We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly, warm and reliable”

Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours
Ranked #4 of 25 Tours in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our main Tour are: families vacations trips, shore escurcion Corinto and San Juan del Sur. Sandboarding Cerro Negro and Telica volcano hike everydays
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly, warm and reliable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Julio and his team are exceedingly friendly and reliable. We primarily depended on Julio Tours for transportation to/from Managua during our 3-month stay with Leon, and for some local tours. Across all of our trips/tours, we felt super safe and well taken care of. And last but not least, the team at Julio Tours (particularly Julio and Cesar) were very warm, and an important part of our experience in Nicaragua.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jasnaani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio P, Owner at Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi there, good morning, how are you?
O' right, very nice thank for your review, I am so happy with your letter.

It was a pleaser to spend time with you, my son Cesar say hello and for sure he is trying to impruve his services because in definitly as your review going to bring more clients for
JULIO TOURS.
Thank very much, take care.

Julio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    15
    3
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely take the revolution tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We took the revolution tour with Julio, and it was fascinating to understand Leon from the context of a person who lived through all the conflicts and revolutions. He speaks easily understandable English and is a nice guy to boot. His son took us on the volcano boarding tour, and while he was also very nice, he did not speak nearly as fluent English as his father (and our Spanish isn't great). So I'd say--make clear your English language needs, definitely take the revolution tour, and enjoy!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank H A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio P, Manager at Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hello guys, hope everything is fine with you.
I am replaying to thankull you for your review at tripadvisor, your email made me more compromais to impruve our services everydays.
It was really pleaser to met you guys and get time together to talk about Nicaragua's revolution.
Thank very much, take care.
Julio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Julio Tours means: good service and reliable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

In June 2012 we have visited Nicaragua. Julio's son picked us up at Managua Airport and drove us to our hotel in Las Penistas. It was a very nice trip. A few days later we met Julio in Leon and we booked a day tour from Leon to Granada with sightseeing in Managua, San Catarina and the beautiful lake Apoyo. Julio is a very friendly man, he is always in a good mood. He is proud to talk about his country and gives a lot of information. When we go back to Nicaragua, we surely again will make our bookings with Julio Tours.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth-Antoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio P, Manager at Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hello good morning.
How nice and refreshing is read you review.
I really apresiate your nice recomendation hope by this way I can get more clients and I will be ready to take then to any place but in a good car.

Be good, take care.

Julio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Ont
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great guy, great team!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We booked four days of tours in the Granada and Leon regions, with Julio Tours. No complaints whatsoever: Julio Pineda and his team do a great job, and we had a marvellous time learning about and exploring Nicaragua and its geography, culture and history. Oh: and sliding down a volcano, too!

Specifics: Logistics-wise, everything went off without a hitch, from bus station/airport/hotel transfers, to the switching off between tour guides as we moved from Granada to Leon hotels, to actual tours, to activities. Very efficient. Guides showed up on time, and were very flexible when it came to us wanting to amend plans etc.

When you first contact Julio, indicate what kinds of things interest you and he'll customize an itinerary for you (some ideas are on his website). We ended up boding down the Cerro Negro volcano, hiking the Mombacho Volcano, touring the lakefront of Granada on rental bikes, kayaking at Juan Venado wildlife refuge, hitting some markets and trying some delis local foods.

Alexander (our Granada guide) was funny and extremely good natured. He was a hoot to hang out with and very amenable and easy-going, and actively advocating for us as needed with other service providers since my husband's Spanish isn't great and I don't speak it at all.

Oscar (our Leon guide) was a young college student, and very serious but also very attentive and informative. It was nice to get some insight about Nicaraguan youth culture from an avid skateboarder and music fan.

For our final day, Julio himself provided us with a historic tour of Leon, explaining its significance to Sandinista history, and the civil war that tore this country apart. Julio is a very informed, prepared tour guide/lecturer. He is a former Sandinista himself and I think he'd make a great history or politics teacher!

Julio also indulged our admittedly silly but genuine desire to buy live iguanas sold at the Leon market (as food) and release them in the woods. He backtracked us through the city to the market (even though the tour was officially over by then), took us to a pharmacy to buy sterile scissors to cut them free (they are bound with stitches through their hands), helped bargain with the iguana dealer and then took us to the woods to release them. They are wild-caught anyway, so take to freedom well! Julio was game, and seemed to have a good time, too! (Ask him to add this to YOUR Leon trip--we were joking that he should add it to his official tour offerings, LOL!)

All told, all I can say is, if you are trying to decide between tour providers in Granada or Leon, go with Julio Tours!!!

It means a lot to support a truly locally-owned business with local staff, and you're getting a great tour experience with Julio Pineda and team! I don't see that any expat-owned agency could ever do as good a job. Bravo, JULIO TOURS!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yuki_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio P, Manager at Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Hi good morning family.
how long did you take to write this big drescrition review.
So as two pag of your tour in nicaragua, Thank a lot it was nice to know we JULIO TOURS'
staff did something good for you.
As you understand Nicaragua is really new in turis services but we are working tring to provide our visiting guess all the best as is possible.
Yes, rescue the Iguanas of be kill and cook had been one of my best moment in turism.
Let me invite more turist people to do that.
All my team and Iguanas say hello for you.
All the best for you. thank.
Julio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable and professional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

We had Julio book a day for us in Granada to tour with an associate of his and it was amazing, saw everything we wanted to in Granada in one day. Then Julio gave us a tour to Leon, and then in Leon. The whole experience was great and I would recommend him.

Helpful?
Thank Jalee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio P, Manager at Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Hello guys, Thank very much for take your time & write this polite review. I also learned from you.
it was really nice to meet you and show ypu guys part of my cutie contry.
Hope some days you cameback and we can continuo talking about this great life.
please tell all the canadian that nicaragua is waiting for them.
Be good everyone there.

Julio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours also viewed

 
Leon, Leon Department
 

Been to Julio Tours Nicaragua - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing