We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Leon
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Shore excursion from Corinto to Leon City

On Feb 14 we experienced an excellent shore excursion from our cruise ship in Corinto, to Leon... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
oshea333
,
Lethbridge, Canada
We met Roger and Russell and our bus driver in Corinto for a day tour that was excellent.

Flexible and informative guides that really wanted to make our experience in Nicaragua a great... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
go2sunsets
,
Concord, California
Read all 247 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Leon
from $41.03
More Info
from $61.54
More Info
from $135.00
More Info
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
217
18
6
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
217
18
6
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great tour shore excursion walking tour art gallery historical tour delicious lunch holland america central market school supplies ship cesar nicaragua van cathedral ortiz itinerary highlights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 247 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2019 via mobile

We visited Nicaragua while on a panama cruise. Julio was recommended to us. He picked us up at our ship and spent the day with us. We had an amazing tour of the Leon area of Nicaragua. We had a very thorough and informative tour. We saw many sites and had an amazing traditional lunch. Julio was so kind and friendly and made us feel very welcome in his country. We would definitely recommend Julio tours for anyone traveling to Nicaragua.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank janicemartinkelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio P, Gerente at Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2019

Hi friends.
Thanks so much for your review on tridavisor,
We like so much spend the day with you all.
Corinto Shore always great opportunity to meet new people in our life and made new friends.
I am sure your review will help other people to take explore tours with us.
really good.
Thank a lot.
Julio C. Pineda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2019

This was our first trip in Nacaragua. We had booked the Leon City Colonial Historical Tour with Cesar who was very helpful, as we were 22 people in our group. Freddy was our guide and Vincent was our driver. First, we stopped to take pictures of the San Cristobal volcano, still active. When we arrived in Leon, we visited the beautiful Ortiz Gurdian Art Gallery, before doing a walking tour in the center of Leon. We visited the central park and the cathedral where Julio himself gave us a tour and we went to the colourful market. Then, we had a delicious lunch at Via Via restaurant. After lunch, we went through the Sutiava neighborhood before going back to Corinto. The driving distance is 75 min. both ways and, during that time, Freddy gave us a lot of information about Nicaragua. He is very knowledgeable and professional. This was a great tour and we would strongly recommend Julio Tours Nicaragua.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Phidi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio P, Director de Recepción at Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2019

Hello.
Thanks so much for your review.
that is so nice.
we also enjoy our day with you all.
thanks all of you for be so nice and polite with us in your visit.
we are working making possible other destination that for sure you also will enjoy in the future.

all the best.
Cesar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2019 via mobile

Cruisers, if you want an outstanding shore excursion, contact Julio Tours in advance if your ship is stopping in Corinto, Nicaragua. The agency gets an A+ rating from me. Julio responded immediately to my inquiry, arranged a day tour to Leon, and provided all the information I needed to connect at the port. Upon arrival, we were met by Cesar, his charming son, and were transported to Leon in a spotless van. Julio Tours can handle all sizes of groups. On the day we went, it picked up 24 people from our cruise in a separate bus. The operation at the port, and upon arrival in Leon was super- organized. In Leon, we toured the central market, went to the Guardian Art Museum with its Warhol “Ten Marilyns” and 4 Basquiats!!! and much more, toured the cathedral, enjoyed lunch at a local, tourist-free restaurant, and sauntered around the plaza for a half an hour. The lunch was delicious and there was free wi-fi. Julio himself greeted us at lunch like we were old friends and wanted to make sure we were having a good time. Talk about going the extra mile! Our day with Cesar was wonderful. We learned so much about Nicaragua in a short time. His driving was careful, and his concern about getting us back to the port on time appreciated. Cesar treated us like we were visiting friends rather than cruise ship tourists. Truly an outstanding experience. Thank you, Cesar and Julio Tours!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 648prudences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio P, Director de Recepción at Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2019

Hello there.
Thanks so much for your wounderfull review.
It was so nice met you all and spend the day with you in Leon city.
we are sure your posting is going to help us to be in touch with others visitor.
yes we try our visitor as friends not as turism person.

all the best for you.

Cesar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019

Cesar at Julio Tours was terrific. From the start, they contacted me back almost instantly when I reached out, we discussed a half day itinerary in Nicaragua and worked out a price.
Easily reachable by WhatsApp and email, we were in constant contact until the day of our arrival in late December.
We were a group of four, my husband and I, my 10-year-old daughter and 86-year-old mother-in-law. Cesar And Russell were absolutely perfect. The van was spacious and comfortable and had great AC. We went to the mud bubbles, and walked through the colonial city of Leon and had lunch at a place nearby. Lots of begging in this part of the world so be warned. There’s also a scary siren at noon which scared the heck out of us, being that we weren’t far from volcanoes. LOL We laughed when we found out it was just “The lunch bell”. Both our Driver and guide were professional and friendly and we really had a great day and tour!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Kittieprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio P, Director de Recepción at Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2019

Hello there.
Thanks so much for write your review on tripadviser.
we are adsolutely sure it come to help us.
other visitor will be reading your posting and contact to take our services as tours guide and transportation.
We also enjoy meeting and spend good time good talking.
All the best for you.
Julio Tours team is glad to have memorable visitor as you in our country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2018

This was our first trip to Nicaragua and we were pleasantly surprised. We stopped first at a plantain plantation and met the family that runs it as part of a cooperative. Then we met the women owners of the cooperative. Very inspiring. We visited a school to which we brought gifts for the children and ended out tour with a great lunch in Leon. The story of Julio tours origins is quite amazing. Be sure to ask Cesar (julio's son and our great driver) or Denis, our wonderful tour guide.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank 437laraineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio P, Gerente at Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2018

Dear guest thank very much.
It is nice your firsth visit Nicaragua you enjoy it.
your review is coming to help us.
The people who are running with banana Plantation farm, tyes that people are very inspiring people.
Cesar and Dennis are so happy for your mention them in your descrition.
That is nice.
Thanks so much.
have a great wounderfull day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews