We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, clean rooms and a pretty garden” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colibri Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colibri Hostal
Ranked #14 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, clean rooms and a pretty garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is an excellent option for Leon. Very well located, very clean, decent free breakfast, unlimited tea-coffee all day and a really nice communal kitchen. Communal computer was also one of the best computers Ive used after travelling CA for 4 months. There is a beautiful garden area in the back with hammocks and a few tables, where I enjoyed my breakfast and coffee every morning and watched the hummingbirds occassionally stop by. I also did an overnight full moon hike that did not start until 9PM and Colibri let me hang out at the hostel all day without having to pay for another night. All in all this is a great hostal and I highly reccomend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    44
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
1
45
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leon, Nicaragua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Friendly and a lovely garden. Once you settle in it really feels like home.

You could definitely do a worse.

First time I've done this - when will I reach 200 characters? Not yet apparently. Look, t's really really really nice.

Like.


  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Popel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

The place has really cool central location, good security, decent rooms for the price and nice garden & hammock area. They are in touch with near-by tour operator so they were helpful in this way as well. I stayed there only two nights, but I can't complain about noise from the street or people partying around either. If I ever get to Leon again, I would book the place again.
Note: If you try to get to hostel on your own from bus station, make sure you know exactly where are you going. I would be nice if they showed on web lat/lon coordinates along with their address that would make it way easier. My GPS was pretty much useless because of this and get oriented by address in Leon is quite a challenge for firstcomer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haluzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This Hostel is well located a couple blocks from the main plaza as well as the University. For being so centrally located it is a quiet destination with comfortable relaxing areas -- hammocks, as well as multiple showers areas.... important for this warm part of the world. The included breakfast is first class and there are a wide variety of tours run out of the hostal which makes for easy planning and accessing some unique excursions ( ie boarding down a volcano). Staff were very helpful as is the owner -- taking time out to answer questions about the local area and being well versed in historical relevance as well as future trends. Overall a great experience.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank nels179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Colibri is a very nice place if you just want to hang around or you up for some adventure... They are offering plenty of tours from the local tourist office.The place is very calm, the staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms and the shared kitchen are clean and there is always a cold beer in the fridge. The prices are average but the bonus is that there is the breakfast included in the price which is actually very nice.
Our room had a fan and a mosquito net. If the room was too hot, there is a nice and comfy place to hang around in the hammocks surrounded by palm trees and plants.
It´s very good situated, close to everything : central park, market, bus station, supermarket.
The internet is fast and reliable. I can strongly recommend it .

Room Tip: rooms with a private bathroom and a mosquito net are more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boszi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Good place to stay. Two streets from supermarket, center and only three buildings from the best view point of town. Very friendly personal, good breakfast and fast internet. It's a pity the guests can't use the very big kitchen. (Except the fridge of course)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stefanjansen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
406 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Having read some of the other comments, I think some people expected too much from a place which doesn't pretend to be a luxury boutique hotel. I found the accommodation to be comfortable, clean and unpretentious. The management were helpful and friendly. El Colibri has a nice garden, hence it's a good place to meet other travellers and find out why Nicaragua is such a good place to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamescollenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Casa Ivana
Hostal Casa Ivana
#7 of 61 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Latina Hostal
Latina Hostal
#8 of 61 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal Malinche
Hostal Malinche
#13 of 61 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Guardabarranco
0.0 mi away
Paz de Luna Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colibri Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colibri Hostal

Property: Colibri Hostal
Address: Church Recoleccion 1/2 Block North, Leon 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Colibrí is located in the center of the Colonial City of Leon, Nicaragua.The hostel has a long history in Leon but is now under a new management, with eyes for details, service and comfort. We have two dorm rooms, each with 4 single beds, lockers / night tables and bed lights.The other nine rooms are singles / doubles or triples, all fully equipped with private bath rooms or shared bath rooms.It’s a beautiful house with lots of space. We have a rancho with hammocks, garden space for the hummingbirds, patio space for your rocking chairs, chill room for watching movies, computer area to check your mails or travel plans and last but not least: Fully Equipped Kitchen!We like it ´tranquilo´, good atmosphere – nice people, not a lot of hassle! We make sure you enjoy your stay and sleep well while you stay with us.We have lots for FREE: Computer use, WIFI, DVD´s, breakfast, coffee and our service.We run daily tours /*Volcano Boarding, transports and other services all around Leon and Nicaragua; just ask ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Colibri Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing