We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When we go to Leon we always go to Barbaro” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbaro - CLOSED

Barbaro
Cuisines: Mediterranean, American, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Phone 505 2315 2901
Nicaragua
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“When we go to Leon we always go to Barbaro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Every now and then we go visit Leon. Great city to dance and a lot safer then Managua. Anyway, if we go we always go to Barbaro. Great ambiance, crowded but not over crowed, the waiter remembers you after 4 months. Food between decent and very good. Only place in Central America I know of having bitterballen on the menu. Delicious Dutch snack in case you wonder...:D

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arnold_Jensema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    39
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance, big menu, decent food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

I've eaten here twice. The first time with four people & it was packed so we sat in an unfortunate spot right next to a cooler and in the waiters' way while they were getting drinks (at least we didn't have to wait for drinks!) The waiter was pretty obviously new so the service was pretty average but he was very nice & we like him a lot. Two of us got a hummus and falafal plate and it was definitely enough for us to have shared- enormous. We tried the meatballs (with bechemel sauce and though I didn't love them, everyone else did.) I spend a lot of time in NYC and though I'll eat anything I have a hard time describing most prepared food as "good."
The second time we went, we had 5 beers, shared a salad (house?, we ordered the cesar but it definitely wasn't cesar) and a personal pizza (vegetarian). The food was really good and the bill was US $16.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a good time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Barbaro is always a great dining experience. It has great food and staff and is a laid back atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jc4816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good, depending on what your after”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Barbaro has good quality food, decent wine list, and is a good place to go for a few drinks with friends or to start a night out. It can get quite noisy, especially on the weekend, so if you want a quite dinner, this might not be the place. But for good times, good food, and good service, its works.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_M_Walters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pretty good dinner option in Leon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We went to Barbaro a bit early (since we were two hours ahead time-zone wise) at about 7pm. It wasn't really bopping yet but it has a good atmosphere, and it's nice that there are so many different rooms, so we could enjoy a quiet dinner while a loud, rowdy group was rooms away.

They were out of the first two items I requested, but the pizza was good. It wasn't as good as Jardin Secreto, but it was good. The service was OK. My husband had steak and liked it.

Overall the atmosphere and the Wifi were the best parts.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cincinnatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbaro also viewed

Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 
Leon, Leon Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing