We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel! Amazing community projects and clean rooms”
Review of Bigfoot Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bigfoot Hostel
Ranked #4 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great hostel! Amazing community projects and clean rooms”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

They offer spacious, clean, and interesting rooms. Lots of cool graffiti everywhere. Restaurant attached to the hostel is not too expensive and offers quality food. Very helpful signs with information on how to travel around Nicaragua and beyond.

Turtle hatching project on site means little turtles walking around in the common area, really cool.

kitchen was small but well equip.

Offer lots of organized tours from the hostel. very social hostel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    186
    77
    39
    50
See reviews for
11
113
163
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We spent 3 nights at Bigfoot. We really enjoyed the atmosphere. The staff was friendly and helpful. The lobby and courtyard area is chill. The pool area is home to a few turtles that wander around. The room itself was simple. My only complaint about it was that the sheets stunk like mildew. We had to use our own sheets. Also, you can't get wifi anywhere except the lobby and the cafe (not even in the courtyard). Smart setup on their part as many people buy beers and food while online. But not convenient at all. We weren't crazy about the food in the cafe. It was super bland. But the C$30 mojitos were good.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

The plastic on the mattress is annoying but probably stops pee stains and bedbugs. Some of the staff is curt and disinterested while the barkeep makes mojitos all night without a complaint in his face. It seems like a party place but they enforce the quiet time and I got a very good sleep here. The bathrooms are clean but the doors don't lock properly, so prepare for someone to walk in on you in the toilet or shower. The restaurant next door is okay, but not great -- they seem to be more interested in having recycled paper menus than having a good menu or offering some variety. What makes this place special is that the atmosphere makes it incredibly easy to meet others and to enjoy your time in Leon. The owners care about the place and it is a very good hotel overall.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellini23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

If you go to Leon and don't slide your butt down Cerro Negro, you've missed out. Bigfoot has a good operation running. It's fun, safe, and adventurous.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank afowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Where else can you go volcano boarding, learn to surf and human bowl in the same day? Bigfoot staff is some of the most friendly knowledgeable hostel staff in the whole world as far as I'm concerned. You can't stay just one night. There's so much to do while in Leon, and the Staff at Bigfoot will make sure you're having a great time day and night...!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goosefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2011

if ure looking for a good place to meet other travellers this is it! the bar is open all day till 10pm and theres always people hanging around here. the pool although small is a good place to have a few mojitos. bigfoot also has activities every week, such as killer pool which got most of the hostel guests involved - we all played pool, and drank shots together then went to a cool bar in town. good way to get people involved!
the star attraction of this place is the volcano boarding! so much fun - walk up a volcano then slide down at fast speeds on a wooden board. the guides were wicked! really knowledgeable and so so much fun. it was so good i went twice which meant i met both instructors (alix and sarah) and they were really cool. best tour ive done in central america by far.
highly recommended.

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mellow14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgetown
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Bigfoot rocks! Our day started with a light hangover from the mojitos from the bigfoot bar. Such a good price It would be rude to just drink one!! Volcano boarding in the morning. 72kmph Respectable speed. More mojitos in the bar followed by the Bigfoot team deciding to set up HUMAN BOWLING for the night. So of course we all participated! Nobody really knew what they were getting involved in but what a night! Soaping the floor, helmets on, giant jenga skittles lined up and off we went throwing ourselves down the corridor to see who could knock over the most skittles. Extra points were given for style. The Irish lads certainly topped it off with some funky underwear and wrestling masks. Bigfoot have a great team and we all had a great night. Best hostel in Nicaragua for sure!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco_ven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#8 of 15 in Leon
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bigfoot Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bigfoot Hostel

Property: Bigfoot Hostel
Address: Del Banco Procredit 1/2 Cuadra Sur, Leon 21000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hostel,a complete backpacking experience. Local and traveling volunteers. Staff are thoroughly trained and dedicated to making this your home away from home while visiting beautiful colonial leon! Guest kitchen is fully equipped. Billiard table,, variety of games and multiple routers for wi-fi access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing