We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Lazybones Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazybones Hostal
Ranked #6 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Leon
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We spent three nights at this hostel in a private room with bath. The room was clean and comfortable. Also, this place has a pool. Still a rarity in Leon. You pay a lot more at hotels that have swimming pools. Also, they have a nice pancake breakfast and their staff are very friendly. The location is good as well since it is only a short walk to all of the central places. I would definitely recommend this place, even if you are not keen on staying at hostels. Beats a lot of hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    125
    38
    14
    12
See reviews for
21
125
54
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2013

There is a swimming pool!
Lazybones did not have as good reviews on Hostelbookers as other places but as the place we intended to stay at was full we ended up there. And it was great. The dorm was spacious and had a high ceiling which is always nice with the heat and many people sleeping in the same space. The courtyard is full of rocking chairs and has some hammocks as well. They sell beer for a reasonable price, have free coffee and tea all day and some computers you can use. When you come in from a hot day they have good showers and a pool in the back. Not very necessary or expected but when you backpack the little things extra can make your day. Also the staff was very nice and helpful and always ready to recommend restaurants and so forth.
This is NOT a party hostel, its fairly quiet and is not for you are partying your way through Central America :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hallgerdur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
179 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We arrived at dark in Leon and after Latino Hostel was fully booked we decided to take a shot at Lazybones - and were really happy with that decision.

The courtyard is beautiful, the swimming pool a real bonus, the dorms really spacious and enough bathrooms for everyone. The location is right in the center and we can only say the best things about this place.

I have no idea how people can give a bad review about this place and we were really confused by some (many) not so good reviews. We enjoyed our stay a lot and I can only highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TobyLeupold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We only stayed one night after a Quetzaltrekker hike and I wish we could have stayed longer. Clean, mellow, great pool, nice showers and I loved the convenience of the staff placing a reservation for a shuttle the next day. Great hostel atmosphere with enough space to either socialize or hang on your own and relax.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlayna67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at Lazy Bones 1 night while waiting for space at another hostel - Wish we'd stayed at Lazy Bones instead. The pool is gorgeous and awesomely cold, there's a cool vibe and the staff is awesome - Really good at recommended places to eat and tours to do, super friendly and a good mix of english speakers. We did the cooking class at Lazy bones instead of one of the tours. It was about half the price and was awesome. Janina only spoke Spanish, and we only spoke a little, but we had a great day, learnt lots and had a great time. Highly recommending! Also, it was one of the cleanest hostels we've been to.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a fan - Leon is hot and humid
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montpellier
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

After having checking many places a finally stopped in this hostel. Everything was great....good vibes, clean, nice staff and very affordable prices. I wish to find a place like this in every town i will visit in Nicaragua, so thumb up for the Lazy Bones !

Room Tip: I started in the dorm it it was perfect for me and then i decided to stay 3 more nights in a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hola108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and it was one of the best hostels we have stayed in on our trip through Central America.

The facilities are fantastic; the pool area in particular. The dorm rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Relaxed vibe but we had a lot of fun there.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.1 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.1 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#8 of 15 in Leon
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poco a Poco Hostel
Poco a Poco Hostel
#1 of 58 in Leon
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal Casa Abierta
Hostal Casa Abierta
#14 of 58 in Leon
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Casa Ivana
Hostal Casa Ivana
#5 of 58 in Leon
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazybones Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazybones Hostal

Property: Lazybones Hostal
Address: Parque de Los Poetas | 2,5 Cuadras Al Norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lazybones Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Bones Hostal Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing