We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and locally-sourced Euro-style cheese”

Pan & Paz - French Bakery
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $7
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Classic French boulangerie and patisserie located in the historic center of León. All products are made fresh every day by our own team of bakers. A fresh and tranquil patio where you can escape from León's heat. Enjoy your coffee and croissant in the morning, a fresh juice and sandwich, quiche or salad for lunch, or indulge in a coffee and pastry to satisfy your sweet tooth. Relaxed atmosphere at night for a light diner or to savor our selection of cheeses, cold cuts and wines.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and locally-sourced Euro-style cheese”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

If you're craving cheese--either creamy goat or aged, look no further. We had the cheese plater in the pleasant colonial courtyard--there's inside seating for rainy days. Since the cheese is local, great prices for take-out portions, too. Our favorite cafe in Leon. In Leon's heat, the shaded, breezy courtyard was a welcoming oasis.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chi_Zu_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    181
    36
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place for coffee and pastry.”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The coffee is good, the pastry is excellent. The service is friendly and the patio seating is pleasant and comfortable. It is a great place to spend an hour in the morning.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank craigmyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Not outstanding”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

After reading the reviews online, I had quite high expectations. Unfortunately, I was not particularly impressed with my sandwich - the camembert baguette. It was ok, but nothing special. The bread was a bit tough for my liking and I was very surprised that on top of homemade bread they used margarine!

Bread and camembert cheese should either have proper butter or none at all in my opinion! It was really quite dry, perhaps a dressing of some kind may have been a good alternative to the margarine and would have livened it up a little. The cake I had afterwards was quite nice, but again, quite average.

I was also quite disappointed with the service. In general, the staff did not come across as particularly friendly. When I enquired what one of the juices was, the lady replied that it was a fruit, without any further information. I had clearly never tried the fruit (and had gathered that it would be a fruit) so I would have appreciated a little more description. I decided to chance it and found that it didn't really taste of anything, it seemed like a strange option for a fruit smoothie with such a bland flavour.

Overall, the food was bland, the staff indifferent and I left unimpressed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colite1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Yum! And open early”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Weirdly not much is open before 8am in central León, and I had to leave for a tour. Was very pleasantly surprised to find a good chocolate croissant and coffee here! Got me up the volcano!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank nutellanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This place is amazing”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

There is not much to say other than this place is great. I could eat everything in the restaurant. Good prices, but even better food. I will eat there every time im in town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank likeeveryoneelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pan & Paz - French Bakery also viewed

Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 

Been to Pan & Paz - French Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing