We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service”
Review of Hostal Casa Ivana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Casa Ivana
Ranked #5 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We did not manage to get the first place we were looking for but this place had been recommended.
the owner was super helpful for us .
He arranged for our daughter to go volcano boarding and showed us a place in Leon that we were interested in.
His prices were super reasonable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zapparol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 179 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed here for over 5 months, because I had my internship in León. The hotel is located just 2 blocks away from the central park, which makes it the perfect spot to stay. Although right in the center of León, Casa Ivana misses most of the chaos going on in the city. Lovely place if you look for a good quality, relaxed hotel. The family who owns it (a Dutch-Nica couple) is very friendly and always willing to help when this is needed. The offer free coffee and every rooms has its own bathroom with shower and toilet. I had a great stay here. I came here looking for a hotel which doesn't play loud music, and I found it. Thank you for the great experience Pim and Johanna! :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlandheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Casa Ivana for a week. Our room was great: bright and spotlessly clean. The hotel is quiet and secure, with great chill-out areas - and the location couldn't be better. We are a mature couple, traveling on a budget, and we found it to be excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spacevoyager100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I had the chance to stay at Casa Ivana last weekend during a quick weekend getaway from Managua. The hostel was located right in the center of everything - a quick walk to the Cathedral, and close to the terminal to head to the beach. Pim, the owner, was super helpful in deciding where to explore and the easiest way to do it. They have a tour company attached to the hostel if you're interested in organized tours. Free water and coffee are bonuses!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teryll H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Casa Ivana is a very clean and a nice place. The beds are good, you have your own bathroom and their is a shared(clean) kitchen. There is a garden where you can read your book quietly in the hammock or have breakfast (or free coffee). It is next to the centre of leon, so everything is in a walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marloes v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

pim and johanna, the new owner of this hostel are doing a great job restoring it from the past management. rooms are really clean, spacious, lighten and, slowly they r restoring each of them in a very colonial style.
the hostel is located really close to the main square of leon and the cathedral and the cool night life of the city although it keeps the athmosphere of an old colonial house with its charm and relaxing and peacefully air.
it has 9 rooms, some double beds, some familiar and a single bed one.
free wi fi in the whole area, good showers, clean sheets and towels, the chance to use the kitchen with all the facilities annex (fridge, pots for cooking and so on).
small and pretty garden with some hammocks, chairs and deckchair.
perfect price/quality balance and very recomended it.
born2travel.it

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a hard time finding a hostel in Leon and ended up at Casa Ivana which turned out to be a great place to stay. We really enjoyed the clean room, the very well equipped kitchen as well as the nice patio - the perfect place to hang out after visiting the Cerro Negro (tours can be booked at the hostel). Also worth mentioning is the supercute and supercrazy cat :-)

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Honigmelonenmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.3 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.2 mi away
Poco a Poco Hostel
Poco a Poco Hostel
#1 of 62 in Leon
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lazybones Hostal
Lazybones Hostal
#7 of 62 in Leon
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
0.5 mi away
Hostel El Albergue
Hostel El Albergue
#9 of 62 in Leon
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Ivana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Ivana

Address: La renta, 75 mtr ariba. of Costado sur del Teatro Municipal, Leon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Price Range: $12 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Casa Ivana 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Casa Ivana is a friendly and welcoming family-owned hostel located in the heart of Leon's historic district, just a short walk from several attractions. At Casa Ivana, we offer our guests a number of services and facilities, including volcano boarding tours for only $30 per person, private bathrooms in every room, a beautiful patio area, book exchange, kitchen. free wifi, tourism information, and 24-hour security. Please see ourwebsite for more information about volcano boarding, our facilities, or any other questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Casa Ivana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing