We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of character, cozy place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casona Colonial Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 35 Leon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Lots of character, cozy place.”
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We stayed two nights and felt like the place is ours. We ate breakfast in the garden among the flowers and colibris. The owner was very friendly and helped us with tours and tips. The whole place has a very homy feeling and lots of style (for the budget place it is... 20 to 35 $ for dobble room)...The rooms are ok, some nicer than others and kind of next to each other so be carefull...because you can actually hear what is going on in the room next to you :)
It is not so centraly located as some other places but I would still preffer to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    41
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
57
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Great place, good value, nice atmosphere. Friendly staff and super location

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed here a couple of nights and really liked it - incredibly quiet - nice garden - a bit hot in the rooms but there were plenty of fans - really sweet owner - and she made us a fabulous breakfast with the best fried cheese I tried in our 5 weeks in Nica!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kris10dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Casona Colonial is a lovely place. Differently from any other hostal/hotel in its range of price, it has charme and warmth. The patio is full of antiques and the two small gardens are peaceful and nice, and full of little colibris flying!
Every room has a touch, the furniture are antique and truly colonial, and we finally felt the place has a personality in every detail.
The lady and people wprking there are nice, polite, helpful but discrete at the same time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cricri1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2009

We stayed here for a couple of nights and were impressed by the quality of the place for the price. The owner is a really neat lady and she interestingly enough has some very old turtles in her garden. The common area is full of antiques.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katica500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Casona Colonial Guesthouse is a great value in Leon. It is in a quiet, central location and very safe. It is an old colonial house turned guesthouse and the owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The newer rooms in the back by the beautiful garden are the best value and much better than the older rooms in the main part of the house. We paid $30 for a newer, quiet, cute, clean room with comfortable bed. There is no hot water but it looks like they have wired the room for electric hot water for the future. There are relaxing areas to sit in the garden and in the main part of the house there is a place to relax and watch TV or read. The place was full the entire time we were there when other hotels we checked were completely empty.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.0 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.0 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 15 in Leon
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#9 of 15 in Leon
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paz de Luna Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casona Colonial Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona Colonial Guesthouse

Property: Casona Colonial Guesthouse
Address: 1/2 Block West Of Parque San Juan, Leon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first thing you may notice about the guesthouse is that it is a historic colonial house located in Leon, Nicaragua. The guesthouse gives off a homey and inviting atmosphere that distinguishes it from other impersonal hotels and hostels you may be familiar with. The magic of this place is its well preserved Spanish cultural heritage which is ever present in its architecture and decor. The Casona Colonial Guesthouse is the perfect guesthouse for those who want to be at home even when they are far from home. This place is for those looking for the rich warmth of a home they know well, where they feel welcome and wanted. It is for those who want to immerse themselves into the history of Leon in a small way by spending a few nights under our roof and our care. Even the furniture housed here is antique, characterizing the old style that people who have lived in Leon for many years remember. The guesthouse is also for those who have a desire for and a little adventure. When you enter this colonial mansion, you will not be greeted by an impersonal and bland registration desk but rather you are very likely to receive the warm smile of the owner and her welcome. In place of the registration desk, your first impression will be of the two beautiful gardens located in the center of the guesthouse. The Casona Colonial Guesthouse is located a half block from the San Juan park and a short walk from excellent restaurants and the center of town, which is where the historic Cathedral of Leon sits. Wikipedia notes that the Cathedral is a significantly important and historic landmark in Nicaragua. The Cathedral was awarded World Heritage Site status with the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). So join us! Leon, Nicaragua waits for you and we have a room reserved just for you at the Casona Colonial Guesthouse! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casona Colonial Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casona Colonial Guesthouse Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing