We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find the back courtyard”
Review of El Mediterraneo

El Mediterraneo
Ranked #66 of 99 Restaurants in Leon
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Listed in Lonely Planet and Moon guides.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Find the back courtyard”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Way in the back of this restaurant (past the colonial-style closed in courtyard) is an open courtyard which it seems was taken over from the restaurant that formerly operated next door. It is a lovely spot with tables under the trees. The beer is a good price and served with a frosted mug (bonus!). My chicken was undercooked on the inside, but the waiter promptly and cheerfully took it back, and it was returned properly cooked.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    38
    34
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, not so nice desserts”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We looked for a nice place to enjoy the last evening in Leon, and found this place. I instantly liked the interior, and different rooms, and especially the patio, where we finally sat down. The only negative point here, is, that it was rather dark.
we ordered drinks, which were fine, and also two desserts: a chocolate mousse, which was bad already (expired cream or so) and a chocolate mousse cake with strawberry. Latter tasted like made of a instand cake mix, and the strawberry cream also tasted artificial. I hope other dishes taste better!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
896 reviews
479 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,002 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with not so nice food!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was a nice, large restaurant with a pleasant atmosphere, but the food was the worst we have ever experienced in Nicaragua! Since Tripadvisor had such high marks for this restaurant I would guess the old cook was not around this particular night.

When we first arrived we walked around looking for a suitable table because there were quite a few smokers. Then we were led to the back patio where there were many spacious tables. However in about five minutes we decided to change the table because the music was so loud like in a disco. Apparently it was the bar section for younger people.

Then we found a table that was in a nice corner. The only thing was that it was very dark that we could hardly see the menus. Luckily one of us had a mobile phone with a bright light, which helped us read the menu. The restaurant could have easily placed a candle on the table to make it easier for the clients. It would have also added to the ambiance.

The shock came when we got the food. We ordered a Mediterranean appetizer and expected something exotic. It was only a large plate of deep fried items that were absolutely tasteless. Then came even more shock when we got a fish dish with deep fired spinach. Spicy chicken with coconut milk was unrecognizable and was tasteless. Other two dishes were equally terrible. Our dinner was completely ruined. We left feeling hungry.

We will never pass this restaurant ever again when in Leon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food doesn't meet the expectations”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

What we got after our order wasn't how it was described in the menu. Food was very greasy. The antipasti came as a pasta salad with some greasy vagetables around. Pizza was eatable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndreasVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, drink, ambience”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This restaurant has 6 different environments/ rooms to choose from, depending on your mood and musical tastes. All areas are extremely attractive. The menu is extensive, and I enjoyed my dinner, as well as the margarita which was *not* watered down as in some restaurants. The service was very good. Prices are higher than in some other eateries in Leon, but well worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara_Larcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mediterraneo also viewed

Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 
Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 
Leon Department, Nicaragua
 

Been to El Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing