We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK overall, but there are nicer places for the same price; mind the bed bugs”
Review of Hostel Sonati Leon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Sonati Leon
Ranked #8 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The hostal itself was on the whole OK. We stayed in the dorm US$6 each), as they were otherwise full. The dorm was a bit smelly (not thee fault of the hostal, more the clients!), but the bathroom wasn't very nice. The communal area was OK, but somehow did not match up to the Tortugua hostal.

Our biggest issue was the bed bugs. I know bed bugs can happen to any hostal, but I think that their response wasn't great. The day before we got there, a girl told the staff she thought she had bed bugs, but the staff looked at her bites and said "no, they don;t look like bed bug bites". The night we were there, she got savaged by them, and we saw at least 2 crawl across her bed in the daylight. Another girl in another bed killed one more in her bed. I later found 2 more in my bag (although I didn't get bitten). The sad thing is that if the hostal had actuall checked the girls' bed when she told them about being bitten, they could have done something about it, as the place was clearly crawling with them.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PLPKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SONATI, SONATI Director at Hostel Sonati Leon, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Hi, this is Nony, SONATI's director.
We thank our guest for the review, it is VERY important for us to learn from our mistakes.
Our staff did a mistake while not responding quick enough to the complain, we never had bed bugs before and the staff didn't believe we could had them at that moment.
After realizing that indeed we had bed bugs, we closed the place for few days, fumigating every corner few times with experts, to ensure none could survive. We didn't charge the accommodation from these affected guests and cleaned all their luggage at hot steams (killing these bugs), all costs paid by SONATI.
It is impossible to control the arrival of bed bugs, since they travel in the luggage of different travelers from one hostel to another. Though it may not be our fault, of course it is our responsibility to eliminate them and ensure safe and clean stay at our hostel to all our guests.
Unfortunately sometimes we do mistakes, but we always try to do all we can to be responsible for our mistakes and of course for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 177 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

Hostel Sonati is without a doubt one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. It is close to the centre of Leon, is kept in perfect condition by a team of friendly and helpful staff, the beds are comfortable and the rooms are spacious, the kitchen is well-equipped and the central courtyard is perfect for unwinding. The hostel also offers a wide variety of hikes as well as volcano boarding and all of the above is offered at very reasonable prices. The icing on the cake is the fact that the profit generated by the hostel goes into community outreach programmes, focusing on increasing environmental awareness amongst both adults and children. There is nothing I can think of that would improve the service Hostel Sonati provides and I can't recommend this hostel enough!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJN22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Sonati has a very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff which is always willing to answer questions about Leon and Nicaragua in general. They are all very environmentally conscious and are doing great work in Leon and nearby towns to educate the children about their environment. I have met wonderful people there from all over the world.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phertzler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This central-located place is in a very safe neighborhood.
It has everything and more for backpackers to feel at home.
--Free wifi
--a comunity kitchen
--very, very friendly staff
--a roof to enjoy a great view over leon
and most of all very friendly people staying here.
have been here a couple of times and will always come back whenever.
The prices are more than affordable the rooms as well, since you will only actually be in the room when you are sleeping.
The location lets you go to central parks, to the bar part of the city, even the famous white church is in walking distance ---- Great!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reiseampelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I love Sonati!!! Having visited, stayed at and heard about just about all the hostals in leon 9and there are many), Sonati is by far my favorite! The staff is very friendly and attentive. they also do tours that everyone I have talked with have been very happy about. I like it because it has a calm and friendly and clean atmosphere, good people, nice kitchen, great patio, and the beds are of great quality! They serve coffee for free every morning and thats a great plus too! I have suggested sonati to all my traveling friends in Nicaragua and they all love it too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I got to the SONATI alone, tired, confused and sick, and was warmly welcomed by the receptionist, later also by the place owner. It is a small, cozy, well-equipped place, and most important in the noisy city of Leon: quiet and REALLY tranquillo. I fell in love with the place within five minutes. my plan of staying one night and crossing to Honduras turned to be a month's volunteering in the place, till last x-mas.
SONATI hostel's income is financing the activity of an environmental organization (SONATI stands for SOciedad y NATuraleza Internacional, Spanish for int'l society and nature) that works on various programs of environmental education, recycling, nature conservation and more, everything is given free to the people of Leon.

whether you're a backpacker on a low budget, elderly traveler or a couple on a honeymoon, SONATI is the best pick in Leon's hostels scene.

Room Tip: the 4-person dorms are really lovely, and are facing the charming inner garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guyasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The rooms are basic, but clean and cheap. We slept in a private room with a shared bathroom (15$) There is a good kitchen, WIFI, computers and a nice communal area. The staff is very helpful and friendly, but sometimes a bit confused. The tours are good and not to expensive and the guides mostly locals receive 50%of what you pay. Sonati is a nonprofit organisation so the money goes into free environment education of local kids.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triplife_de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.1 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lazybones Hostal
Lazybones Hostal
#7 of 62 in Leon
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
0.2 mi away
Poco a Poco Hostel
Poco a Poco Hostel
#1 of 62 in Leon
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Sonati Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Sonati Leon

Address: From NE Corner of Cathedral, 3 Blocks Northward and 1/2 Block Westward, Leon 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Price Range: $24 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SONATI is an environmental education organization working to increase knowledge, love and care toward the environment. All profits from our hostel and tours finance our environmental activities. SONATI Mission: The mission of SONATI is to encourage environmental stewardship and preservation, and to promote responsible environmental projects through education programs, community outreach and self-sustaining resources. SONATI Vision:* To increase knowledge, love and care toward the environment.* To empower community members with the tools and knowledge to take action in their communities and become a voice for environmental change.* To become a resource for leadership development for environmental change.* To create programs in different sites, with sites cooperating with one another in an international arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Sonati Leon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Sonati Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing