so to find El Turon you start from Cathedral El Recollection (the yellow church), go "up" or east one block on the south side of the church, turn south and it's about 1/4th of a block on the east side of the street.

Thank CSxi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteLeTuron, Propietario at Le Turon, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear CSXi,

Thanks a lot for you review on TA.

3 words : You´re Welcome

We work every day for this type of experience in our restaurant, so i can only said to you "thank you".
It´s the best gift you can give us ...

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We went to the restaurant after a long day of exploring the city and volcano boarding down Cerro Negro. We decided on this place after reading tripadiavor and this was the perfect choice. A complimentary appetizer from the chef, bruschetta, two entrees, desert, and a bottle of wine only set us back $44 US. What a deal?!? The entrees were outstanding. I have the grilled fish of the day and my husband had the pasta with shrimp. We love both. We also had an exceptional server who was patient and helped us with our Spanish (we only know the basics). It was such a treat. Overall our experience was wonderful and would highly recommend this restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LewisAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteLeTuron, Propietario at Le Turon, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Lewis,

Thanks for your opinion, it´s always a pleasure for us to transform a dinner into a good moment.

We try to offer the best dishes with the best value for money and i´m happy that you enjoyed our menu. Our staff is proud to take care of you and we´re happy to serve exceptionnals clients :)

Thanks a Lot ¡¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Really extraordinary restaurant. It has European standards with prices higher than the average Nicaraguan places but still more than reasonable. It was not so easy to find but we were rewarded with the best meal in the country. The list is various and moreover there are day's specials. We chose mostly from them and after a delicious complimentary starter we had appetizers and main courses all mouthwatering and very unusual and very well presented. The desserts too were excellent; a lovely surprise in a geographic area where desserts are practically unknown. The service was good and fast and the waiter was eager to explain the various options in the
Menu. Definitely a place to recommend for a culinary experience which can change your idea on food in Nicaragua.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lauramtorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteLeTuron, Propietario at Le Turon, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear LauramTorino

Thank you so much for your opinion. We always attempt to do our best for the satisfaction of our customers. I am really glad that you enjoyed your meal.
The Team thanks you for your visit and will be happy to receive you again.

Have a nice trip !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Turon also viewed

Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 
Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing