We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AC makes it ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“AC makes it ok”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Visited this (fairly new) Best Western with a group recently. It's fine, the staff may be inexperienced but they are really trying to be accommodating and helpful. What really makes this place is the air conditioning- I had originally thought of taking the group to Lazybone - a hostel I like - but after spending two nights there (Lazybones) the week before the group arrived I realized that a.c. was essential.

Breakfast is ok - not nearly as impressive as the mothership Best Western in Managua. No pool - but it's a small hotel and they'd have to defy the laws of physics to squeeze one in. But it's smallness is also one of the things I liked.

Really 3 and a half stars, but couldn't figure out how to do that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulTreadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaBW1, Gerente at Best Western Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this review, October 19, 2015
Dear Paul

Thank you very much for taking your time writing this comment your opinion is valuable to us. We Firm breakfast for groups of 10 rooms and a la carte for smaller groups with 4 different breakfasts.

We would love you and your group your revisit, to serve them is our greatest virtue, will always be welcome at the Hotel Las Mercedes Leon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    57
    27
    9
    5
See reviews for
27
47
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We were exhausted from rooms without AC and needed some day time sleep to prepare for an overnight hike we we got a room at the Best Western ($65). The room was ideal and very clean with hot water, king (two twins together) bed, and very cold AC. They let us check in early (10:30am) and check out late (1pm). Everyone we interacted with was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was also really good, they have a little menu and they prepare whatever you want, included in the room! Hotel is located just steps from the central park and church.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JulieUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevilla
Level Contributor
169 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This hotel is brand new, super-clean, and fantastically located a few steps from the cathedral. Our room was extremely small and windowless, but immaculately clean with a good shower. There was plenty of hot water and the in-wall A/C unit worked well, as did the TV and free WiFi. On the downside, the staff, while friendly, were quite inexperienced (several said they had just started that week) and seemed unfamiliar with basic hotel procedures. Breakfast was adequate on the first morning but failed to be prepared on the second. Be aware that this hotel employs some unusual billing practices: We booked in advance on the world-wide Best Western website using a credit card to secure our reservation. Although the cancellation policy was listed as being no-charge for cancellations up until the day of arrival, our credit card was charged (not pre-authorized, but fully charged) 50% of our total stay one week prior to our arrival. We contacted the USA national customer service line who said that this was not standard procedure and they could not explain why the hotel did this (they also sent an advisory to the hotel to only charge us for the remaining 50% upon our arrival). When we arrived, the hotel front desk first tried to claim that we had cancelled our reservation, then tried to make us pay for the full reservation...thankfully, we brought proof from our credit card company of having already been charged 50% and they accepted this after a few tense moments (they then told us that all of their billing is done by a third party in México and they have no control over how the billing is done). Then we noticed one of the front desk staff writing down on a piece of scrap paper our personal details and credit card number "for reference." We took the paper from him and warned them against trying to use our credit card fraudulently (in retrospect, I don't think they were acting nefariously, I think they truly had no idea how credit cards work and of the need to safe guard guests' information). All in all, this hotel is worth considering for its great location, but I would advise against using a credit card with them (I suggest paying in cash and getting a receipt) until they master proper credit card billing procedures and record-keeping.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a window overlooking the small courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TrotamundosBetis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaBW1, Gerente at Best Western Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this review, October 21, 2015
Dear Betis

Thank you very much for your comments, we apologize in advance for what happened at the time of check out, we were actually in the process of training. Now the whole management team reception and perfectly handled our payment system, our staff is highly qualified to perform their bills.

Please check back with us again and erase the bad image that we have on his first visista, show that we have grown thanks to new international standards of guest service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We have stayed in Las Mercedes in Managua many times and decided to try Las Mercedes in Leon on our recent visit to the northwest of Nicaragua.

The property is a half-block from the Cathedral and in the enter of the UNAN university area. A number of restaurants are nearby and the streets are filled with people and lively. The central market area and the main square of the city are about a block away. A couple of interesting galleries are within easy walking distance.

The rooms are quite small but neat and nicely maintained as is the case in the Las Mercedes, Managua property. Our room, on the second floor, had a window that looked into the interior courtyard.

Some may find the rooms unsuitably small but the rates and convenient location more than offset this issue for us. The hotel rates include free Wi-Fi for guests, a flat-panel television in the room and a quite good breakfast with cooked-to-order eggs, toast and the ubiquitous Gallo Pinto.

At 7:00 AM, we leaped to our window thinking that perhaps the end had come. The hotel is next to a fire station that sounds its siren each morning at 7:00. It's loud. Other than this noisy intrusion, our room was quiet.

The property includes a small parking area accessible through a gated entrance on a street around the corner from the hotel entrance. This was handy for us because we were driving our own vehicle but navigating Leon's narrow streets and finding the parking entrance is not for the faint of heart.

The staff was cheerful and helpful including giving us access to the parking area. The staff can communicate in English for the most part.

We found the property to be a good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicaresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights while visiting the area north of Chinandega. We were happy with the price point. This is a city hotel next to the fire station and cathedral - so you won't need an alarm clock! The hotel is very clean and has locked, private parking. We felt very safe in Leon and in the hotel and the front desk was staffed whenever we had a question. A cooked to order breakfast is included starting at 6:30AM - very nice selection of fruit, gallo pinto, eggs, toast, orange juice, coffee, etc. Free internet and a short walk to all the top rated restaurants in Leon. I would return next time we are in Leon.

Room Tip: All rooms are small and probably quite similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VillasdePalermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaBW1, Gerente at Best Western Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this review, October 21, 2015
Dear Villa de Palermo

Thank you very much for taking some time to write this great review of your stay, the entire team of the Hotel is very happy to know that our day-to-day work have recompesas like this, your good comment.
Again thank you very much, and hope your to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Nothing special. For the price, we were expecting more. We went to the beach and needed to shower before meeting family for dinner and there was no hot water! Noise from the reception area carries all the way into rooms. I was woken up by the hotel staff who were talking loudly at the crack of dawn! There was no complimentary breakfast either. The best thing about this hotel is its close proximity to the cathedral.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poki510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location only a few steps away from the main plaza in Leon.
The staff are friendly and the hotel is clean and comfortable with all of the usual amenities you would expect from this hotel chain.
Breakfast is included and is the typical fruit, eggs and rice and beans and of good quality.
This is a good value choice in a top location and you can be guaranteed that what you're getting is somewhere clean and comfortable for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanLou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.1 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.1 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#6 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#9 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Las Mercedes Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Las Mercedes Leon

Property: Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
Address: Metros Norte Catedral 50 | 50 Metros Norte Catedral, Leon, Nicaragua (Formerly BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon)
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Las Mercedes Leon 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Las Mercedes Leon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing