We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boogie Boarding and Shell Collecting”
Review of Playa Las Penitas

Playa Las Penitas
Ranked #4 of 43 things to do in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Boogie Boarding and Shell Collecting”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Las Penitas has great surf for Boogie Boarding at high and low tide. High tide brings out the surfers to ply the breaks by the rock outcropping. The beaches are sandy with seashells strewn about them for the beachcomber. If it is no Holy Week, then the beach is usually very sparsely populated, so wait until another beautiful sunset before you see any fellow travellers.

The main road is paved and well maintained, as is the road from Leon.

There are lots of great restaurants along the beach. I have only eaten at the Hotel Suyapa and Hotel Barca de Oro... both had excellent food and both took credit cards.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JacksonK41860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    175
    56
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“end of roads (N & S) to Las Penitas & Poneloya beaches”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Go south to end of the road, near to hotel 'Barco del Oro'. You can swim in the relatively clean scenic lagoon (estero) here. Walk south down the lagoon beach about 150 yards to the 'Juan Venado Reserve' visitor center building, they give info, maps and displays; they offer 3,5 & 6 hour boat tours in the reserve for about $50, $70 and $110 US respectively. I didn't have time to do boat tour, but I think it would be good tour to do.
I was eating at Barco del Oro hotel restaurant (didn't sleep there), and when I asked for their WiFi password they would not give it to me because I was not a hotel guest!!! Also the fish dinner upset my stomach (only time in Nicaragua).
There are other restaurants and small hotels very near here.
Also for fewer foreigners, go north paralleling shore of Poneloya beach to the paved road's end near the boat ramp, where a few restaurants scenically overlook another lagoon (estero), have a beer or meal here. Or swim lagoon. Watch the tidal currents.
Nice areas to relax.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“relax at the beach”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you're staying the Leon area it's well worth the bus ride to the beach town of Las Penitas. Sit at one of the many beach bars along the main road and enjoy a nice cold Tona and some delicious whole fried fish. a perfect way to unwind after a few days of seeing the sites around Leon.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisFragapane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great scenery at Las Penitas”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had an awesome time at the beach. Took the cheap way so it took a while to get there, but don't regret it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgrl-n-boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omoa, Honduras
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It is a must to see the Pacific if you are visiting Leon”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great beaches with great tides to watch. Lots of small restaurants serving local food, bars and hang-out places. Only 20 km from Leon a must .

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RolisPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Las Penitas also viewed

Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 

Been to Playa Las Penitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing