We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse beds ever but the best host”
Review of La Gordita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Gordita
Ranked #8 of 34 Leon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worse beds ever but the best host”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We really doubted how we felt about this place. Monica is the best host ever and really makes you feel at home. The rooms are very hot though, without any windows and the fans make a lot of noise. We didn't sleep at all because the matresses were so thin and bad. Wish we stayed somewhere else but Monica really makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulietadeCanada, Owner at La Gordita, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hi Martin

We had received previous feed back on the beds, when we bought the matresses we didnt know that they would not be that good, but we ordered new orthopedic matresses they will be here Wednesday (hopefully not Nica time). By the description you stayed in our small room, we have ordered upgraded fan for that room as well, the reason it is the least expensive room with private bath is becuase it is small and we recognize that in the prize of the room. Thank you for the other complaiments, will continue to improve our locale with feedback like yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    18
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
28
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed at La Gordita for three nights during our two week trip through Nicaragua, and it was one of our best accommodation experiences. Monica was extremely welcoming and was constantly going out of her way to make us feel comfortable. Definitely the most gracious and helpful host I have met throughout all my travel experiences. It was in a great location, and Monica had suggestions for every type of activity. This place is a definite must!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just returned from
Nicaragua, and some of the best company as well as comfort that we experienced was thanks to Monica, the owner of la gordita. Not only did she suggest some amazing things to do in Leon, but also when I found out I was allergic to mosquito bites, she went above and beyond to help me in treating them and preventing them! Monica was one of the nicest and most genuine people we met while in Nicaragua...but on that note her family is wonderful also!!! Her dad, daughter and uncle were there as well and each one of them was equally as nice and helpful as Monica.

Breakfast was more than we could ask for also...being on a budget, we spent a lot of time eating street food which, as you can imagine, isn't the healthiest option. Monica made us a fresh breakfast, with fresh fruit and even fresh made juice!! the breakfast was included in the price, but she could easily charge for it it's so good.

also, her friend Jose helped us a lot with driving us to las penitas (the local beach), and back to the airport. if you are needing to change cities, ask her for Joses information because he also is very kind and informative, and most importantly, trustworthy.

to sum everything up, make it a point to stay at la gordita. accommodation is exactly what you need whether on a budget or wanting privacy, but the hospitality that Monica provides can't be bought

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kelseycamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Monica (the host) is the loveliest, friendliest and most helpful host we have ever met! The place is located about 3 - 4 blocks (maybe a 5 min walk) from the centre of town. The breakfast was huge and consisted of a hot cooked meal (something different everyday), coffee and fresh juice.

The rooms were large and very good value, however it did get a bit hot with a small fan. Bathroom could have be cleaned daily too. There were some issues with wifi as sometimes it would not work for everyone staying there.

We were very fortunate to meet Monica's family and they are just as friendly and lovely people all around. Felt a bit like a home!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 399alicec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I feel a bit guilty about giving Posada La Gordita only 3 stars, however whilst Monica (the owner) is lovely, I have to be honest that the accommodation (or room I had) was average at best.

I had a private room with a double bed and en-suite, but the bathroom was so small that the sink was in the shower (literally, the shower curtain wouldn't fit around it), and the mattress & lumpy pillow meant a less than perfect night's sleep. The communal area was also not really conducive to a totally relaxed 'hostel' atmosphere. However, Monica was extremely friendly and I really enjoyed chatting to her, and as this is a reasonably new venture for her, I am sure over time the place will continue to be improved.

It's a few blocks away from the 'action', but if you want somewhere away a little from the noise, with an extremely friendly atmosphere (and you're reading this a few months after I've posted it), then I think it'll suit just fine...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulietadeCanada, Owner at La Gordita, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we have replaced the matresses with orthopedic matresses to make everyone more confortable, regarding the small bathroom, the house was constructed this way and we have appropriately named the room the New York Room so people know ahead of time, as well as adjusted pricing according to size of room to better reflect the other rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

What makes La Gordita 5* is the hostess Monica. Monica makes a fab and filling breakfast, has a great knowledge of Leon and the surrounding areas and will help you with just about anything. Our room was clean and we were provided with fresh towels twice in our 4 night stay. It is a short walk into the centre but easy to do.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EllieT2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari
Level Contributor
365 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We never felt more at home in any other place we visited in our travels through Central America. Posada La Gordita is an EXCELLENT budget accommodation in Leon, very close to the city centre and main attractions, market, stores, comedores, restaurants and bars, yet hidden enough so very quiet in order to get a great night sleep. It is very safe, spotless, cozy (where else will the sheet smell of fresh laundry?) and the breakfast - which is included in the price of the room, contrary to the rest of the hostels - is a real filling meal. We spent 7 nights there, and each day we had something different for breakfast. But, we shall add, what we loved the most about this place is that it felt like a real home, we were comfortable, welcomed each time we walked through the door by either Monica, the owner, or her friends and staff. We felt at ease, like at home. We could finish some work (there is free wifi), read, watch tv, call home, sit on comfortable couches, play music (our own instruments), etc. Monica and her staff are very knowledgeable of the city and its surroundings, she gives excellent advice on food, locations, tours, etc. She feels more like a friend, that's how kind and welcoming she is. We will definitely go back to La Gordita should we decide to go back to Leon. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.3 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.3 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#6 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lazybones Hostal
Lazybones Hostal
#3 of 63 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mariposa
Hotel Mariposa
#2 of 34 in Leon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Flor de Sarta
Hotel Flor de Sarta
#1 of 34 in Leon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gordita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gordita

Property: La Gordita
Address: | From La Colonia 1/2 to SUR, Leon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home stay style with open kitchen. Ideal for couples, singles and small groups (2 double-beds room sleeps up to 4), not a party house, best suited for budget concious travellers between the ages of 20 - 49. Private rooms with private or shared bath available, beds have orthopedic mattress for a comfortable night's sleep, very clean, comfortable and secure. Ideal for singles, small groups or couples, looking for privacy and tranquility, for romantic getaways, business trips, extended and/or temporary stays. Private rooms only, no dorms! You don't have to look far for value, we are within walking distance of the museums, shopping, and grocery stores. Located in a safe neighborhood, within 4 blocks of all the best places in downtown Leon. At night you can enjoy dinner within a block of our location, and with many places within the 4 block range you can enjoy traditional street food, pizza, vegan, and even dancing and pubs. Keep in touch with family and friends with our FREE WiFi, and we are within a block of cyber spot if you didn't bring a lap top. Our house is around the corner from La Olla Quemada, 3 blocks from the main Cathedral in the center and 1 block from La Colonia, Leon's newest and most chic supermarket in town. 6 blocks from the famous french bakery Pan y Paz, within a 4 block radius of the house there are over 20 restaurants and bars, lunch places, shopping, some of the best dessert and coffee places and the biggest ice cream shop in town. There is also an artisan market within 3 blocks, Leon's biggest fruit stand is within walking distance and offers the best local, freshest and ready to eat fruit. WE OFFER FREE: WIFI Cable TV in common areas Coffee all day Linens and towels Open kitchen Use of fridge Fans Other services we can arrange for you: Shuttle service to La Ceiba Honduras Shuttle services to El Tunco, El Cuco, El Zonte, Las Flores, San Salvador, and Antigua Guatemala Airport pick-up and drop off taxi Barber and hair stylist Manicure and Pedicure services Laundry services English speaking beach taxi service/local taxi Tours: Volcano boarding, volcano hiking day and night hikes available, guided city tour, mud springs tour, Juan Venado Island Nature Preserves, Leon Viejo Ruins tour, Osososca crater lagoon trip, Rum Testing and so much more!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing