We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice setting, terrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of El Mediterraneo

El Mediterraneo
Ranked #65 of 95 Restaurants in Leon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Listed in Lonely Planet and Moon guides.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice setting, terrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

terrible pizza, but we ate it because we were hungry.....shrimp "salad" so gross we couldn't eat it. The usual interminably slow service. At least the setting is nice. Go for drinks and skip the food. Can't understand why this place is so highly rated.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkFromInwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    37
    32
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great garden in the back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

If you're in Leon this is a real nice place to visit. Make sure however to dont 'settle' for a table in the first part of the restaurant, but ask for the garden. It's really pretty.
The food was relatively mediocre (let's just say my ravioli wasn't filled pasta, but basically loose lasagne 'leaves' with a sauce on top), but the setting pretty much makes up for that.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LLK1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Food and service were nice. Bakery is good. Try the fresh fruit juice concoctions -- they're great! Sit in the open courtyard with its plants and fountains.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bracksrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Echoing previous reviews, the ambiance is great and service good but unfortunately the food is really a let down. Our main dishes (pizza and shrimp pasta) came out cold and were sent back to be reheated. The pasta came back hot but the shrimp on top were still cold. Overall pretty basic unimaginative food-the tapas starter was served with Ritz crackers (slightly stale).
The restaurant was full on our visit, and other diners seemed to be enjoying their meals-maybe we could have ordered better or asked for recommendations from the waiter.
I'd definitely go back for a drink (decent house red wine in carafes) and to enjoy the atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Perfect for date night. The menu is pricier than most Nica options, but MUCH higher end and absolutely delicious. We also had superb service!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank emilymnaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mediterraneo also viewed

Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 
Leon Department, Nicaragua
Leon, Leon Department
 
Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 

Been to El Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing