We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Run but needs better staff”
Review of Bigfoot Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bigfoot Hostel
Ranked #6 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Well Run but needs better staff”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

You can tell these guys have been around for a while. everything is set up to give you a great experience. The rooms and common areas are great plus there is lots of showers and the party doesnt go too late.
Food is just ok but there is a lot of nice places to eat around that area.
The staff behind the bar were pretty terrible it wasnt that they wernt friendly its just i think they didnt really want to do any work and i think they just wanted to party. They seems stoned a lot. Expect a bit of a wait for your beer. Also they organised a bus for us to Ometepe which they assured us it was going there then we ended up at San Juan.. wasnt the worst mistake but ended up being fun for us anyway.
Best place to go volcano boarding with. And make sure you do the lava shot challenge!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonno_Brinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    182
    75
    37
    50
See reviews for
9
112
159
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

awesome experience. Brian, our guide made it a day we all won't forget any time soon. by far the best volcano boarding that exisits!! i have done this a few times with a couple different companies and there is no comparison. super fun and the hike is awesome too

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeauMacksoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in big foot after 2 solid days of travel through from Honduras & opted to splash on a (pretty expensive) private room to get some much needed rest... really hard to do that though, as this room didn't have air con & was super steamy, plus was right beside the TV/hammock social area where people sat out drinking til dawn! Im normally up for a party but that late it should be kept in the great wee bar area. That aside, I enjoyed my time at big foot- the volcano boarding trip was ace, with a great group, guide & drinks afterwards. The social scene is great too, easy to make friends as a single traveller! They also had some super cute pet kittens when I was there, though they tended to sleep in the dorm rooms so a warning if you are allergic!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank suzalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

It is more than a really good Hostel, Bigfoot offers many cool things.. I went with them at the Sandboarding extreme sport and it was Awesome! :D.. They got all the necessary equipment and the right transportation and the perfect price! :).. Its a great choice for all tourists.. Recommended! visit Leon!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Guadalupe H. P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Very good choice, good vibes and definitely a place to meet fellow travellers.
the beach house is absolutely amazing and definitely a huge plus !

staff, especially the late shift during my stay, was kind of uninterested and less than motivated to answer questions or help out. day shift was great.

no towels provided, not even for rent

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemartini77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had an amazing time at Big Foot Hostel. We LOVED the good, strong, delicious mojitos and the pizza was incredible. Super fun with nice staff, especially Ryan the Costa Rican guide who made our volcano boarding experience amazing. Good clean rooms, a little stuffy and the shower leaked a lot but come on now, this is a hostel, not a 5 star hotel, things aren't perfect. We had fun, had great food and drinks, with a nice staff, good vibe, what more can you ask for. Just go, its fun!

One note to the owners however, is that in the shuttle on the way to the beach, were were in a bad accident due to the driver being very obviously drunk (passed out face down minutes later). Thankfully we were all left with cuts and bruises only but it was a close call, and all 25 people onboard were very upset and scared. However it was very poorly handled since not one of the owners that were walking around or the staff even apologized, offered anyone a free drink or even spoke of the incident. Not only could people have died but their whole awesome operation could have been shut down because of their poor business practice. Big Foot, please be more careful you are awesome and we want to everyone to be safe and enjoy

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balancedbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

A group of us stayed in the dorms here for a couple of nights. They are very dark due to no windows which is good for sleeping in in the mornings, but they were close to the bar which made it hard to sleep as the music was loud. We were also missing a panel on our door so the noise was even worse. The kitchen is huge which was awesome, and lots of bathrooms. The hostel has almost 100 beds, so it is busy. We just felt the atmosphere was a little factory like. Everything is there on paper, but it didnt feel friendly like other smaller hostels. If you want to party its the place to be and it is a fun hostel to be in on a good street in leon, and the kitchen is a bonus. Leon is hot, so if you can afford the extra dollar, get a dorm with AC, as noise coupled with heat means you really dont sleep.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Justiney88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.2 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lazybones Hostal
Lazybones Hostal
#4 of 63 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Poco a Poco Hostel
Poco a Poco Hostel
#1 of 63 in Leon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Latina Hostal
Latina Hostal
#7 of 63 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mariposa
Hotel Mariposa
#2 of 34 in Leon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bigfoot Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bigfoot Hostel

Property: Bigfoot Hostel
Address: Del Banco Procredit 1/2 Cuadra Sur, Leon 21000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hostel,a complete backpacking experience. Local and traveling volunteers. Staff are thoroughly trained and dedicated to making this your home away from home while visiting beautiful colonial leon! Guest kitchen is fully equipped. Billiard table,, variety of games and multiple routers for wi-fi access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing