We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hostel, not a party hostel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
Ranked #2 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Decent hostel, not a party hostel.”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent three nights in this hostel in august and while there are many positives there were a few negatives too. On the plus side its a quiet hostel which is what we wanted, the room was very big and there was a good shower. There was free coffee and you could make pancakes there in the morning as there was mixture and bananas left out. The common area was really nice and relaxing with lots of seats and hammocks. There was also a pool table.
On the downside there was no air con and the fan was pretty poor. Our room was literally like walking into an oven! The bed was also way too soft for my liking so sleep was difficult. The electricity went out for periods at a time however i'm sure this is a town wide problem and not the fault of the hostel. Lastly, and perhaps this was just the time I was there, I found the place quite unsociable! Everyone seemed to lounge around on phones and netbooks and there was not much craic in the place! Again, this is not a fault of the hostel but it was quite noticable and the only place I stayed in Central America where I got this vibe!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    78
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
98
62
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed one night at the hostal. Our experience was overall good; we had a good time because the place was loaded of backpackers.

Pros : Kitchen available to cook, a lot of space to chill out, hammocks, free wifi, pool table, staff was nice.

Cons : They don't serve food, the only drinks they had was beer or water, our room (double bed room with bathroom, no AC) was so humid it was really hard to sleep and our shower had a lot of hair in it...

We had a good time, but I think we should have checked out the other hostels in Leon before. Im sure a cheaper option was available somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife, I and a couple stayed here for 4 nights.
KITCHEN
Good, clean, organised, big and comfortable to cook. Free coffee all the day and you can make your own pancakes in the mournings. They also give you some bananas.

ROOMS
Good rooms, clean, big. We stayed in a private room and in a Private room with shared bath. both are nice.

COMUN AREA
Pool table really nice, some hammocks, sofa, wi-fi, bar 24 hours... No party on the hostal, but you can drink your bear or soda any time!
Atmosphere really nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di_Ferro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I checked into this hostel after taking a split decision to jump off a Managua bound Ticabus. The dorms were fully booked but they managed to find two other guys to put me into a private room with which was helpful. I subsequently booked out due to an overnight hike but then checked back into the dorms. All the rooms are pretty comfy with fans that really help keep the sticky Leon humidity from ruining any chance of sleep.

The main thing I liked about this hostel is that its set up to allow people to socialize as and when they want. The big dining table is ideal to spark up a conversation over breakfast as is the fact that they give you the mix in order to make your own pancakes in the morning (ergo, a little kitchen banter to start the day). A pool table is always a good idea to get people talking and I also like the honesty system they operate, some hostels can baby you a little. The staff were also friendly which is a must for me. The only marginal downside is that its a little out of the way.

A couple of quick pointers around town for what they are worth...there a large supermarket called La Union (owned by Wall Mart I believe) not far from the central plaza so you can pick up all the food you need there if you want to cook and save at the hostel. If you keep walking down the road the supermarket is on, there is a French bakery called Pan y Paz (its on TripAdvisor), which is well worth a visit if you want some tasty European pastries. As for hiking, pop across to Quetzaltrekkers, they are a non-profit volunteer organization (the original is in Xela, Guatemala) and are a good bunch...Telica was really active when I went and to look down into a active crater at night and see actual lava is a sight to behold...tick it off your bucket list! Enjoy Leon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randallml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my bird and another 2 couples for 3/4 nights. Mate It was class. It's a nice mix of social and chilled out at the same time. The staff, Carlos the cheeky chap and Santos the big cuddly bear were heroic. They knew everything we wanted to know and always replied with a smile on their faces.

A lovely mix of travelers pass through here, no morons, just nice pleasant social people.

Pancake breakfast with honey and banana, class! Coffee, magic. All you can eat and drink all day.

Great pool table, free wifi which is rapid and an intriguing little computer for free use. Nice soft white towels are provided.

Highly recommended to anyone passing through Leon.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeyknows1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is a few streets away from the main backpacker street which makes it quieter but the staff are super friendy and helpful, right by the bus station to the beach, get room #8 which is private for 30$ a night with private bath and fans but you get your own balcony chairs and hammock! Also the free pancakes in the morning is nice

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samj16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Excellent place to stay in Leon.

We had the room upstairs, private for up to 4 people and private bathroom and A/C (remember that Leon is the hottest place in Nicaragua)

The room is clean and large. Bathrooms works well, and is clean.

The hostal is amazing. Calm, yet you can have a drink with friends (pool table, games)

Staff is nice and helpfull.

Common Kitchen is large, and clean. Free Pancake breakfast is good, and fresh organic coffee is tasty.

Nothing bad to say. It was perfect.

Room Tip: Room 8 upstairs with private hammock and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.6 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Casa Ivana
Hostal Casa Ivana
#5 of 60 in Leon
175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Latina Hostal
Latina Hostal
#3 of 60 in Leon
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Tortuga Booluda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Tortuga Booluda

Property: Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
Address: From the SW Corner Of the Central Park 3.5 Blocks West, Leon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the city of Leon Nicaragua, Hostal La Tortuga Booluda (The Lazy Turtle) offers a relaxing multi-cultural atmosphere, comfortable dorm beds and private rooms, free pancake breakfast, free organic coffee, open kitchen, free internet, free pool table, a complete book exchange, house guitars, self-service bar, one-on-one Spanish classes, and more. La Tortuga Booluda is a home away from home for the traveler who is looking for a mellow and comfortable base to soak in the culture and history of this great colonial town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal La Tortuga Booluda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing