We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location and a pool”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lazybones Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazybones Hostal
Ranked #3 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice location and a pool”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stayed for two nights in this hostel. I found $8 dollars without breakfast is quite expensive, especially if you share a room with many others without good fan / airco. The breakfast (not too expensive) they offer is nice and worth the try. The atmosphere is good and staff keep the hostel very clean. Still I would not return; I did not like the attitude of the staff members.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missw29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    122
    38
    13
    12
See reviews for
21
122
53
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
246 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed only one night in Lazybones, and I would not recommend it. First of all it's quite expensive for Nicaragua ($8 for a dorm bed). You can't use the kitchen, the dorms are hot (no fans!!) and very noisy because of the street noise. No power outlets in the dorm or in the common areas. Sure, there is a pool, but that does not help a lot... On top of that, it's a bit away from the main attractions. There are better and cheaper places to stay in León.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makapon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

The Hostel itself is ok, the private room was nice and clean, the pool is small but ok.
But the staff is not very helpful, if you ask for a wakeup call, you´ll get the answer "the sun will wake you up". Thats very helpful when you have to catch a bus early in the morning.
Thank you!
If their Internet is not working, they can´t be ask to fix it, they wait...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazybonesstaff, Propietario at Lazybones Hostal, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
It is well known staff Lazybones mistreats customers.
Mistakes everyone makes, and we are the first sorry.
About the INTERNET, we depend on the company CLARO and sometime it is does not work for 1 hour, but tell us how you do in Germany when the Internet does not work?
You wait?
But on holiday you do not like to wait.

El staff de Lazy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

I've experienced a range of hostels in Nicaragua from the good to the bad and ugly, but Lazy Bones is undoubtedly the best. Clean, relaxed, friendly helpful staff and a pool all at bargain prices. The location is good - off the main square far enough to be tranquil, but close enough to feel connected, and within easy walks of restaurants, museums and churches (but then again there's pretty much a church on every block in Leon so...).

My only complaint - and this should indicate how otherwise great my stay was - is the cremora. Love the coffee, just wish there was milk.

Room Tip: A triple on the second floor - great choice and great value. Myself, my son and our friend all had p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulTreadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
106 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

The hostel is located few blocks from the main square. There are few nice restaurants and bars in the immediate neighborhood.
The pool and the seating area around it is the best feature of this hostel. It was clean and fairly large for a hostel. Although the hostel itself is relatively large, we found it fairly quiet.
Our room was basic, decent size and located on the top floor. The double door opened onto a nice balcony overlooking the pool. There was also a high window. Even though it had a high ceiling and a fan, it got very hot at night and made it difficult to sleep. The walls are very thin but there are only three rooms on the top floor and our neighbors were quiet. There is a narrow spiral staircase that leads to the top floor. This was a bit inconvenient as our room had no bathroom and it was quite far and awkward to walk down at night to the bathroom located on the main floor and all the way at the opposite side of the pool area.
However, overall I did like my stay at this hostel. It was well organized, fairly clean and provided few nice places to relax. But staying in rooms on the main floor will be a better choice. The staff was nice and helpful. Our room and the hostel itself were clean. There was a good Wi-Fi.
I believe that most travelers will not regret staying in this Hostel. We arrived to Leon without reservation and late and went to three other hostels, that were full, before coming to Lazy Bones. From what I have seen this is one of the best hostels on Leon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main floor are cooler and more practical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank povetron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

This was my second time staying at this hostel. Previously I had been there in December of 2009. At that time, it was owned but a Canadian (I believe) guy and was very chill and relaxed spot. Unfortunately, it's been bought since then by a family (elderly parents, a son and possibly an elderly aunt) who are European. The chill vibe has definitely declined as the family hangs out in a group, monitoring the guests and supervising their behaviour. It's a little like having your parents at your birthday party. You never quite relax because you always wonder if they are judging you.

On the good side, the hostel is in a good location, easy walk to the central parque and restaurants and bars (there's a great breakfast place around the corner from it that I highly recommend), it has a small but clean pool and free morning coffee. The rooms are reasonably clean, although the bathrooms (the shared ones for the dorms and private room without attached bathrooms) definitely need a good cleaning and new shower curtains.

The rates for the rooms are reasonable, $30 US for private with bath, $20 US for private no bath and about $10 US for the dorms. Overall, the hostel is quiet and tidy.

Unfortunately, because of the new owners, I likely will not return to this hostel, they made me feel that uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nica_tinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazybonesstaff, Propriétaire at Lazybones Hostal, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
I am very sorry that my parents and my aunt have bothered you during your stay in our hotel. They came to our wedding (December 13 and December 17 ).... they were just passing through .... don´t worry, you can come back, they will not bother you again unless I get married again .
Seriously with all the respect I owe you and knowing my parents and my aunt, I do not think they've hugely disturbed for a week ... it was a family atmosphere ... nothing less .... but you have the right not to have liked that.

Patrick and Monica
Owner of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We made a booking by email clearly stating we were two couples travelling together. As there were no doubles we booked 4 beds in a dorm, or so we thought. When we arrived we were told we had 3 people in one dorm and one person in one dorm. Terribly bad organising when we had from the start said we were two couples. Anyway, somehow they managed to get two doubles which suited us better and we were happy. The hostel is nice, with a very nice pool. Never any queues to the bathrooms. There is no kitchen. The location is very good close to the centre. There were some very good staff and some not so good giving bad information and selling some very dodgy bus tickets. Our friends were travelling on to Guatemala and were offered either a chicken bus or a Pullman if they waited one day. As the journey from León to Guatemala City on a chicken bus didn´t sound very appealing, they waited one day and got the Pullman. It was supposed to have a bathroom at least. The departure was very delayed but finally they set off. It seemed like there was a Pullman bus and a cicken bus operating together for the same "company" (read mafia)! As some passengers wanted to go to El Salvador and this country do not help out with illegal goods smuggling the Pullman bus suddenly stopped and all these boxes were loaded from the chicken bus to the Pullman bus, even blocking up the whole bathroom so our friends had to say goodbye to that luxury. As they complain they were literally threathened very aggresively asking if they had any proof of what they had paid for their journey, of course they didn´t because the girl in the reception had very conveniently just run out of receipts to give them. They were so scared for the rest of the journey that they barely slept during the 20 hours it took to get to Guatemala City. I find it very strange that the hostel should recommend this kind of bus "company" and also find it very strange that they would not be aware of the illegal handling of goods on these buses. Whatever you do, do not book your bus ticket this way.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emelie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazybonesstaff, Propietario at Lazybones Hostal, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Hi Emelie
We are very sorry for what happened on the trip and by bad sufristes inconvenience you and your friends, all the staff apologizes Lazybones.

We did not know the bus to the traffic of goods, so that pleases you giving us this information, we have called the owner of the bus and we have canceled our clients sending them, because they do not want other people to suffer as same as you. Tell your friends please that we are sorry and return quesi Here we will give a free night, hopefully accept our apologies.
We wish you a happy journey and without any inconvenience and have a great year.
bye

Patrick and Monica
owner of the hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.1 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.4 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Latina Hostal
Latina Hostal
#7 of 62 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Casa Ivana
Hostal Casa Ivana
#4 of 62 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Casa Abierta
Hostal Casa Abierta
#13 of 62 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel El Albergue
Hostel El Albergue
#9 of 62 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazybones Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazybones Hostal

Property: Lazybones Hostal
Address: Parque de Los Poetas | 2,5 Cuadras Al Norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lazybones Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Bones Hostal Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing