We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hostel, amazing experience”
Review of Colibri Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colibri Hostal
Ranked #13 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome hostel, amazing experience”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We just had the most incredible experience at Colibri. The rooms are super comfortable with great facilities and an awesome location, right in the heart of León. The staff were exceptional--amazingly gracious and welcoming. They gave us an awesome recommendation for this Cuban restaurant outside of León and helped us find the best places/tours to maximize our short and sweet stay in León. León is a charming city with a lot to do and see. Colibri was the perfect place to lay our heads at night! Super relaxing and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoshikw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    45
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
1
47
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Beautiful homey inn with a staff that really made our trip! They gave us great lodging, planned tours, offered transport, great suggestions on Leon foods and sites to visit. Thanks for showing us Nicaragua!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktlstark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We arrived at the hostel late (getting around the country at night can be difficult). As soon as we stepped in, the manager/owner was quick to get on the phone and book us a volcano boarding trip for the next morning.The service was excellent and the staff perfect. The best hostel I have stayed at so far. Very relaxing and designed for both a social environment and private.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Nice hostel with lots of nooks and crannies to sit in – hammocks/rocking chairs etc. Large kitchen available for guests to cook in. Dorm rooms were nice enough, very simple but with a couple of fans in each for air circulation. Staff very friendly. Good location 5 mins from center of town. Very reasonably priced and honest.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We spent the first night in a room with a private bathroom and then the following couple of nights with a shared bathroom (due to availability) and both were great. The only thing I would say is that the rooms are quite pricey considering what we've been paying elsewhere in Nicaragua ($23 with shared bathroom, $28 with private bathroom), where as we have been paying $12-$16 for an ensuite room since then.

My favourite feature about the hostel is the fact that it looks as though it has all been quite recently decorated. The paintings on the walls are lovely and really liven the place up. Also, the staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming and created a great atmosphere within the hostel.

There was one slight issue that worried me a little though, the fact that a bleach-based product is used to wash the dishes. After washing up the dishes after breakfast, I couldn't get rid of the strong smell of bleach from my hands, even after scrubbing them with soap, and I could smell it in the cups at breakfast. I haven't come across this anywhere else, and from looking into it online, it seems that it is more important to wash up in hot water (which was not available) than taking the risk of bleached dishes not being washed up properly (as it's difficult to monitor guests).

Overall, this is a lovely hostel with excellent staff and a great hammock area to relax, not to mention an ideal location. My only suggestions would be to consider the risks of using bleach on the dishes and perhaps offer a lower fee without breakfast.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colite1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Kevin and the folks at Colibri provide the best service! We were in a complete bind trying to get a bus to Honduras on a Sunday afternoon when everything was closed (great planning on our part) and Kevin phoned all the bus companies to help us get sorted. He even helped us book our next hotel!

The hostel is clean with a huge kitchen, lots of showers and toilets, and has a really chill vibe and some of the best hammocks we've seen in a Central America. Everyone is really friendly and it's nice and quiet at night.

Definitely one of the best in Leon, and we scoped out all the competition before we picked this gem.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

At $23 a night for a double it isnt particularly cheap, but with some negociation and removing breakfast, you can get a good deal.

The rooms are large and comfortable and there is a lovely seating area with hammocks in the garden. The kitchen is spacious and has all that you need.

They are stingey for charging so much for drinking water re-fills.

Location is perfect, central and close to a supermarket.

We had some problems whilst staying but the dutch owner dealt with everything very well and does a great job running the place

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Allardyced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostal Casa Ivana
Hostal Casa Ivana
#6 of 60 in Leon
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lazybones Hostal
Lazybones Hostal
#7 of 60 in Leon
326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Latina Hostal
Latina Hostal
#4 of 60 in Leon
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Poco a Poco Hostel
Poco a Poco Hostel
#1 of 60 in Leon
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
0.0 mi away
Hostel El Albergue
Hostel El Albergue
#9 of 60 in Leon
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colibri Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colibri Hostal

Property: Colibri Hostal
Address: Church Recoleccion 1/2 Block North, Leon 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Colibrí is located in the center of the Colonial City of Leon, Nicaragua.The hostel has a long history in Leon but is now under a new management, with eyes for details, service and comfort. We have two dorm rooms, each with 4 single beds, lockers / night tables and bed lights.The other nine rooms are singles / doubles or triples, all fully equipped with private bath rooms or shared bath rooms.It’s a beautiful house with lots of space. We have a rancho with hammocks, garden space for the hummingbirds, patio space for your rocking chairs, chill room for watching movies, computer area to check your mails or travel plans and last but not least: Fully Equipped Kitchen!We like it ´tranquilo´, good atmosphere – nice people, not a lot of hassle! We make sure you enjoy your stay and sleep well while you stay with us.We have lots for FREE: Computer use, WIFI, DVD´s, breakfast, coffee and our service.We run daily tours /*Volcano Boarding, transports and other services all around Leon and Nicaragua; just ask ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Colibri Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing