We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, clean rooms and relaxed vibe!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Via Via Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Via Via Hostel
Ranked #11 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, clean rooms and relaxed vibe!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The dorms a great, mainly single beds and only one bunk in each. Rooms were very nice, clean and roomy and have a bathroom in each. They also have lockers for each person.

The food is good, relatively priced and quite large sized meals. I found the cleaners very friendly and always willing to help when the restaurant was busy. The backpacker social vibe was a little scarce, although Bigfoot is across the street if you want to meet more people and party. I found via via was very chilled and quiet - great for sleeping! Also awesome hammocks around the garden.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaLaRockZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    42
    16
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
36
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Paid $20 for a private ensuite room, was very nice, clean and roomy, cleaned daily if you want. The front cafe is busy but the back is very peaceful. Not a very social hostel but there's Bigfoot opposite for that.

The front desk were useless, often too busy running the cafe than to bother with guests, which was left to the cleaners to sort out. Other than that a good chilled out hostel opposite the party place if ya want it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillio123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

For roughly $20 a night we got a pretty big ensuite room that was quiet and comfortable. It had a very busy bar up front but don't let that out you off, it is an oasis of peace out back. The location is very good, it is opposite Bigfoot if you are looking to volcano board. It is a short walk from the cathedral and main square. The wifi is quite restricted and doesn't reach most of the rooms, but it is good in the communal seating area that has table and hammocks so isn't really an issue.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucindaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

It's great to find a place that isn't exclusively for the guests staying there and allows for tourists to mix with locals. The bar is a proper bar, the pool table always flooded with locals who take the game a little too seriously and the beer is cold.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the prices were reasonable. I didn't try the food but instead focused on the booze (important to keep hydrated in such a sweltering city as Leon) but the dishes I saw leaving the kitchen looked varied and tasty.

Even if there are no rooms available, stop by for a drink at one of my favourite bars in Leon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grubbertastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Really enjoyed our three night stay here, quiet courtyard out back yet a busy bar up front, so you can enjoy your night and then just head to bed. Lots of locals playing on the pool table, so a good place to mix and mingle, and the live band on Friday night was a highlight. Run by some nice people (two women from Europe?), and a great vibe of bar/restaurant upfront and rooms out back. Our room was good, not as hot as it initially seemed like it would be, and the courtyard was peaceful. A large menu selection. The only downside was that, although we had been told we could stay additional nights by letting them know each morning, a few days into our stay, when we went to renew our room in the morning, they said they had booked out the entire hotel for a group trip... we weren't given any advanced notice, so we had to scramble to check-out and find a new place, rather than having been able to set something up the day before. But, other than that, we really liked that we had chosen to stay at Via Via. A nice over-21 years of age place to stay as an alternative to the backpacker hostel Big Foot across the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanEddy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Large room with very comfortable bed
Quiet
Clean
Large bathroom
TV
Well positioned fan
Good location
Excellent value compared to other places in Leon

Food was ok, nothing amazing but decent enough
Windows on door could be screened. Not many mosquitoes but if you're prone to bing bitten screens, net, or somewhere to hang the net, are vital
Restaurant / bar to set up well to interact with others. Tables are small, designed for individuals and small groups so hard to mingle

Room Tip: Different rooms are available depending on rate you want to pay so check a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missykap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rionegro, Colombia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The dorm at the Via Via was clean and quiet.

What really made the Via Via a good place to stay, however, was the quality of the food in the restaurant. I had a delicious pollo a la plancha at a reasonable cost. The service and sanitation are also excellent.

For travelers who are over 30, the Via Via is a great alternative to the Bigfoot across the street, which is targeted more toward the 20-something crowd. But the proximity makes it easy to arrange volcano boarding and other activities.

I would definitely recommend the Via Via for any traveler who is interested in food, culture, or the educational institutions of Leon, which is Nicaragua's most cultured city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R_S_10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Casa Ivana
Hostal Casa Ivana
#7 of 61 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Latina Hostal
Latina Hostal
#8 of 61 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal Las Vacaciones
Hostal Las Vacaciones
#17 of 61 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Sonati Leon
Hostel Sonati Leon
#5 of 61 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Guardabarranco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Via Via Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Via Via Hostel

Property: Via Via Hostel
Address: Del Banco ProCredit 75 Varas al Sur (210), Leon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing