We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ash boarding adventure!”

Cerro Negro Volcano
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.00*
and up
Cerro Negro and Volcano Sand Boarding from León
More Info
$145.88*
and up
Cerro Negro Volcano Sandboarding Tour from Managua
More Info
$77.44*
and up
Corinto Shore Excursion: Cerro Negro Volcano Boarding Tour
Ranked #1 of 44 things to do in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Columbus, OH
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“ash boarding adventure!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We loved our trip to Cerro Negro. Our guide, Guillermo, took my husband and I for the hike up and the slide down. His specialty is adventure travel and he is really well-versed in volcanoes. He explained to us the geology and ecosystem of the volcano range. He was also a great photographer and took some fun pictures of us sliding down the ash. The actual sledding was steeper and faster than I anticipated, but it was a lot of fun.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HCB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    661
    190
    46
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
utrecht
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great adventure”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We climbed this vulcano with our two daughters last summer.
We travelled there from Masaya by hiring a minivan and driver.
From Masaya it is a long drive but I understand there are tours leavinf from Leon as well.
It is not easy to get there but when you fianlly do the sight is amazing. The climb is not to hard and the views on the crater and the surroundings are beautifull. Going down again is quite an adventure. You can go down boarding or walking. either way you'll get down looking black.
It is a nice adventure to do with older children.
Do go as early as possible because you cannot chelter anywhere from the sun and the heath

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank biancoydiaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bucket List Check Mark~!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Thanks to Tierra Tours for providing a safe and supportive way to ash board Cerro Negro. I can now knock this off my bucket list!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Pure Adrenaline”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

One of my best days In Leon was our visit to Cerro Negro to go ash boarding.We used Vapues tour and opted to do a private guide.The hike up to the peak is not difficult just strenuous because it is steep, it take around 45 minutes to an hour to get up there.Once you get up there you will gear up in your jumpsuit to protect you from the gravel. It is a 40 degree drop from the top and seems scary but once you sit on your sled it is pure fun. Only takes like 4 minutes to get down so enjoy!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travelthroughmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Boarding is a blast!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great fun - a short hike up and a quick ride down, but what a blast! I'd love to do it again. We did the tour with Quetzaltrekkers as part of a two days hiking/camping experience. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marlayna67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerro Negro Volcano also viewed

Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 

Been to Cerro Negro Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing