We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do in Nicaragua”
Review of Bigfoot Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bigfoot Hostel
Ranked #3 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Must do in Nicaragua”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Big Foot is an institution, almost every backpackers you meet in Central will tell you to head there and go Volcano boarding.

We walked in without a reservation and got a great deal on our room and volcano boarding and some drinks thrown in. They were renovating when we were there but the staff bent over backwards to cater to us and check we were ok.

Sure it is a party hostel but as our room was at the back of the hostel so we were not disturbed by noise and the Staff also organised transport to a great salsa club and other activities which meant music didn't go on past midnight at the hostel.

The Staff were very friendly and knowledgable which made it easy to plan our onwards journey.

Volcano boarding with Big Foot was an absolute blast, we had a fun group and guide that took many great shots of us. We had so much fun we went the next day as well.

Had a fun stay here and we met some great people.

Room Tip: Private rooms at the back of the hostel are in a great spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoundtheworldfromQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hi Lauren
Thank you so much for your review and for following the other Central America travelers recommendation. Im sorry for any inconvenience that the construction may have caused however we have finished and you should come back to check it out. We still offering the free transport to the great salsa night and now we also offer transportation to almost anywhere in Central America and if we cannot we can recommend or organize it for you.
Thank you once again for you review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    185
    76
    39
    50
See reviews for
11
113
163
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Top place to stay for the ultimate adrenalin rush, volcano boarding. Had a fantastic guide in Carlos, enjoyed every minute of it and was an added bonus that Carlos takes plenty of quality pics for you so you don't have to worry about bringing your camera with you. Nice friendly place to stay, had a lot of fun with the pool comps going on. Overall cool place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russking7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hi Russk
Thank you so much for your review and for mention Carlos, he is definitely a great guide. Dont forget the pictures are free on our facebook page
Thank you once again for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosenheim, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

On our second visit to Leon, we decided to stay at Big Foot Hostel since everyone was raving about their volcano boarding and the free mojitos afterwards and the excellent service. The front desk staff informed us straight away about their renovations going on and reduced the price of the private room significantly, so we actually ended up paying less for the volcano boarding than the other companies who were offering the same service and it included the private room and 4 mojitos!
The rooms were clean and the toilets seemed to be cleaned after each time someone used them.
We recommended this place to 2 other couples we were traveling with and they all loved it!
Make sure you get the chicken panini from the volcano cafe next door - it's absolutely delicious!
Enjoy boarding and bring a bandana to cover your mouth :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alena1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hi Alena
Thank you so much for your review and for the tip about the bandana. When you were here we were going through renovation and Im glad you still liked however now you have to come back to see all the changes we've made. About the panini I agree with you hands down its the best panini.
Also thank you so much for recommending us to your friends.
Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed in Bigfoot for 2 nights , mainly stayed for Volcano Boarding, read some good review on the internet but the service of the frontdesk is horrible, the guy who wears the cap and long hair he's super unfriendly and they seem afraid that u won't pay, eagerly ask u to pay. Friend of my wanted to change a bed,they had vacancy but they refused to do that. If this is not the only hostel which can do Volcano Boarding I wouldn't stay here. Bigfoot's service SUCKS!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vn501154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hi VN
Thank you so much for your review and I m really sorry that you had a bad experience with us. I have spoken to Beto our manager to make sure this wont happened again. We do ask for the guests to pay early because a lot of travelers goes away in the morning and come back after 11 am the check out time. So for that reason we try to make sure you that the guests are either staying or leaving so we can prepare the bed for another coming guest. Most of the travelers don't come to pay on time which makes it difficult for us to charge someone for three or four night when they think they have only being there for two days. I hope you do understand that this is the most common procedure in hospitality. About your friend changing beds, it depends on our availability and reservation. Sometimes we do have reservation for a particular room or bed however I do apologize for that too.
Thank you once again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The staff is super friendly and accommodating. Rooms are big and clean and there are lots of showers and bathrooms so you never have to wait. Try the mojitos they are amazing! You stay for free your first night if you go volcano boarding and it's awesome..try and get Carlos as a guide, he's the best!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjarv23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hostel was under construction while i was travelling but the staff did everything they could to make my stay as enjoyable as possible. Lucky for all of you going soon as you can get newly renovated accommodations.

I would highly recommend the volcano boarding as well.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Blake H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

my stay in bigfoot hostel was great.
What i liked most was the outgoingness and events linked with bigfoot in the evenings if its the bingo night in via via or rounding up everyone in a truck for salsa night or baseball match or just wipping out a bottle of tona and playing flipcup.
Thats what made my expirience ten times better.
Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yotamitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.2 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 15 in Leon
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lazybones Hostal
Lazybones Hostal
#7 of 60 in Leon
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Poco a Poco Hostel
Poco a Poco Hostel
#1 of 60 in Leon
82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bigfoot Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bigfoot Hostel

Property: Bigfoot Hostel
Address: Del Banco Procredit 1/2 Cuadra Sur, Leon 21000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hostel,a complete backpacking experience. Local and traveling volunteers. Staff are thoroughly trained and dedicated to making this your home away from home while visiting beautiful colonial leon! Guest kitchen is fully equipped. Billiard table,, variety of games and multiple routers for wi-fi access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing