We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of CocinArte

CocinArte
Ranked #11 of 100 Restaurants in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Description: CocinArte, the city's original vegetarian restaurant,is located in the oldest building of Leon (1620) a few blocks from Central park. The restaurant has a lovely green patio and soft world music is played which makes the restaurant a nice little escape from the buzzing streets of Leon. CocinArte specializes in international vegetarian dishes like falafel, pasta pesto, noodles with a mouthwatering peanut sauce or a flavorful Indian curry or chana masala. But you can also choose for a traditional Nicaraguan dish like Indio Viejo. The House special is "The CocinArte",a sizzling hot plate with sauteed veggie fajitas and vegetables. The menu offers smaller dishes like soups, quesadillas, tacos and salads For the carnivores there is a small selection of chicken dishes. Natural juices & milk shakes (without sugar!) are freshly made at the bar and a fine, strong organic coffee is served. All the food is made to order and ingredients are freshly cut. Packaging and take away is available. Open 12am -10pm, closed on Tuesdays.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

What a gem, fantastic vegetarian food (chopsuey and Morrocan tagine were equally lovely), beautiful atmosphere, excellent friendly service. Wouldn't change a thing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CociNarte, Manager at CocinArte, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for you kind words!
We are happy to hear that both of you enjoyed everything so much!
We ll keep up the good work!
Kind regards,
Kris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for CocinArte
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 154 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spend a couple of hours in this restaurant because it was raining. We had a delicious meal, a good wine, and a fantastic dessert. Staff is very friendly and the atmosphere is 'muy tranquillo'. Perfect!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pimmetje1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CociNarte, Manager at CocinArte, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure having you!
Happy travels in Nicaragua and all the best for your return to The Netherlands
Kind regards,
Kris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Very refreshing vegetarian selection! Definately the healthiest food I've had in Nicaragua, even great lettuce (which is hard to find).
I highly recommend the Ensalada Mil Colores. Not only is it colorful, but a great cross-section of vegetables and fruits.
The lady who runs the place is very enjoyable to chat with and speaks great english!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank DIYFairyTales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CociNarte, Manager at CocinArte, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear FaiyTales,
Thank you so much for your lovely review, appreciating your kind words!
We know it can be hard to find veggie food and we are proud to offer a wide range of healthy plates, like the salad you enjoyed
Thanks again and saludos de CociiNarte
Kris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Charming restaurant in old spanish-colonial home with either view to the street or lovely internal garden-courtyard. Great vegetarian menu - lots of diversity. Fresh delicious food. I had the falafel which was light, fluffy and flavourful. It came with home made pita bread and hummus which was really delicious. Attentive friendly service.

2  Thank Lala2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CociNarte, Manager at CocinArte, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Hola Lala2227 ,

Thank you, for your kind words!
I'm glad to hear you liked the falafel,

Kind regards from Leon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We looked for CosinArte when we first got to León and didn't find it but our last night there we looked them up again and are so happy we found them! The veggie curry was my favorite and the service was fun and personal for a change. We felt right at home and had a relaxed and delicious dinner. Thanks again CocinArte:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CociNarte, Manager at CocinArte, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear Jerry,

Thank you very much for your review!
We are very happy you did find us on your last nigh in beautiful Leon ( I know we are a bit hard to find, working on that)
It was a ’pleasure serving you and I'm very glad to hear you felt at home, that’’s how I like guests to feel

Thanks again for your kind words,
Kind regards from all of us

Kris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CocinArte also viewed

Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 
Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 
Leon, Leon Department
 

Been to CocinArte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing